We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value but ordinary in Beetham”

The Wheatsheaf at Beetham Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 16 Restaurants in Milnthorpe
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good Value but ordinary in Beetham”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The decor in this Pub/restaurant is basic. The service was fine and the food was better than normal pub food but not for a special night out. Competitive pricing.
Good beer.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cambridgeblue65to67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    40
    33
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kendal
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nothing special, could do better.”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The food is as the menu says, very fresh but its nothing I would go out the way for again. I prefer my roasts (as most do) to be a little more hearty – whereas when you look at the size of the dishes, and indeed the dishes on offer you get the impression that they are catering to a much much (much) older generation, a generation that they think won't handle a regular sized meal? Perhaps one to go back to when you’re well past your prime..but not somewhere to go for a family Sunday lunch: especially as a vegetarian when they are offering only one dish..and you don't like risotto. Luckily they were nice enough to make me something else, a nut roast..which was pretty good - none of the food was very special though. The big thing that stands out from the visit is the length of time we waited between everything - service could use speeding up some. Tone of the entire meal was brought down by different tables having different issues, table next to us complained their food was too well cooked (meat) my wife's food wasn't cooked enough..another table were getting impatient as they had been waiting a long time.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VeggieInTheLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport.England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, poor service matched by poor food”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The staff were really nice, but the service was dreadful (over two hours to complete our meal) which matched the quality of the main course.

Within our order were two 7oz steaks to be medium cooked. They may well have weighed 7oz but at least 3oz was fat or grissle, one of the steaks was fairly thick and indeed was cooked medium, the other was thin and could only be described as very well/over done. If I hadn't already waited over an hour for these, and we were part of a large group, I would have either returned it or refused to pay for it.

The location is lovely, and waiting two hours to be served did give us time to appreciate it

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thirts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Room for Improvement.”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

It had been about 3 years since we last ate at this restaurant.
The place had obviously changed hands as it had lost a lot of it's character especially with the removal of the little bar in the side room which was great if you wanted to pop in for a pint.
The only bar in now in the lobby?......strange.
It has suffered from the fashion of just encouraging eating customer rather than trying to build a local customer base for drinkers....after all the place is large enough to cater for both.
Anyway on to the meal........
We were taken to the upstairs room and waited nearly 35 minutes for the waiter to take our order. It did seem that all the other customers had a similar wait.
When we eventually ordered the food didn't take too long.
I had Belly Pork which was tasty and well presented and my wife had Fish Pie which was mediocre with a very thin sauce.
My desert of sticky toffee pudding was good and my wife had the Eaton Mess which was mediorcre, again.
Quite unlucky with her choices!
The staff were friendly enough apart from the guy who sat us at the table and promptly forgot we were there.......he needs to focus on his customer service skills.
Won't be returning in a hurry.......it's a shame as it could be so good with an injection of character and some staff training.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimfol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely food in pretty and peaceful surroundings.”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

The setting around the Wheatsheaf is the beautiful peaceful and pretty village of Beetham.
With its perfect location, the restaurant served food well above the average and at good value for money. We booked in the early afternoon and although they were virtually booked up for the evening, allowed us to choose our table, only stipulating that we could not book for a time between 7 and 7.30.
We were given great service and great food with a good quality wine, chosen from a reasonably extensive wine list for an eatery of this type.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank PnlpKln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wheatsheaf at Beetham Restaurant also viewed

 
Milnthorpe, Cumbria
Levens, Lake District
 

Been to The Wheatsheaf at Beetham Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing