We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea a Rip-off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broadoaks Country House
Ranked #1 of 4 Troutbeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea a Rip-off”
Reviewed April 15, 2009

Went for afternoon tea for 4 people - were served only two sandwiches each and rock hard barely edible scones. We were really looking forward to this special occasion and were thoroughly disappointed with the experience. The place was nice enough but the quality and quantity of the food served really let it down. I would not recommend afternoon tea at a price of nearly thirteen pounds per person.

Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank brannydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BroadoaksTroutbeck, Deputy General Manager at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this review, April 17, 2009
We regularly check trip advisor to get an accurate view of how we are performing for our guests and to ensure that any niggles that have affected a stay are rectified, after all we need to know about the problems so that we can fix them.

If you look through our reviews I hope you will see that we rarely get it wrong and it is from this standpoint that I must say I do not accept the 'afternoon tea rip off' review as accurate.

Our afternoon tea is priced at £12.95 - for this price you can expect one sandwhich, a scone and jam, chocolate torte, tea loaf and victoria sponge each and as much tea and fresh coffee as you fancy.

If you were to price this indidvidually from our snack menu this would cost £27.40.

We have sold over 40 afternoon teas over the last 2 weeks with our other customers enjoying the right amount off food prepared to excating standards, using locally sourced products, all freshly created to order in house by our chefs.

Our front of house staff regularly check on our guests and there would have been several points throughout this guests visit to mention they were not satisfied and the problems would have been rectified immediately.

If you come to stay with us and something is not to your satisfaction please don't hesitate to tell us, we are a customer focused independantly owned country house and our team strives to deliver an experience beyond expectation.

Up untill the end of May we are offering a fantastic deal through the daily mail with afternoon teas for £10 per person, if you quote trip advisor we will be happy to extend the offer to you and we will welcome any feedback on what we know to be a decadent, great value afternoon tea set in some of South Lakelands most fantastic scenery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    125
    35
    12
    6
See reviews for
147
567
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2009

i booked the elm suite which although not the cheapest of rooms was very well equipt with double jacuzzi and king size bed which made the stay very comfortable. The only two negative points to the room is that the "free wireless internet" didnt reach the room and the kitchen was situated next door which resulted in a little late evening and eraly morning noise. Other than that the room is perfect and very well decorated. The cow shed products were a lovely extra touch ( altho watch how much bubble bath you put in the jacuzzi as the bubbles soon get out of control when the its turned on!! ) The staff were all very friendly and professional and the food was excellent. The house is not in the immediate vicinity of pubs, restaurants or shops but has everything you need for a relaxing, romantic and high quality get away.

  • Liked — king
  • Disliked — ?
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank scootStaffordshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2009

My husband and I married at this venue in February 2008 and invited family and close friends to share the celebration with us. Last year the experience was amazing, the food, surroundings and staff was flawless. It was inevitable that we would visit again and they did not let us down. Everything was superb. See you next year for our 2nd wedding anniversary. People have to experience Broadoaks for themselves.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakelover69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2009

Such a lovely relaxing place. Broadoaks has more of a 'private country house' feel to it than a hotel. You can almost imagine being lord of the manor! It's small, exclusive and very relaxing. Fires were roaring during our chilly stay, which created a cosy ambience. The food's lovely and the service is excellent. The William Morris lounge is wonderful, my partner even played the grand piano after dinner whilst I sipped on my G&T - divine!

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2009

absolutely stunning country house set in amazing surroundings.
great friendly staff from the start, food and drink to die for.
if your looking to impress your parter this isthe place to bring them.
highley recomended!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — poor wireless internet signal for business use
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank philmustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2009

We've just returned from a two night New Year stay here. It can be summed up by saying that we already plan to rebook for next year. A lovely place; nice rooms; good food; truly exceptional staff; and a great ambiance. New Years Eve had a lavish seven course meal topped and tailed with champagne and nibbles. Entertainment and a firework show included too. It was a lovely house party atmosphere and although New Year is notoriously expensive and this wasn't cheap we did come away thinking we'd had value for money. It is also situated in great walking country and when we went the weather was perfect. -5c when we arrived but that had created a Winter Wonderland of frost garlanded trees which made the stay perfect. A truly memorable couple of days.

  • Liked — The staff, nothing too much bother.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2008

I booked this hotel because I was looking for a romantic hotel with a jacuzzi. We booked the Elm Suite, which was one of the more expensive rooms. The hotel was really lovely and the jacuzzi divine. Breakfast was quite a small selection and brought to us upon order. The hotel is also not walking distance from anything so you would need a car to go anywhere.

Service was excellent. I would definitely book this hotel again as the room was perfect for spending some quality alone time together with your loved one.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank po2tea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutbeck
1.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
21.5 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadoaks Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadoaks Country House

Property: Broadoaks Country House
Address: Bridge Lane | Troutbeck Windermere, Troutbeck LA23 1LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Troutbeck
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Troutbeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Broadoaks Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Broadoaks Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadoaks Country House Hotel Troutbeck
Broadoaks Country House Troutbeck, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing