We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Patterdale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patterdale
Certificate of Excellence
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great hotel”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Been walking in the lakes and stayed at the patterdale hotel, for about the eighth time over the past few years, and I can not fault it, no complaints at all, great food, great staff, and great location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James_MU9438IQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    291
    66
    14
    12
See reviews for
98
584
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We booked this hotel only a few weeks before our stay, so were allocated the last room in the hotel (117), and I'm guessing therefore possibly the worst. The decor was fine and the room was warm, but the view was of the large kitchen extractor fans, and as our windown was open when we arrived, we could smell whatever was coming from them too. The general decor of the hotel is dated and tired, but we had read the reviews before booking so it was pretty much what we expected.

The other problem with the extractor fan was that it rained all night and the gutters (which must need repairing) overflowed and leaked on to the metal, making a continual dripping/clanging noise throughout the night. There was also a singer in the bar, which we didn't want to watch, but could hear until about 11.30pm, even over the TV.

My main complaint however is with the evening meal. I am amazed that more reviewers have not commented on the terrible quality of the food! It's not that it wasn't just up to restaurant standard, it was awful! It really was like bad school dinners. The starter appeared exactly one minute after we had ordered and had quite obviously come from the freezer/microwave. It was lukewarm, the bread around the fish was soggy and it was tasteless. The main meal was also poor, very strange veg and a 'roast' potato that looked like it had been boiled and never seen the inside of an oven. The cheesecake dessert tasted nice but had no biscuit base and the top was hard where it was very obviously not fresh. The nicest part of the meal was the bread roll and butter at the start. I am quite easily pleased when it comes to food but I actually felt a bit insulted being served this dinner, I can't believe anyone would think it's ok to serve food like this to paying guests, and am amazed at so many positive comments from other reviewers!

On the positive side, breakfast was better, there was plenty of choice and the quality was much improved on dinner. The staff were friendly, and the location is excellent.

Needless to say I definately wouldn't stay here again. I could manage the dated decor and the slightly shabby feel to the place, and possibly even the terrible view, but the noise and the awful dinner were certainly bad enough to warrant the 2 star rating.

Room Tip: Don't go for room 117!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and i have been stopping at this Hotel for a number of years.We found it one year on the way back from Scotland when we decided to break the journey and stop in the Lakes for a weekend.
The Hotel is comfortable and warm with more than adequate facilities.All our visits have been so we could walk the fabulous mountains surrounding Patterdale and Glenridding.We have never been disappointed at all with the service the Hotel has offered.The food is of excellent standard with a self service breakfast that would fill the biggest appetite and a delicious evening meal with plenty of choice.Even the pack lunches are all homemade, no pre-packed rubbish.
The White lion just around the corner of the Hotel is a nice pub to visit of an evening or for a quick pint after a long days walking( foods good there too!).
I have never thought of doing a review of the Hotel because, i was, i suppose, being selfish.I didnt want the place full so i could'nt enjoy it myself.But i have just read some negative reviews,'Whats that about'.Obviuosly you cant please some folk.For the authors of those reviews why dont you try the Glenridding Hotel down the road.Its very nice and very pricey.
We have tried the sister Hotel at Keswick,which is different obviuosly,but we prefer the Patterdale as it offers a more relax atmosphere.
The staff at the Hotel are amazing, they just cant do enough.
This is not the Ritz and never will be, i hope.It is however good honest hospitality with no horrible suprises.They also do some great offers if you keep an eye out.
We shall return many more time .

Room Tip: The family rooms are particularly large. When booking checkout for some of the deals on the Choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Overall we thought this place was good for what it is, a chain hotel in the lake district servicing a lot of guests.

Our room had a great view, but no doubt that it was a little tired with mould coming through the wallpaper. It was quite clean though, and had everything we needed.

We just wanted a few days to chill out. Somewhere we could start walking straight from the door, where we could get a nice meal and just relax in the bar. The Patterdale Hotel met all our requirements.

The staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and they always had a smile. Have to say that quite a few times we witnessed guests behaving very poorly and the staff handled it really well.

The food was good considering the voume of people being served, and there was a good choice offered on the menu. A few people have commented on the rush to get you through the dining room, but we were always asked if we wanted a break between courses. The dining room is busy, but tables are cleared down for the next guests at record breaking speed!

We enjoyed a relaxing break, and are definitely going to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shifu69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Funny some people have said the same things and given 3 or 4 stars. And yet, the room was poor and clearly in need of urgent redecoration, before I mention the curly hair by the bath top. And so to the evening meal. Set time. Choice of what they decide - unless you pay even more - rushed in front of you and taken from you faster than anything I've seen in the highest turnover restaurants in Chinatown. Coffee is in the lounge, bar - the only place in the hotel where wifi works. Oh dear, though, it's already full of pensioners drinking their coffee. Nowhere to sit. And this was the most expensive place I stayed on the C2C walk, so I am a bit non-plussed by those reviewers saying it was good value. Wouldn't ever stay here again, BUT just for the record the staff were all friendly and clearly doing their best. The 'fast food' is obviously official policy - presumably to ensure the staff get less hours - but makes for a terrible customer experience. I nearly gave it a 2nd star just for the staff, but actually they deserve better. Presume this is a corporately-owned hotel, at least I kind of hope so. Hope you go bust and the hotel is sold to a proper hotelier. Great location and it deserves better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed here with a fellow fell walker . All the staff were welcoming smiling and very helpful . The food was excellent with a three course meal for dinner and a buffet style breakfast in the morning . All the food was well prepared and tasty. The room was very spacious with a bath/shower . Great views of the fells and in the right location for the hills and Lake Ullswater. The hotel was full but this did not stop the service being of a continued high standard . Always stayed in B & B's - but this was a better alternative , would go back again .

Room Tip: Always make contact by phone .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

For over 30 years I have stayed in bed and breakfast accommodation in the Lake District, ranging from good to middling to poor (when I usually write my signature in the dust on tops of wardrobes). For a change I was persuaded to stay in the Patterdale Hotel. To say I was pleasantly surprised would be an understatement.
I stayed here in October 2013 with a friend, another Lakeland walker. We found the staff welcoming and friendly, and the room clean and first class. Best of all though was the restaurant, with excellent three-course dinners and breakfasts, waited on by smiling, attentive staff. Even a coachload descending on the restaurant at the same time didn't affect the prompt service.
The hotel is conveniently situated for the fells; we merely had to walk out of the door of a morning, without having to use the car. I can't fault the Patterdale Hotel. That's where we will be staying when we are in this area in future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulus30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patterdale
0.8 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,624 reviews
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
378 reviews
10.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Patterdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Patterdale Hotel

Property: The Patterdale Hotel
Address: | Ullswater near Penrith, Patterdale CA11 ONN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patterdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Patterdale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patterdale Hotel sits on the main Penrith to Windermere route. Lying at the head of Ullswater, England's most beautiful lake, the village is in a fabulous central position for exploring the Lake District. The hotel is a popular base for both walking and activity holidays as well as more peaceful, relaxing break. Surrounding areas offer some of the world's most scenic walks and trails, and Keswick, Ambleside and Penrith are all within 15 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Patterdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Patterdale
Patterdale The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing