We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at The Golden Lion Maryport”
Review of Golden Lion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Lion
Ranked #1 of 6 Maryport B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at the Golden Lion in the last week of August for two nights in the Premier Room with a view of the harbour, the room was excellent as was the hotel, the double bed was very comfortable, plenty of room and good wardrobe and drawer space, the usual beverage tray, also free wifi connection, in fact everything that we needed was at hand, windows to the side street and one forward take in the views down towards the sea front.

I found the place fresh and clean, very tasteful, good en suite facilities, so much thought has gone into the decor and balance of colour and furnishing, someone has obviously an eye for design and put a lot of thought into the refurbishment.

The breakfast was spot on, you would find the "full English" hard to beat in any hotel or B&B in the North of England. In all of our years of travelling we have only found one hotel located in Whitby to equal it!

The staff were very friendly and all concerned work hard to please the guests, whether with your room, at the breakfast table or at the bar, which I must mention serve some cracking real ales, even if you are not staying here, it is worth going in for a pint or for a meal, a decent range on the menu.

I have just a couple of small gripes, the first one is that we seemed to have Michael Flatley in the room above, came in late and tramping around, got up really early too, I think he may have been a contractor or something at a well known nuclear establishment? I have noticed that in most hotels the floors are not well soundproofed,

The other surprise was someone got the Vac out at one o clock in the morning to sweep the ground floor, but hey I suppose they have to keep the hotel clean after we have made a mess of it, we soon nodded off as we were tired with the walking and taking in the wonderful sea air.

This Hotel fits in well with the surroundings, the people are so friendly, I was surprised how nice the locals are, they seem genuinely interested in the people visiting their town. We will definitely return to Maryport, and will certainly try to get in to the Golden Lion.

Thanks to Phillip and all his staff.

Room Tip: Premier Room is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 92 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

We've just spent a very pleasant two night stay at the Golden Lion, a recently- and well- refurbished town centre hotel. The location - the oldest building in the town - couldn't be more central for the amenities, and parking wasn't a problem. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, and the whole place has a welcoming air. Our room was medium size, well equipped and comfortable. The restaurant was nicely decorated, and the food was simple but excellently presented and served. Portions are very generous! The only downside was the noise from the neighbouring pubs at chucking-out time [Saturday at 2 am. - choir practice, it seems!] - they say it's ok midweek! We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancophileHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed at the Golden Lion for 2 nights in May and were more than happy with the choice. After parking the car just outside we were given a warm welcome at reception before being shown to our room on the top floor. There are no lifts in this establishment so be prepared to use the stairs. The view across the Solway Firth from our room window made it worthwhile though. The room was comfortable and clean.

The hotel is located centrally in Maryport close to the sea front and is handy for the Aquarium which we enjoyed. The bar is well used and I was happy to say it serves some decent real ale. We ate an excellent dinner in the restaurant and a substantial cooked to order breakfast helped us on our way in the morning.

If I'm ever in this lovely area again I'll be sure to head for the Golden Lion.

Room Tip: If you can manage the stairs get to the top floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave201253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Everything about the hotel from staff friendliness to accommodation cleanliness was remarkable. The business trip made me resolved to return for a stay again in this unsung area. Breakfast was personalised and supper was equal to any top restaurant. Historical connections too!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Chobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I've been staying around this area for some months now on business, and I have struggled to find anywhere decent to stay, so it was a pleasant surprise to find that the town of Maryport and the Golden Lion itself are both thoroughly decent places.
The hotel appears to have been through a recent refurbishment of all the public areas and is bright, clean and welcoming.
Rooms are decently sized, fresh and bright.
Showers are excellent with plenty of smellies provided.
Food generally appeared to be good, although my Tuna Nicoise was a rather strange interpretation of the normal recipe.
The little town appears to be doing its best to make the most of what its got, but seems to suffer from more than its fair share of the OK/Kyle/Carling/Greggs class of inhabitants.
Seagulls are noisy devils, but the hotel can't be blamed for that!

Room Tip: Rooms adjacent to the main street can be affected by noise from late night OK/Kyle/Carling/Greggs ty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strudwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This hotel proved to be a lovely surprise as we were staying here as wedding guests, that was until the local bar round the corner aka Middle Tap, started with some form of weekly band that played horrific music, extremely loudly until the very early hours! I can't even begin describe how loud it was! this other pub apparently had its live music licence revoked a few years back and last Wednesday the council, stupidly regranted it, what an unfortunate neighbour for his lovely little hotel!

Room Tip: One of the ones to the front right of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Didn't stay here - just had dinner. The food and wine were both excellent. Service could not be faulted and the prices excellent considering the standard of fare.
Bar was a little local pubish which might phase some people but not me. Gave it a less remote atmosphere than you get in some hotels.
Almost missed this as a dinner venue since right on the harbour, not in the centre.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank egregor50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lion

Address: Senhouse Street, Maryport CA15 6AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Maryport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Maryport
Price Range: $127 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Golden Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Maryport, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing