We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Cumbria's hidden gems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nether Wasdale
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of Cumbria's hidden gems”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Tucked away on the west side of Cumbria the Strands Hotel offers a great place to stay near the the beautiful Wast Water and explore the Great Gable and Scarfell Pike mountains. The rooms were well appointed, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The food was excellent and the 'Errrrm' microbrewery beer lived up to all expectations. The service was really friendly and helpful at all times. Came on business this time but will ceratinly return for pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    44
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
75
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We were on our way to stay here and had just come over the Hardknott Pass in horrific weather conditions, only to find a flood right across the road,deeper than our car could manage, with an abandoned car on the far side of it. We thought we would have to get out and walk (about 10 miles at 9pm) but when we called the hotel to explain we would be late, the owner immediately set off to collect us in his Landrover and whisk us back to the hotel, where a good meal was provided even though they had really stopped serving. Nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were excellent and on our 2nd night we experienced the full glory of the restaurant, feasting on monkfish and samphire followed by beautifully cooked sea bass. We are hoping to return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacq l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfsberg, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Located in a truly spectacular valley. Rooms are typical quaint pub rooms. The owners and staff are lovely and friendly. The fact this is a microbrewery with an excellent range of ales on draught should be enough to get you booking, but this is coupled with a great restaurant with a fabulous menu. As a base for hiking, you cant find better, as it is located in the heart of the high lakeland mountains. Its also a good base to explore the beautiful lakeland seaside towns. I now class myself as a regular here, because it has me going back at least once a year. I love this place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajt_austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We walked over the fell from Eskdale Green where we are staying at a self-catering cottage. We had lunch and brews, and the best Lake District food we've had during our holiday. And the views are stunning as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wayfinder953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Stayed during the Beer Festival. Fantastic setting with walks straight from the door into the best English countryside there is. Great place to stay - amazing to see so many home brewed beers.

Food was also very nice and room very comfortable. Staff were excellent and definitely would return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citybluemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We have stayed at The Strands on many occasions and will continue to do so. Mark and Lesley run a fantastic place. The location is superb, with Wast Water itself just down the road, and numerous walks on the doorstep. As real ale lovers the beer is first class brewed by Mark himself. We went for the beer festival with just 25 beers to choose from! Obviously due to the festival it was busier and noisier than our previous stays but we didn't mind. We have stayed in about 3 of the rooms, this time room no.2 which was the biggest yet. The menu has enough choice to keep you satisfied after a long days walk. Breakfast is also very good, with a choice of, cereals, fruit, or a "small" or "large" cooked breakfast. Lesley even kindly prepared us a last minute packed lunch as we had forgotten to order one the night before, (we blame having too much beer). There are a few little things that probably need some attention, but we have seen this place improve over the years and I'm sure it will continue to do so. Also I must mention the rest of the staff who were brilliant during the very busy weekend. We WILL be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShropshireSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We called in twice while on holiday staying in a self-catering cottage over the fell in Birkerthwaite, on the other side of Boot.
We first called in at Strands back in 2007, when Mark was just setting up his own micro-brewery, and had been impressed by the tour round we had, the beers and the friendly welcome.
We called in at the end of April, halfway through a 14 mile walk, for Sunday lunch, having walked over the fell from Boot via Miterdale forest.
There were 6 home-brewed beers on tap - from the gorgeous, honey sweet 'Errrm' beer to darker very tasty ones.

The roast beef lunch was probably the best I've had - great quality lean beef with crisp Yorkshire pudding, roast & mashed potatoes, a good selection of vegetables and lots of home made gravy.
The pub is cosy with friendly staff and a nice informal atmosphere. Walkers are welcome, 'boots and all'.
We returned a few days later (we thought it well worth the 14 mile walk) and this time had a meal from the standard menu. Portions were generous and the food was good. We had the home made burger and the gammon and egg - the chips were also good.
Other customers we spoke to were enjoying their meals.
There are also quite a few vegetarian options.

If you are 60 plus, they do a special weekday lunch - £5 for one course, £7 for two and £9 for three courses from a set menu (I think there were 3 choices of starters and mains).

We have not stayed in one of the dozen or so hotel rooms here, but think this is something we're likely to do in the near future, as Strands is set in a lovely location, right near the end of the lake.
There are regular Beer Festivals - with the next one being a long weekend in mid May.
Strands beers are also featuring in the Boot Beer Festival in June - worth a visit as there are usually 100+ beers from local breweries - sold in the 3 main pubs of Boot.

We'd recommend Strands Hotel, Nether Wasdale for beer and food!

Room Tip: We did not stay overnight - but there are pictures of each room on Strands Hotel website
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skunkcabbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Wasdale
3.7 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
149 reviews
3.6 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
18.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ambleside
416 reviews
10.7 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
815 reviews
21.8 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery

Property: The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
Address: Nether Wasdale CA20 1ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Nether Wasdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nether Wasdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strands Inn & Micro Brewery Mark and Lesley Corr welcome everybody to our Friendly Public Houses with Accommodation which we have been running the Strands Inn successfully since June 2006 with comfortable rooms serving full English breakfast. We are in the process of purchasing the Screes Inn since April 2017 hopefully contracts completed by May (watch this space) The Srcees Inn (From May 2017) Accommodation consists of 6 doubles 1 twin 2 family rooms The Strands Accommodation consists of 2 singles 8 doubles 4 twins and can be accommodating to turn a couple of their rooms into family rooms. We have public bars where we serve our own cask ales which we brew in our Micro Brewery, and we have large selection of Whiskeys and the amount of Gins are growing with the popularity which has been growing over the last couple of years We celebrate every year our Cask Ales with our Beer Festival which is just our Cask Ales on the following Weekend after the first May Bank Holiday. Which we started in 2007. We Serve food in several areas of the Strands Inn from 12 noon everyday until 9pm and on Sundays until 8pm Because our Free Fun Quiz Starts at 8:30pm on the Sunday. Dogs are welcome in our bars areas but, Sorry, we do not have any dogs stay in our bedrooms. The Screes Inn which is opposite our Strands Inn. the Bar will be open and we will be serving a different choice of food. Hope to see you soon Thank you Lesley and Mark Corr ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strands Hotel Nether Wasdale
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery Nether Wasdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing