We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stay here all of the time, love it”

The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milnthorpe
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“stay here all of the time, love it”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

myself and my husband stay in the wheatsheaf a lot, its a great chill out place, its homely, the food is fgreat, and the breakfasts are fab, its not fancy, or pretentious, its a great little place and we wouldnt stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: there are only about 5 rooms, so you dont really need to make many choices you get whats free which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    60
    29
    13
    15
See reviews for
38
74
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
By the pool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Went for dinner, we were located in the upstairs room. Pleaseant surroundings but it felt like out of sight out of mind as far as the staff were concerned. Took nearly 20 minutes for them to ask if we wanted a drink, another 10 mins to take our food order. Food arrived and was ok, but staff forgot additional orders (drinks etc) a few times. It was difficult enough to get their attention in the first place! The penny menu (main at regular price and starter/dessert for a penny each) almost made up for the bad service. It could have been very good but let down by the service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Halfman0halffish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milnthorpe hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My self and partner live in london and have come to the lakes for the jubilee weekend. We had an amazing meal at the wheatsheaf. The service and the food really was second to none. We both had a starter, main and pudding. I can honestly say the white choc cheesecake was divine. A big thank you to all the staff and we hope to come back soon

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed two nights,16/17 March,2012. Nice rooms in keeping with the history of the Hotel,don't expect boutique rooms. We have stayed on three occasions in three different rooms,all rooms are clean with all the accepted add ons,t.v, hairdryer,tea/coffee making facilities,all en suite,the usual acceptable 'norm'.We dined in the hotel on both nights. Monday to Friday the hotel has an offer on the food,order a main course from the menu and the starter and sweet are one penny each,excellent value. The food on both nights was very good,the service also v.good,drinks are reasonably priced,for example a nice bottle of red for £18.00,not extortionate by any means. The food is reasonably priced and the staff are attentive and friendly, without being 'pushy'.

All in all good value at a nice oldie worldie hotel.

If you are not too good on your feet all the bedrooms are reached by climbing two steep sets of stair, you would find it difficult to get to your bedroom.!!!

Room Tip: Wheelchair accessible to the bar/dining room, not to the bedrooms.All rooms are similar,clean and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
up north
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We went with friends for a reunion meal on a Saturday night. The pub was very busy but we were well looked after by the staff.The menu offered a decent choice and the service was good.
Pleasant dining area with a welcoming log fire made for an enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazungu_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

had a lovely luch here yesterday after a fantastic walk to fairy steps, saw all the snowdrops on the way. would recommend a visit to this village, beautiful

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrestonCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool UK
Level Contributor
144 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

The Wheatsheaf is situated in a pleasant hamlet, about 6 miles from the motorway. We stayed here over New Year, and, of course, the hotel was busy, yet convivial, and not overcrowded. There was a good selection of real ales and we had a pleasant meal next to the open fire.
Our twin room, overlooking the lovely church, was quite large and warm, and we slept very well (didn't notice the bells). Cooked breakfasts were excellent, with a wide choice. Coffee was quite good too. New Year special dinner was pretty good and not too expensive. There was a limited selection of wines, but those we tried were quite acceptable.
It would appear that the Wheatsheaf is more concerned with drinks and food than the quality of the bedrooms. There was a constant stream of people and parties arriving for breakfast/lunch/dinner/drinks, and this is obviously what they do well and customers return for. We had to put up with rickety furniture and sticking drawers and make do with just 3 coathangers, and I wasn't impressed to find a previous occupant's T shirt and used hankies under my bed.
Yes, we enjoyed our stay, because the staff were attentive and friendly, and the food was good, but the rooms need smartening up, and the housekeeping issues adressed.

Room Tip: Levens is largish twin overlooking the church. Needs refurbishment, but we slept well. The bells chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ornsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milnthorpe
0.1 mi away
The Cross Keys Hotel
The Cross Keys Hotel
#1 of 2 in Milnthorpe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
5.2 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Longlands Inn & Restaurant
8.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bolton le Sands
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
7.0 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatsheaf at Beetham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf at Beetham

Property: The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
Address: Beetham, Milnthorpe LA7 7AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Milnthorpe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Milnthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Wheatsheaf at Beetham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf At Beetham Hotel Milnthorpe
Wheatsheaf At Beetham Milnthorpe
The Wheatsheaf At Beetham Milnthorpe, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing