We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
High Fold Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$244
$237
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
$221
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Manor Hotel(Windermere)(Great Value!)
$173
$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$295
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Hotel(Ambleside)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveler rating
303
7
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
303
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh fruitb btea and biscuitsapplethwaite suitebreakfast roomlake districtperfect hostspubs within walking distancekentmere roomcooked breakfastfull englishwalking polesmortal mantop floorfriendly and helpful hostsbird feedersstunning views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 310 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights..in the Applethwaite room which was large and comfortable with a separate sitting area.The room was spotless as was the bathroom.The fruit at breakfast was the best I have ever had..all fresh with a wide choice of yogurts and cereal...and full selection of cooked breakfasts freshly done.All the rooms were toasty warm ..we even had to turn the rads off at times!
Unfortunately I left my newly purchased walking poles behind which thankfully Les/Sue returned without hesitation.
I thoroughly recommend High Fold.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluecarmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

First time here - my wife and I were on a wedding anniversary break and stayed here 3 nights. We were in the top floor room (Kirkstone) - very spacious with a super king size bed, well equipped, very clean and warm. The breakfasts were something special - cooked to order based on 15 min slots which you had to organise the day before. In addition to a very excellent full english breakfast there were lots of cereals and a fresh fruit platter that was superb. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saffopod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Amazing views, well-located, excellent breakfast, comfortable rooms, friendly and attentive owners.
Also if you like garden birds I have never seen such a flock and variety on their seeders, which can be observed with a view across the valley through the breakfast room window. A very nice start to the day.
can't fault this place, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We found the High Fold Guest House for a weekend stay just by chance but what luck! Our room was very spacious with terrific views overlooking the fields and hillside. Our hosts seemed to have catered for everything. The double-bed was huge, we could regulate the heating in the room ourselves, a good selection of soaps, shampoos in the bathroom, and generous tea & coffee-making facilities. The breakfast was impressive with fresh fruits, cereals and a terrific English cooked breakfast. The High Fold Guest House is small, cosy, extremely comfortable and in a very good location. There are two pubs within walking distance serving excellent meals. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a superb B&B. it was the second time we have stayed at High Fold. The premises are immaculate throughout. Very comfortable rooms, good showers, fine breakfast, beautiful views. High Fold is ideally located in Troutbeck, which is itself a lovely lakeland village. Les and Susan are helpful, welcoming, friendly and efficient. Rupert and Rina Talbot

Room Tip: Kentmere has a double aspect view and a four poster bed !
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talbots-43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews