We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an absolute treasure!”
Review of Townend

Townend
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Troutbeck
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Please note that due to major building repairs, Townend is now CLOSED until August 2016. Please call us or check our website for more information. Thank you.
Gilsland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“What an absolute treasure!”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

We followed signs to this house without any idea of what we were going to find, but are so glad we did! A beautiful building - but more than that, a fantastic history of the family that owned it. We didn't get a tour, but we did arrive late on a Sunday afternoon & had the undivided attention of the wonderful volunteers. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heavenl1y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    44
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Fascinating Peak Into The Past”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

This has now become one of my most favourite National Trust properties. It's an amazingly well preserved yeoman farmer's home with a real sense of how they would have lived and the very knowledgeable and enthusiastic guides were keen to share illuminating information. It has a relaxed atmosphere which you don't often find in the larger properties and this impressed even the member of our party not keen on the grander, more remote type of buildings. There's a fantastic display of fake food laid out in the main room which thoroughly delighted me! Additionally, I think every Thursday a food historian cooks real food based on old recipes from the household which sounds fascinating. A charming place to visit.

Helpful?
Thank LittleRedLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

From the outside it looks like a quaint old cottage/farmhouse. Inside it has a lovely atmosphere and fascinating woodwork done by its owner on both panels, furniture, fire surrounds etc..... There are tours at 11 and 12 but it then opens from1pm for those who just want to wander around in their own time. There are guides in rooms to ask questions but also information sheets. There is not much of a garden but well worth a visit. They do not do food but there is a drinks machine and toilets and if you go into the village of Townend where the old Post Office used to be is a newly opened tea room. Very friendly service and the food is all home cooked and they are very generous with their portions.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HolsTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“What a hidden treasure!”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Do go and visit this wonderful old cottage. Left just as the family left it after over 400 years of ownership. Go on one of the guided tours and you will be amazed at the amount of information you receive. A real gem of a place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GillH007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“So enjoyed this place - but do try and get on a tour”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

You really need to get there early, and GRAB A PEG FROM BESIDE THE DOOR!!!

They run a system of whoever has a clothespeg from off the string, gets to go on the tour. Thankfully my friend had called ahead and was given this information by chance so she knew to look for the pegs. Other people before us didn't see the pegs and didn't get their place on the door. I wished that the staff would point people to them or have a sign by the information-room door pointing them to the pegs.

But the tour is so worth it. We had a gentleman who was so lively and informative and enthusiastic. He made the visit so enjoyable and interesting. This was really a highlight of our stay.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fenedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Townend also viewed

 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Townend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing