We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Townend

Townend
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Troutbeck
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Please note that due to major building repairs, Townend is now CLOSED until August 2016. Please call us or check our website for more information. Thank you.
East Kilbride, Scotland
Level Contributor
244 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

What a lovely place to visit and so welcoming with a real fire, so much nicer than imitation ones. The guides were so helpful and answered all questions.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    40
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had visited Wray Castle and were travelling back home when we spotted the sign for Townend. The lanes up to the cottage are narrow and winding but well worth the effort. We loved it from the moment we walked in through the door. It felt as though you were popping in to visit the family. This is a fabulously well preserved farming family home and the guides in each room are very knowledgable and are happy to talk to you about the history of the cottage and the family that lived there. Its an amazing place with lots of family history and if you are in to old wooden furniture and carving you are in for an absolute treat. The views and the garden are lovely.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LS56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fascinating Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Elderly mum and I visited this knowing it wasn't going to be physically easy - we are both disabled and struggle with steps and uneven floors. However we both love old properties and if you want to visit them then you have to struggle and cope with these things.
The manager (Fiona) was an absolute star and really helpful, she encouraged mum to rest as much as she needed to in each room before progressing and when mum decided that she really couldn't manage the spiral stairs to the servants quarters immediately found her the written information and pictures about it and talked her through it so she didn't feel she had missed out. The staff were great at helping mum when needed and were also very knowledgeable about the house and the family who'd lived there, plus the history of the surrounding area.
I love the Arthur Ransome books and it was very easy to imagine the farms in the books being like this. I personally loved the old textiles (knitted, patchwork and samplers) and it was lovely to be able to see them displayed in a "real" setting.
If like us you struggle physically it is possible to be dropped off close to the house rather than having to walk from the car park.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank dbleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Must see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I love these smaller properties. I love the wood carving eccentricities, the mad sloping floors, the wonderful kitchen fires and the lovely guide. I want that kitchen in my own house!
This type of thing makes you glad all over. If ever you want to get rid of the place, ask me first!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geogteacher01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Small but fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Guides very knowledgeable, the house is very well preserved. Unusual to see interior so well preserved. Reminds me of Wuthering Heights! Definitely worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheRover44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Townend also viewed

Troutbeck, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Townend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing