We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YHA's Hidden Gem”
Review of YHA Wasdale Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
YHA Wasdale Hall
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“YHA's Hidden Gem”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Stayed last weekend and found to whole experience to be absolutely fantastic! Having arrived in the dark, nothing prepared you to open your curtains to such a stunning view. What a location! Had sole occupancy with a group of friends, all with children, for a reunion. The staff were all amazing and made you feel that it was a real home from home, and went the extra mile. The standard of the accommodation was very high as was the cleanliness. The food was all amazing, great cooked breakfast and a lovely evening meal on the Saturday. Even with drinks included it was really good value for money. The kids were a little young to take advantage of the walks, but we were able to walk around the lake and at Wasdale head, which was all very accessible for buggies. We will definitely be back (if you'll have us!). Thanks for a faultless and memorable weekend.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    24
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
14
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Firstly the service was outstanding - I've never stayed at a YHA before but I was there with a bunch of people doing the Mountain Leader course and they assured me that this YH was the best that they had also stayed in. The food (from breakfast to dinner) was great and fantastic value for money. Loads of hot water (especially needed after two days out in the hills in minging weather), clean, warm, friendly, good beer and I was really well looked after. Would certainly visit there again. Bob and the team are fantastic and really know how to make you feel welcome and your stay comfortable. Oh yes, as well as that you get to stay in a stunning building by the lake among stunning views.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JONATHAN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beautiful rural Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

First visited Wasdale Hall 18 years ago and always happy to return. The location is fabulous, on the shore of the lake with both low and high level walks virtually from the door - and three nearby pubs within walking distance if you don't mind working up a thirst. Manager Bob is relaxed, friendly and professional, chef Rob (moving on this year) brought us great healthy food and a team of lovely staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grizwold19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skye
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I visited the Wastwater YHA as part of a group occupying the whole building and agree with the other reviewers about the characterfull building, great staff and lakeside location - superb. The cooking for the group was done by the hostel team and was all veggie [group's request]. There were some other more tricky special diets, mine was vegan and I would rate the food 11 out of 10! Most chefs don't really get veggie food let alone more specialist so happy new year to all the staff for being so good to us.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We had a family room for the second October half term in succession. Basic, but comfortable with a view over Wastwater towards the screes. Staff ate brilliant, really friendly and helpful and the food is good.
The hostel has a library room well used and busy with a hearth fire and a table tennis room in the cellar, along with a drying room.
Great place, fantastic location, really excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plavi98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The location is second to none. With the lake stretching out in front of the beautiful old building you couldn't ask for more. Peaceful and relaxing. The staff were excellent, the food great and we had the best sleep we have ever had on a holiday since we have had kids despite sleeping in bunk beds! You won't regret booking a break here and if you want to climb Scafell Pike you will apprecaite the cooked meals and well earned drink when you get back! We took our six and eight year old up and they did really well. Loads of helpful local advice from staff. Couldn't fault it - might be a youth hostel and rooms might not be as plush but all round you would do hard to beat it however many stars a hotel has. Give it a try. Good kitchen facilities for self catering if you want to do it your self.

Room Tip: We had a six bedded family room for four which gave us plenty of room. Didn't see other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Just back from a long weekend, which was thoroughly fantastic, idyllic location, very clean well equipped hostel, friendly staff, great food and atmosphere, spent our evenings in the large lounge playing games and taking in the breathtaking views. Great location to hide from the world!! We booked so we could climb Scafell and have now found a gem, will certainly be back, this has definitely become our favourite hostel :-)

Room Tip: If you require a good sleep book room 1, no lake view but very quiet as at the end of the corridor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avril1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Wasdale
1.3 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
8.0 mi away
YHA Buttermere
YHA Buttermere
#1 of 1 in Buttermere
109 reviews
9.2 mi away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
YHA Eskdale
YHA Eskdale
#2 of 2 in Boot
54 reviews
14.1 mi away
YHA Keswick
YHA Keswick
#3 of 33 in Keswick
168 reviews
10.6 mi away
YHA Coniston Holly How
YHA Coniston Holly How
#4 of 10 in Coniston
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Wasdale Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wasdale Hall

Property: YHA Wasdale Hall
Address: Wasdale Hall Wasdale Hall, Nether Wasdale CA20 1ET, England (Formerly YHA Wastwater)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Nether Wasdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Nether Wasdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Wasdale Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Wasdale Hall (formerly known as YHA Wastwater) is a stunning half-timbered National Trust-owned house dating from 1829 and still retains many original features. Enjoy beautiful scenery from the grounds, which extend to the shores of Lake Wastwater, England's deepest lake. Within easy reach of England's highest mountain, walkers will be busy here. After a hectic day enjoy a delicious meal in our wood paneled restaurant with stunning views of the lake. All meals are home-cooked using fresh produce in the Wasdale Hall kitchens and served to your table. A range of local Cumbrian ales, fine wines, spirits and soft drinks are also available to accompany your meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your YHA Wasdale Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Wasdale Hall Nether Wasdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing