We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous - book direct through the hotel's reservations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Patterdale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patterdale
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fabulous - book direct through the hotel's reservations”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The Patterdale was a great hotel to stay with the family. We were blown away by the friendliness of the staff, the fabulous setting, the cleanliness of the rooms and last but by no means least the delicious and varied food. Staying during May half term we were wonderfully situated in the most picturesque part of the Lake District – with activities close by ranging from rowing/ kayaking and sailing on Lake Ullswater to fabulous rambles. Our children enjoyed the whole stay – their needs catered for beautifully.

The hotel has a lovely beer garden to the front, which was well used. The bar serves snacks throughout the day and evening, and the evening entertainment here was enjoyed by all the family. Every member of the team we came across appeared to be eager to help, and took exceptional care of our needs, even those who weren’t on duty.

The fabulous breakfasts were served by a competent team – the buffet being regularly topped up. The evening table d’hote menu, included in the cost of our stay, was wonderful, with a fantastic array of foods to suit all tastes, obviously cooked freshly in the kitchens for each service, the value for money for this 3 course meal was stunning. We didn't feel the need for such large portions (the second serving of potatoes on each plate could perhaps be queried with guests rather than being given them, as felt awful not completely clearing our plates). Service was swift with the Supervisor overseeing a well-oiled team.

Reception and the Hotel Manager were very competent and able to advise us on queries we needed assistance with.

The rooms were large, the décor fresh and well cleaned. We slept well. Our only suggestion would be the bath towels were slightly ‘small’ for our liking, however this was not a deal breaker.

We would warmly recommend this hotel as a fabulous destination in this fabulous part of the world… When can we visit again?

Room Tip: The front facing rooms were fabulous... both a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    298
    70
    15
    14
See reviews for
100
600
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights on a dinner & b&b basis. Due to later than expected arrival got rushed into dinner as last orders. Food was average. Clearly cooked to high quantity not quality. Staff were nice and polite. Once in room, 1 window didnt shut properly, towards end of 2nd that night shower broke and then eventually got stuck outside room as lock was tempramental. Breakfast was lovely. Buffey style breakfast. Again cooked to quantity not quality but was still good. Didnt bother having the included dinner saturday night, decided would rather go out and pay for dinner. This hotel is all about location. Set amongst the mountains and at one end of the Ullswater the view is beautiful. Other than that the hotel was average. Overpriced for quality and service. Would only ever stay again as b&b if couldnt find anywhere else.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_Barker_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel. Very spacious. Brilliant for families with kids young and old, or people without kids at all.

The hotel was recommended by family and they didn't let bus down.

On arrival we were met at the front desk by a very cheerful receptionist who enjoyed a joke with out young son and put us aat ease Immediately.

We were early when we arrived so went for a snack in the bar. The food, even as a snack was fantastic and only set the presidence for what was to come.

The rooms were well turned out, clean and fresh. Plenty of space for everyone. Cleaners came round everyday to remake beds and reset towels etc.

The evening meals were very well cooked and presented. The waiting staff were very polite and helpful, even when we went off menu for our son they were more than happy to help.

The hotel was within walking distance of a few walks that weren't too difficult for us novices and for our son.

All round a great break. Big thanks to The Patterdale.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex_Donna_Ethan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south shields
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We have just got back and had a fabulous time. The staff are wonderful and the breakfast and evening meal were beautiful. We are looking at re booking the same hotel again which is something i don,t usually do as a rule. We thought the rooms were very clean and decor was of a lovely standard. they have a singer on a Thursday evening and usually a Saturday as well

Room Tip: check as some rooms have scenic view and some are not
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geordiedave45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChoiceHotelsltd, General Manager at The Patterdale Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hi Geordie Dave

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks again

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Three night stay over Easter weekend. The staff really stood out - they couldn't have done more for us. Polite, friendly and knowledgeable and an asset to the hotel. Many companies would do well to follow their example.

The hotel was comfortable and the choice of food was hearty - great to come back to after a day of walking.

Will definitely return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CLK09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Spent four nights at the Patterdale, two rooms between four of us, both facing front towards Ullswater with stunning views especially through our window which was large and had a nice window seat. Location is brilliant for Helvellyn and Ullswater. Can't fault this hotel, quite amusing to read some of the negative reviews by people who seem to forget this is a two star hotel. I'd actually give it more than that, here's why: Staff very friendly and efficient, all smiling and courteous. Food was great especially breakfast. Me being a pig I availed myself of breakfast buffet more than once most mornings, well cooked English or you could have cereals and fruit. Packed lunches available to order. Evening meals are three courses which come out very swiftly, when you've been out in the fresh air all day that's exactly what you need - good food served quickly. Bar nice and garden outside even nicer - we were lucky to have two glorious sunny evenings. Beer was in good condition. Rooms cleaned daily. Hot water was hot and showers had good pressure. Quiz night on Tuesday in which we came second. They gave us a free bottle of wine. All in all a fantastic stay. Kids loved it especially the free wifi. I actually liked the slightly dated decor in the hallways, made me feel quite nostalgic! We all felt that we made an excellent choice choosing here. If you're reading this Patterdale please big up your excellent staff! Just one suggestion: we'd have liked to have had breakfast a bit earlier, say seven o'clock so we could get out on the fells earlier. But that said we saw how hard your staff worked so perhaps that's a little too much to ask. Hope to return soon. Rob, Jo, Poppy and Charlotte.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChoiceHotelsltd, General Manager at The Patterdale Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hi Rob, Jo, Poppy and Charlotte

We all think your review is fantastic and we are so pleased you all had a great time. Thank you for spending the time to write the wonderful review. Also Rob, if you ever want to get on those fells early we can do a take away breakfast it won't be a full English but we can arrange something to give you plenty energy.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed two nights recently at "The Patterdale" which made for a very comfortable stay in such a beautiful setting, near to lake Ullswater. The staff here are really lovely and friendly and made every effort to make us feel welcome. There is a fantastic beer garden to the front of the property which is beautiful on a sunny day surrounded by the breathtaking scenery. The hotel itself is somewhat basic, but really has everything you need for a stay up in the lakes - which is always more about being outdoors than in! Everything works, is spotlessly clean and well maintained, if a bit dated in the public areas. I found to be a lower quality than I had expected for a place that is GBP90+/night, but a full english never goes amiss!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marshallh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patterdale
0.8 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
5.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
10.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Patterdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Patterdale Hotel

Property: The Patterdale Hotel
Address: | Ullswater near Penrith, Patterdale CA11 ONN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patterdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Patterdale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patterdale Hotel sits on the main Penrith to Windermere route. Lying at the head of Ullswater, England's most beautiful lake, the village is in a fabulous central position for exploring the Lake District. The hotel is a popular base for both walking and activity holidays as well as more peaceful, relaxing break. Surrounding areas offer some of the world's most scenic walks and trails, and Keswick, Ambleside and Penrith are all within 15 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Hotwire so you can book your The Patterdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Patterdale
Patterdale The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing