We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveler rating
137
32
5
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
137
32
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews games room scafell pike drying room stunning location open water swimming table tennis table take ear plugs bed dorm common room wet clothes tea bags evening meal and breakfast real fire a great place to stay couldn't fault hostel bob
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 175 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Firstly the service was outstanding - I've never stayed at a YHA before but I was there with a bunch of people doing the Mountain Leader course and they assured me that this YH was the best that they had also stayed in. The food (from breakfast to dinner) was great and fantastic value for money. Loads of hot water (especially needed after two days out in the hills in minging weather), clean, warm, friendly, good beer and I was really well looked after. Would certainly visit there again. Bob and the team are fantastic and really know how to make you feel welcome and your stay comfortable. Oh yes, as well as that you get to stay in a stunning building by the lake among stunning views.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JONATHAN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

First visited Wasdale Hall 18 years ago and always happy to return. The location is fabulous, on the shore of the lake with both low and high level walks virtually from the door - and three nearby pubs within walking distance if you don't mind working up a thirst. Manager Bob is relaxed, friendly and professional, chef Rob (moving on this year) brought us great healthy food and a team of lovely staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grizwold19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I visited the Wastwater YHA as part of a group occupying the whole building and agree with the other reviewers about the characterfull building, great staff and lakeside location - superb. The cooking for the group was done by the hostel team and was all veggie [group's request]. There were some other more tricky special diets, mine was vegan and I would rate the food 11 out of 10! Most chefs don't really get veggie food let alone more specialist so happy new year to all the staff for being so good to us.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We had a family room for the second October half term in succession. Basic, but comfortable with a view over Wastwater towards the screes. Staff ate brilliant, really friendly and helpful and the food is good.
The hostel has a library room well used and busy with a hearth fire and a table tennis room in the cellar, along with a drying room.
Great place, fantastic location, really excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plavi98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The location is second to none. With the lake stretching out in front of the beautiful old building you couldn't ask for more. Peaceful and relaxing. The staff were excellent, the food great and we had the best sleep we have ever had on a holiday since we have had kids despite sleeping in bunk beds! You won't regret booking a break here and if you want to climb Scafell Pike you will apprecaite the cooked meals and well earned drink when you get back! We took our six and eight year old up and they did really well. Loads of helpful local advice from staff. Couldn't fault it - might be a youth hostel and rooms might not be as plush but all round you would do hard to beat it however many stars a hotel has. Give it a try. Good kitchen facilities for self catering if you want to do it your self.

Room Tip: We had a six bedded family room for four which gave us plenty of room. Didn't see other rooms. Some at front have lake views I think.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenniob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews