We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a day at lakeland oasis”

Lakeland Wildlife Oasis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Established for over 25 years, the Lakeland Wildlife Oasis hosts an incredible collection of insects, fish, amphibians, reptiles, birds and mammals. Perfect for families, the zoo is an all-weather attraction combining lush tropical halls and outdoor animal areas. Explore our evolutionary journey spanning over 300,000,000 years. The on site 'Wild Cafe' is open every day from 10am-4pm. No zoo entry is required to visit the cafe. Last entry for the zoo is 4:00pm. We are open every day except Christmas and Boxing Day.
wigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a day at lakeland oasis”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

just a small place but very enjoyable the snow leoperds are stunning cats the food in the café was exelent avd very good coffee a great day out

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia Ritson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    85
    31
    22
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Educational and fun!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Small and unassuming in outward appearance, but surprisingly comprehensive, with lots of fun for my grown-up daughters and my 9 year old grand-daughter. All animals seem to be well looked after and the whole experience was very positive and educational. Well worth a stop!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“nice little visit for all”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Not too big for all ages to walk round but big enough to be of interest to the very young. You can get up close to plenty of insects and snakes and things and everyone was friendly. The staff are reasonably knowledgeable and have an obvious duty of care towards their exhibits.If the weather is poor most of it is indoors but if you pick a sunny day there is a nice picnic area and good playground for the kids. Worth a visit and it won't break the bank. Best plan about 3 hours depending whether you want to see things being fed or not and the cafe has a nice selection of items for sale. Check directions if you are not familiar with where it is as you could drive past the place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen
Level Contributor
137 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good things come in small packages!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This small yet fantastic attraction provides a great day out for kids and big kids alike. The lack of huge crowds experienced by larger zoos meant a very pleasant and laid back day, where we were able to get much closer to the animal exhibits than I have found in other zoos. The snow leopard exhibit is just fantastic. The staff are friendly, enthusiastic, knowledgeable and helpful. During feeds and talks they will chat to you for ages, giving you the opportunity to handle some snakes, lizards, and even a tarantula should you be brave enough! My friend and I booked the VIP Animal Interaction Experience for her birthday, pricey but well worth every penny, we thoroughly enjoyed every minute. While we did this my husband was on 'child-sitting' duty with my friend's 8 year old, and he found there was more than enough to keep the child happy including a great play area and really fantastic gift shop. The cafe also deserves a special mention as the food is great quality and there is a lot of choice, some quite unusual dishes and plenty of options for children, veggies, and the more health-conscious folk.
All in all a fabulous, reasonably priced day out which I would thoroughly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for kids whatever the weather.”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Hands on animal handling experience and being able to get close to the animals. Just the right size of attraction for the very young. We took our 1 year old granddaughter and she was fascinated by the meerkats and the antics of the marmosets. Though it is mostly outdoors there is an indoor tropical area and fun, educational activities for kids.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JanetMyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeland Wildlife Oasis also viewed

Dalton-in-Furness, Cumbria
Newby Bridge, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Beetham, Cumbria
 

Been to Lakeland Wildlife Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing