We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Broadoaks Country House
Nearby Hotels
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$144
$136
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$332
$300
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
$163
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$146
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (969)
Filter reviews
969 results
Traveler rating
779
133
39
12
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
779
133
39
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmusic roomafternoon teacream teacourse mealjacuzzi bathwedding venuesconescoach housegarden suitebeautiful hotelwedding breakfastpine roomexclusive usegroupon dealspruce roomon arrivalfour poster bed
Filter
Updating list...
734 - 739 of 969 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We visited here for a romantic break away from the children. The hotel is old and interesting with wood panelled walls and burning log fire in the cosy lounge where we enjoyed a few drinks after dinner We have been to quite a few five star hotels so woud rate this four for overall staff service, food and quality of room decor. We had a lovely view from the room with a four poster bed. The furnishings were fine with a small tv. The bathroom shower had a shower curtain which could be improved upon albeit nice and warm, The room was quiet enough for a decent sleep which is always important to us when going to hotels. On visiting this hotel we wanted somewhere to take the kids and dog and found Whitecross Bay at the bottom of Troutbeck which we adore so the trip to this hotel was well worth it to find our family a great place to holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magicgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoutiqeBroadoaks, Owner at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

We are very glad we could be of service and that you enjoyed the hotel and what we have to offer. Many of our bathrooms are now brand new following an extensive refurbishment which was done in order to ensure we are excelling in all areas of our business. It’s great to hear you found a fab spot locally to take your children and we hope you have many happy holidays in the Lakes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay, well worth a visit and we will certainly be going back.
The setting is beautiful, the room we had was on the front of the house over looking the gardens it was beautiful. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The food was excellent and well presented, breakfast was good too.
We will certainly be going back

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waters3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoutiqeBroadoaks, Owner at Broadoaks Country House, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Many thanks for your review and it’s fab to hear all aspects of your stay impressed you, it’s really good to hear we are getting it right and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We come to the Lakes several times a year and try to stay somewhere different every time and chose Broadoaks due to its central location and great reviews. We stayed in one of the new garden suites at a small supplement over the excellent Groupon deal price which included a small cream tea on arrival and DB&B. All of the staff were very friendly and the service was impeccable throughout our stay.

The room was great; more like a suite, with a separate seating area and a large spa bath. There was also an outside seating area which may be useful in summer but not on a wet weekend in the Lakes! All of the usual luxury items were present including quality toiletries, robes and two TV’s and a DVD player. The views were pretty great too which set it apart from your usual town-based accommodation.

The evening meal really was fantastic, although I probably wouldn’t have wanted to pay the full list price, although some may be disappointed with the limited choice. I could have happily eaten anything from the list and choosing a selection was quite tricky. Those complaining about supplements for extra vegetables and steak obviously don’t get out much; this is standard practice in quality restaurants (you aren’t coming to a carvery). We had just completed a 22km hike in the hills and certainly found the quantities sufficient to satisfy our appetite. Breakfast was taken in the room and was also of a great standard.

We would happily recommend Broadoaks to any and might event break the habit and return!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LRLR_Hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have just stayed at this hotel on a Groupon offer, which included cream tea on arrival, canapes before the evening meal and bed and breakfast.

This is hotel is in a beautiful setting very near to Lake Windermere.

The hotel itself is very homely - in a good way. It has lots of little reception rooms.

The staff were all very helpful and friendly. We were shown to our room and then we adjourned to the Music Room for our Cream Tea.

My husband thought he would also like butter with his scone but we both loved the homemade jam.The scones were lovely and fresh.

We went for a walk before dinner and took in the wonderful views.

The dinner itself was very tasty but our vegetables had been forgotten.
When our cauliflower cheese did come the cauliflower was barely cooked and covered in very milky, underdone sauce.

The Mange toute were also underdone but we put this down to the chef being in a hurry to get the vegetables out to us before our steaks got cold.

I did mention the cauliflower and the extra cost for this was taken off the bill.

I was a bit surprised at all the surcharges for vegetables, steak and cheese. I would prefer to pay more and it include the vegetables.

Our room was very pretty but the bed was very high. It had two large mattresses on top of each other.
I had toyed with the idea of having breakfast in our room but it would have had to have been in bed so we opted for the dining room.

The breakfast was delicious and well cooked.

We thought we might stay at the hotel an extra night but my husband did not sleep well and we were both surprised at the very limited menu for dinner.

We would both recommend this hotel and hope to stay there again soon.

Room Tip: We were in the Rowan Room which was on the small side but very pretty.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry2blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have recently got married and initially planned to go to london on a "mini moon" however when the time came we realised we needed a relaxing break and was so pleased to find Broadoaks!
We couldn't believe it when we found out it was dog friendly! We have a little staff called Reggie who we love and to be able to go away and not have to worry about leaving him behind won it for us!
We were blown away when we drove up to the hotel, its beautifully kept. Now i work for a premium brand who work to very high standards and even this amazed me! We stayed in the Walnut, which had outside access for Reggie (Also can i just say you would have no idea that dogs had stayed in this room , we were almost like "have they got this right can reggie really stay in here?" lol)
The staff treat you like you are the only guests in the hotel, nothing is too much. The food was beautifully presented and i cant begin to tell you how nice it was, it was michelin standard without the snobbery.
The walks are mind blowing. I don't normally comment or take the time to comment on sites like this but i feel they went out of their way for us so i had to return the favour. We will definitely be returning each year!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dimples653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews