We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
YHA Wasdale Hall
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gate House(Eskdale)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pennington(Ravenglass)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stanley Arms Hotel(Calder Bridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burnthwaite Farm(Wasdale Head)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Bridge Hotel(Buttermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveler rating
124
26
5
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
124
26
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomdrying roomstunning locationscafell pikeevening mealtable tennis tableboard gamescommon roomwet clothessleeping quarterstake ear plugsbed dormwaters edgeyear oldsreal firetea bagsa great place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 156 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hostel is in a fantastic location on the shores of Wastwater lake and the building itself is also superb.
As expected with a Youth Hostel the accommodation was basic but clean, the cooked breakfast was really good and the staff were very friendly and helpful - letting us back into the hostel to use the showers after our climb on a hot day (albeit for a small charge) was very welcome.
The ale brewed in a local micro-brewery was good and the warden was amazingly knowledgeable about the local area and very happy to share his experience.
The start of the climb up Scafell Pike was a short drive away along the side of the lake.
Really can't think of anything negative about this hostel at all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank telldell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I have just returned from a long weekend trip to climb Scafell Pike along with 3 other friends (we did the ‘corridor route’ and it was harder than I was expecting, but worth it!). We shared a room at YHA Wastwater and I cannot praise it highly enough. After an 8 hour drive I was bowled over to arrive at such an impressive place, in such outstanding grounds, right on Wastwater Lake; the feeling of remoteness made it feel like you are in the middle of nowhere – perfect peace after such a drive and not at all touristy.

STAFF
The staff were really amazing – friendly, happy and could not do enough to help, whatever was thrown at them. I would like to publicly thank them as they helped make the stay really enjoyable and made us feel at home. The 2 collie dogs were a joy as well and we have some lovely pics of the younger one in the lake.

FOOD AND DRINK
Completely disagree with the earlier review I read rubbishing the food here – ok, it’s not fine dining, but we each had a cooked breakfast, a starter and main course both days/nights and a packed lunch for the day of the climb; including a couple of rounds of beers as well, the bill was £36 each – each course was really good and I would single out the goats cheese and chutney starter and the beef stew in Yorkshire pudding. The kitchen is a decent size if you want to cook your own instead, but at these prices we chose not to.

BUILDING AND GROUNDS
This really is an impressive building, half-timbered and dating early 19th century. The rooms downstairs are spacious and there is a lovely paneled lounge to relax in. The lounge and the dining room both have stunning lakeside views – in fact, the view from the hostel is a sloping grass area with picnic benches and the lake right ahead, with mountains behind it. It could not have been more breath-taking and it continually changed, according to the light and time of day.
With plenty of free parking as well I am just so happy we chose this place. Being completely honest, I would say that the bunks and rooms could do with updating, but the 4 of us (who are not youths) slept perfectly well and there was enough room to change etc – showers were good too. The room we were in had a lakeside view, which was pretty special to clean your teeth to in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappySUPPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here on a short hostel trip recently. A lovely, old, one-off building on the edge of Wastwater lake..The bedroom was a shared dormitory.The evening meal was poor. Soup was a cold, congealed mess. Mains was an attempt at a hotpot with rubbery over-cooked potato slices on top.The only decent course was an apple pie with custard. Breakfast was good.The lounge was an old attractive room but the use of very dim lighting ensured that you could not read at all. Dismal.indeed. A shame really, as the young, friendly staff were eager to oblige and help.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valuematters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wastwatermanager, Manager at YHA Wasdale Hall, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Hi,

Thanks for your candid review of your experiences whilst staying with us. As you can see from countless previous reviews, this is a very rare occurrence and we do like to pride ourselves on a very comfortable and enjoyable stay whilst at this hostel. We have been experiencing some staffing issues of late but these are to be resolved in the very near future. As for the lighting in the lounge area, we have recently upgraded to very low energy lamps and uplighters to help reduce our carbon footprint but obviously haven't got the balance just right yet.
I invite you to get in touch with myself direct at the hostel if you wish to discuss these matters further so we can get the opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Wonderful location beside the lake and hostel has loads of character. Bunks and rooms maybe in need of an upgrade, but staff are exceptional. Really welcoming, very flexible and helpful and couldnt do more. Food was great too, but the location must be one of the best in the whole of the British Isles.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mountain_Hikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just got back from the lakes and the first thing we had to do was write a quick review of this youth hostel.
After an absolutely horrible ascent and decent of Scarfell pike from Langdale the staff went above and beyond what we could ever have hoped for. As such we will be ever thankful.
Its a beautiful place steeped in some lovely history ( if you read the info booklet), but as with all things its the people behind the scenes who work relentless to ensure that your stay is a good one that make or break your time at a place.

The rooms are typical YHA stuff basic , but more than adequate same goes for the food. However it gave us exactly what we required. What more could you ask for than that?

We would definitely use the facility again and we would recommend it whole heartedly.

So a big , huge thank you to Gill ( or Jill) for what you did for us
From your 3 male stripper ICU nurses from Manchester
:-)

P.S see if your gorgeous Border Collie still answers to "Ian" lol

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fungusmctavish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews