We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Patterdale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patterdale
Certificate of Excellence
Pocklington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“And another great stay”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Again another fab stay at the Patterdale Hotel. Service great, staff friendly as always. A team of staff that work so effciently always adds to a great hotel and staff who you could have a good chuckle with. Wad a shame to leave, hopefully see you again soon.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Danny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChoiceHotelsltd, General Manager at The Patterdale Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Hi Danny

Many thanks for your kind words, we really appreciate you taking the time to comment. I have passed your comments on to the staff and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thanks again

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    288
    63
    14
    12
See reviews for
97
578
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We had a five night stay at the end of February and very much enjoyed a lot about this hotel. It's main attraction was the location which enabled us to tick off many more fells from our to do list. The staff are very professional and polite, the hotel was warm and comfortable the food was brilliant and we enjoyed every one of the dishes we were served. The price of our stay represented excellent value with the only disappointment being a room at the back with a view of the kitchen door and car park, it was a bit dark and dingy but perfectly clean, warm and comfortable. I would recommend a stay here, if you get a front facing room the view is spectacular oh and try a cocktail as well they're the bomb!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pepperpig1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We have been coming here for almost 14 years , and have never been disappointed.. Our thanks to Johnathan the manager , the wonderful chefs and their little helpers, the cleaning staff . Should Corus decide to give a staff of the year award then they should look no further than Sue the housekeeper who has worked there for 43 years . the hotel is spotless . Over the years we have made many friends there and hope to keep going for many years to come. But don't tell everyone or we may not get booked in.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeJayDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

superb stay friendly staff and management.food excellent .cant wait to go back.make sure you order a packed lunch they are superb.rooms spotless .nice area .good pub accreoss the road .waitressvery good .would highly reccomend

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john1771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChoiceHotelsltd, Guest Relations Manager at The Patterdale Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear John

Thank you for your kind words, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We took a couples weekend at The Patterdale because it's prices seemed reasonable for the Lakes (we are students), neither of us had ever been to the Lakes but we are keen hikers, and Lake Ullswater has been voted the most beautiful lake in the UK a fair few times, so it felt like a must. The Patterdale website does warn that there is limited parking, but it fails to mention that even during off peak times (such as late February) that the car park is overflowing because it is tiny and it's a bit of a free for all as parking spaces are not marked, not everyone is considerate with their vehicles unfortunately for the rest of us. If you're not as persistent as us (we hovered until someone left) you might find yourself paying £7.50 for less than 24 hours parking privilege in the overflow car park across the road.
The service at the Patterdale is very good though, everyone's very smiley and more than happy to help, they all do their job very well and seem genuinely happy in doing so. The Patterdale is only a 2 star hotel, but we both agree that the staff are 4 star quality.
We paid for a lakeside room, we got room 101 which is an end room, we couldn't see the lake at all but we got a great view of the mountains and all the wildlife (totally worth the extra £10 PN). If you want a quieter nights sleep I would recommend an end room because all we could hear through the night were children running around slamming doors, I can't imagine how loud they would have been had we have gotten a middle room.
The first thing I checked was the cleanliness of the bathroom (you can tell a lot about the staff by the cleanliness of the loos I can assure you!) and I was more than pleased to find it was spotless. Apart from a dusty looking cobweb the room was cleaned very well.
The decor of the entire hotel reminded me a little of my grandmothers carpet, but it felt homely nonetheless.
The breakfast and the pub food were great, it was serve yourself breakfast (apart from hot drinks) but the selection was perfect - all the usually hot and cold favourites. The pub food was served very quickly and was tasty. There was an A la carte restaurant but after a long day hiking in the rain we felt more comfortable with a quick dinner and off to bed. The packed lunches are a must if you're spending the whole day in your boots, really great value for money. We paid £4.95 for a large sandwich, a side salad, a cake and a bottle of water - you can't make it yourself for cheaper, especially considering there aren't really any shops around.
Overall really when you take a trip to the Lakes you're going for the natural beauty of the location, Ullswater Lake truly deserves the title of most beautiful lake in the UK, the Patterdale was a pleasant place to rest while we took a trip to one of the most beautiful places I have ever been.

Room Tip: If you pay for a lakeside view room, make sure it's the top floor otherwise you won't actual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollie and Soph... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChoiceHotelsltd, Guest Relations Manager at The Patterdale Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Hollie & Sophie H

Thank you very much for your extremely nice comments regarding the staff, the cleanliness and the food on your recent stay with us. I do hope you will come and visit us again. If you do come back to the Patterdale Hotel just to ease any concerns re-parking. The pay and display car park opposite is owned by the Hotel and as guests you are welcome to park on there free of charge, you can obtain a complimentary pass from reception. Non residents pay £4.50 for a full days parking. Also, so not to disappoint and avoid any confusion on a future visit. Our restaurant serves a table d’hôte menu and is not an À la carte restaurant however I am pleased you enjoyed the food in the bar.

Thank you once again for you kind words, we are pleased you enjoyed the area and we hope to see you again sometime.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2014

we have been coming to this hotel for nearly 5 years now and it just gets better it is in the heart of all the walks you need and the staff and food are the best around, cant wait for next time thankyou cath and ste williams

Room Tip: upper floor rooms are quieter if you enjoy early nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The Patterdale Hotel is a wonderful Idyllic location for walkers. Great for a relaxing stay and Ramblers alike. All the hotel staff and particularly Ken the chef was very accommodating in preparing Vegan Food. All the meals were good and hearty after a long days walk.

Room Tip: You will definitely need an extension lead only two plug sockets in the bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with redspottedhanky.com

Helpful?
Thank Beverely F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patterdale
0.8 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
10.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Patterdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Patterdale Hotel

Property: The Patterdale Hotel
Address: | Ullswater near Penrith, Patterdale CA11 ONN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patterdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Patterdale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patterdale Hotel sits on the main Penrith to Windermere route. Lying at the head of Ullswater, England's most beautiful lake, the village is in a fabulous central position for exploring the Lake District. The hotel is a popular base for both walking and activity holidays as well as more peaceful, relaxing break. Surrounding areas offer some of the world's most scenic walks and trails, and Keswick, Ambleside and Penrith are all within 15 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Patterdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Patterdale
Patterdale The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing