We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage - great location”
other travelers have booked this property
Greenbank Farm
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Greenbank Farm
Kitchen with Rangemaster
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Greenbank Farm
Kitchen with Rangemaster
Dining Area
Lounge
Outside seating
Master bedroom
first twin room
second twin room
Double bedroom downstairs
roll top bath
master bedroom ensuite
Blencathra in spring
Very Fresh Eggs
Great Mell Fell
spring guests
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Troutbeck, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PollyPock...
1 review
“Lovely cottage - great location”
Reviewed October 23, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We booked this lovely cottage for a family trip away. The accommodation was well eqipped, spacious and perfect for an early toddler.

The cottage is in a gorgeous location, between Keswick and Penrith - a short drive from some fabulous walks - and a 5 min walk from a fun activity centre. There is also a brilliant farm shop nearby, jammed packed with great food.

Paul was a great host. I would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2016
Thank you for you kind comments. Yes the farm shop is great, and we are very lucky to live in such a quiet, beautiful spot. We hope to see you back again sometime at Greenbank Farm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maffSalis...
salisbury
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed September 29, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed for the second year running with three of our grown up children and two dogs. We knew the house was warm and welcoming and were not disappointed this time round. The new owner, Paul, was very welcoming and supplied us with fresh eggs for breakfast. A really comfortable house with loads of room for us all to spread out and relax. Plenty of hot water, three toilets and two showers proved ample for 8 of us last year and 5 of us on this trip.
We had a lovely meal out at the Troutbeck Inn which welcomes dogs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm, spacious feel of th eproperty
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2016
Very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay so much.
It's always great to see so many guests come back again.
I will drop a treat out for the chickens to thank you from you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie2410...
Walton on thames
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a place”
Reviewed June 24, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

After having spent 8 or so years having our holiday at Greenbank Farm or Glen Cottage, with Helen Charlton as the owner, we hoped that the new owners Pual and Fiona Chapman would keep up the tradition. This indeed turned out to be true. We stayed for 14 nights at Beckwood with all of our 4 children (37 to 39 years old) at various times and they all found it really great. It is dog friendly, quiet, not far from the centre of the northern cells, with great restaurants nearby, not least the Troutbeck Inn and the Raj Indian restaurant in Penrith. It is comfortable, well looked after and the new owners live on site, which was a bonus. We have a great holiday at a great place. Looking forward to going again next year.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2016
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Greenbank Farm so much. It was lovely to chat to your children and hear about how much this had become part of their family holidays. See you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte...
Wysall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Comfortable, warm, spacious and well equipped”
Reviewed April 2, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed at Beckwood over a very wet Easter weekend 2016. We were an extended family group coming together from Scotland, Shropshire and Nottingham.
House is delightful, plenty of room, well maintained, warm and equipped with everything needed.
The setting is lovely with beautiful views.
We had two dogs with us. The house was great for them with slate and wooden floors. The garden not quite so brilliant as not fully enclosed and shared with next door. Dogs have to be tied to a rope provided. Manageable but not the most relaxing space for them. As the weather was so dire this did not affect us too much as we were indoors.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2016
Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted that you have a lovely family holiday at Beckwood and would love to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen S
Lower Brailes, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“WOW Thank you”
Reviewed October 25, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

WOW, WOW, WOW!!!!!!!
Thank you so much for supplying such a beautiful place to stay.
8 of us came to stay for a long weekend for my fathers "big" birthday, we arrived early evening were taken aback as soon as we walked in the door, let alone when we saw the view in the morning.
Such a warm, welcoming house with plenty of room for us all to spend our time, the pictures on the website are great but by no means do it its full justice. The kitchen and bathroom are amazing. All fixtures and fittings supplied to such a high standard.
Really cannot rate this house and experience highly enough, would well recommend to anyone A*****************

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen and Bathroom
Liked least: Our stay was too short
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2014
Thank you for your review following your stay at Beckwood.

Thank you for recommending Beckwood to others!

We are delighted you found the property warm, welcoming and found the fixture and fittings to be of a high standard.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Beckwood soon!

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridget R
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“more 'dogs tolerated' than 'dogs welcome'”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We holiday often in self catering properties, and have found it to be unusual to not receive a welcome basket on arrival, which in itself is a small thing, but it is almost unheard of for the owner of a property not to offer at the least a pint of milk and a teabag or two. Instead we sat down to read the surprisingly extensive list of do's and don'ts, which included instructions such as any dogs are not to be on the top floor of the property - which was not mentioned on the website, and given that most of the lower floor is open plan, basically meant that the dogs were required to be locked in the porch every night. Any trace of a dog was to be removed before leaving the property. Obviously any mess in the garden would be removed, however specifically requiring that any residual dog hair was to be hoovered up by the guest seemed a little bit intolerant. This, along with no outdoor shoes allowed, and under certain circumstances the toilets are not to be flushed all added up to something slightly less than what we had expected.

Toilet roll was rationed to half a toilet roll each per guest per week, however there was a positive glut of cleaning products, in full view. Ironically, the house wasn't particularly clean, (residual food in the recesses beside the oven, and serious overhangs of cobwebs and a dead crane fly spring to mind)

The clay pigeon shooting two fields away was another little nugget which wasn't mentioned on the website. Not loud enough to shake the windows, but loud enough to be irritating, as was someone on a quadbike rattling around at nine every morning, tooting their horn to round up the horses for work at the riding stables a field away.

The property itself is amazing, and we had a lovely time in the lakes, but if you have a dog, and your dog is nervous of gunfire or loud noises, this isn't perhaps the best place for you. And be warned, you will have to take the contents of your kitchen cupboards with you.

We felt that the overall impression was that we weren't made to feel particularly welcome, which makes the difference between visiting again, and not.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay at Beckwood, Troutbeck.

We are pleased you thought Beckwood was amazing and you enjoyed your holiday exploring the Lake District.

In regards to your comments made in your review, Lakes Cottage Holidays do not advertise that a welcome pack is included. Therefore, a welcome pack would not be supplied.

On our website, we do state Beckwood sits within 14 acres of grounds adjacent to Rookin House Farm Activity Centre.

As Beckwood is self catering accommodation, only the initial supply of toilet roll is supplied.

Regarding the information in Beckwood about dogs in the property, Lakes Cottage Holidays have terms and conditions for pets in the property, which would of been sent to you with your holiday confirmation at the time of booking.

It states in our terms and conditions for pets that pets must never be left in the property unattended. Pets must not be allowed on the furnishings and never in the bedrooms. There must be no evidence of the pet on departure, this means that all dog hair must be hovered and any excrement must be picked up and disposed of sensibly. Any damage caused by the pet must be reported immediately to the owner/our office in order that we can rectify before the next guests arrival, any expenses in fixing/rectifying the problem will be passed on to you.

Regarding the cleanliness of the property on arrival, we do ask in our holiday confirmation that if there are any problems to contact our office or the owner of the property. This is because we would be unable to rectify these issues during your stay with out being notified.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Beckwood or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future and we hope the comments you have raised in your review did not detract from your holiday.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Reviewed March 16, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback of your stay at Beckwood.

We are delighted this property lived up to your expectations and found the accommodation offered you high standard fittings and the views during your stay.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Beckwood soon!

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing