We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favourite B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
High Fold Guest House
Ranked #1 of 4 Troutbeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Our Favourite B&B”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have stayed with Les & Sue many times over the past 10 years or so and would not consider staying anywhere else.
High Fold is set in a lovely location with stunning views. Les & Sue go out of their way to ensure guests enjoy not only their B&B but the local area too.
Rooms are comfortable, warm and spotlessly clean. Breakfast is a delight that many a larger establishment can only aspire to.
Without question a jewel of a B&B in a sea of mediocrity!!

Room Tip: Applethwaite is a large room with bath and shower, however all rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
227
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed for six nights in Kirkstone room. Beautifully appointed warm comfortable and spacious room.
Owners were delightful. Location beautiful with stunning views. Food and hospitality were absolutely first class.
Great place to stay at any time of year and would especially like to be there in Spring or Summer.

Room Tip: Kirkstone or Applethwaite would be first choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bananaman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

This is our third time at High Fold - the location in Troutbeck is great with amazing views across the valley. There are lots of great walks from the doorstep.

The rooms are cosy and the bathrooms are very clean and newly refurbished.

Les & Susan are very welcoming and helpful.

The breakfast are great with a good choice of fresh fruit yoghurt and choices of cooked options. You can watch the birds go mad for the bird feeders from the huge picture window in the dining room!

The Mortal Man pub is an easy 15 min walk (with torches supplied by Les!) and does very good and substantial meals.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glynandjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed in the Kentmere room.Everything about the place is lovely.From the spotless rooms,comfortable beds.A wonderful location,and a lovely couple that are friendly and give a first class service.This was our second visit and hope to return.A variety of walks from the door,great to be without the car,also two excellent pubs with character and good food which are near enough to walk to.As,has been mentioned before,excellent breakfast,good quality food.Great attention to detail,even filling up the bird feeders,so the guests can see the many garden birds whilst eating breakfast.Oh and cant forget to mention the pen fire.A lovely find.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed in the suite which was beautiful, spacious and luxurious. Service excellent and unobtrusive, very good breakfasts and a wonderful fruit platter every day. Room and bathroom spotlessly clean and fresh towels every day. Would recommend highly.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite which was beautiful, spacious and luxurious. Service excellent and unobtrusiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here for four nights after a last minute booking. The top room was beautifully set out, with a daily replenishment of a wide selection of drinks , biscuits every day, lovely white towels and good quality toiletries. The bed was extremely comfortable, the room spotlessly clean. The fruit platter at breakfast was a work of art; cooked breakfast also well presented. And of course such a delightful setting ! One of the best places we have stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakeslover55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

It would be hard to imagine (let alone find) a more appealing and comfortable base in this area. Its location is quiet and peaceful, with lovely views across and up the Troutbeck valley, and surrounded by good walks, yet it is within easy reach of many visitor attractions around Ambleside /Windermere /Hawkshead. Having originally found it by happy accident, we have returned and now hope for many more visits. The reception is warm and friendly, and the accommodation exceptional - rooms spotlessly clean and warm, well-furnished and very comfortable, and the breakfasts are almost unbelievably good.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jules g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutbeck
2.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
964 reviews
4.4 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
533 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mortal Man
The Mortal Man
#3 of 4 in Troutbeck
604 reviews
1.0 mi away
Broadoaks Country House
Broadoaks Country House
#2 of 4 in Troutbeck
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Fold Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Fold Guest House

Property: High Fold Guest House
Address: | Windermere, Troutbeck LA23 1PG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Troutbeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Troutbeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — High Fold Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Fold Guest House is surrounded by green rolling hills and mountain peaks and all our bedrooms and the dining room have fine views. There is ample free parking and free Wi-Fi. Despite its rural location High Fold is only 3 miles from Windermere and Ambleside. We are happy to offer advice on local walks, local attractions or other ideas for your stay. We have ample walking books and maps that guests may borrow are and several local walks may be started directly from the house. All our bedrooms are en-suite and have king size or super-king size beds and they all have excellent views. For breakfast we offer a good selection of locally sourced high quality produce to suit all tastes. We offer a vegetarian option and we are happy to accommodate guests with special dietary requirements. Guests not wishing to drive to enjoy evening and lunchtime meals will find good food, fine wines and ales at an excellent Inn/restaurant within walking distance of High Fold Guest House. Whatever the reasons for your visit you are guaranteed the best care and attention throughout your stay with us and a warm welcome awaits you. We hope to see you soon, Les & Susan Bradley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your High Fold Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Fold Guest House Troutbeck, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing