We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my coat was stolen from the drying room but the staff didnt care”
Review of YHA Wasdale Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
YHA Wasdale Hall
Reviewed August 20, 2009

The actual building and location of this place is amazing
What i cant get my head around is that the only people staying here would be walkers and so why after getting soaked climbing Ben Nevis and leaving sodden wet clothes to dry in the drying room would my north face coat have dissapeared the next morning ???
Surely whoever came to stay in this place would be adequately kitted out so why the need to take another walkers coat
Be warned if you stay here better to have a wet coat than no coat at all !!
The staff would not in the slightest bit interested in dealing with my loss either so cant say this place was value for money when you factor in the loss

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smith9875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 153 of 153 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2008

Part of me would like to keep this place a secret, but it is too good not to share.
First the setting...........Wow, the most beautiful setting in the UK. When you come round the corner and see the lake and the scree slope plunging into the lake with the mountains as a backdrop the jaw will hit the floor, breathtaking.

The Hall is gorgeous old manor hall with a huge studded oak door. It sitson the bank of Wastwater lake facing the scree slope.
The rooms are clean and tidy, the library/lounge is a great place to relax after a long walk and share stories or read stories. It has an open fire and a piano. You can use the kitchen to make your own food or you can eat in the restaurant, they make breakfast lunch snacks and evening dinner. The food is that of a top quality restaurant not what you might expect of a YHA.
The staff are really friendly.

For the price of a youth hostel it has no comparison, you could pay 100 times as much but would not get anyway near the ambiance or scenery as this place.
It is more of a drive to get there than the other lakes but you will not regret it, it blows all the other lakes away.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Phil6613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manuelagrillai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Geoffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Wasdale
1.3 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
11.3 mi away
Elterwater Hostel
Elterwater Hostel
#1 of 1 in Elterwater
184 reviews
9.1 mi away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
3.7 mi away
YHA Eskdale
YHA Eskdale
#2 of 2 in Boot
67 reviews
14.4 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 24 in Ambleside
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Wasdale Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wasdale Hall

Address: Wasdale Hall Wasdale Hall, Nether Wasdale CA20 1ET, England (Formerly YHA Wastwater)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Nether Wasdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Nether Wasdale
Price Range: $90 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Wasdale Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Wasdale Hall (formerly known as YHA Wastwater) is a stunning half-timbered National Trust-owned house dating from 1829 and still retains many original features. Enjoy beautiful scenery from the grounds, which extend to the shores of Lake Wastwater, England's deepest lake. Within easy reach of England's highest mountain, walkers will be busy here. After a hectic day enjoy a delicious meal in our wood paneled restaurant with stunning views of the lake. All meals are home-cooked using fresh produce in the Wasdale Hall kitchens and served to your table. A range of local Cumbrian ales, fine wines, spirits and soft drinks are also available to accompany your meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your YHA Wasdale Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Wasdale Hall Nether Wasdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing