We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff so customer focused, excellent value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Patterdale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patterdale
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Staff so customer focused, excellent value for money!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

In brief

**Exceptionally customer focused staff
**Excellent food and menu choices
**Very comfortable accommodation
**Perfect location
**Extremely good value for money

Very late arrival (10.45pm), greeted by supremely welcoming staff, swift and speedy check in and had thoughtfully arranged a cold platter; WOW.
Lovely room with comfy beds and fresh crisp linen, large bathroom with very effective shower and copious amounts of hot, hot water.
Fantastic views from the bedroom (No. 4)
Dinner menus were really imaginative and varied, offering interesting choices; produce and ingredients of a very high quality and really well prepared. We tried lots of different mains and starters and vegetarian options too, all were superb! Restaurant staff are really well trained and knowledgeable.

Nothing too much trouble. Teamwork of this standard is rare, I don't really want to pick out individuals but Staci, Peter and Jonathan (GM) are exceptional. Special mention for the back room staff too, bars, chefs, housekeeping, maintenance, front of house etc., well done and our thanks to all of you, I hope your management team recognise your worth!!!!

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole-Coventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    286
    62
    14
    11
See reviews for
97
568
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel previously with my partner but returned for a short break with my daughter and grandchildren. This hotel has the most friendly, pleasant staff I have yet to meet. The informal, comfortable feeling to the hotel, the really good food and the excellent value for money make it a definite 'return again' for walking breaks in the Lake District. Management deserve to be commended in training staff and promoting such a positive experience for guests.

Room Tip: I chose a Lakeland room which had beautiful views over Place Fell and only cost an extra £5 per nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayloverDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Nederland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a big hotel with friendly staff. Nice bar and great terrace on greenfield. Good valse for money, this diner and breakfast arrangement. I think we were THE youngest persons staying, but it was amusing to watch THE older couples enjoing their meals. Nice room, good bed, very welkome after hard days of hiking

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talloze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is very well located and the staff are friendly and helpful. We were given a large room as there were three of us staying there.

It was clean and comfortable. The only downsides were that our room was right next to a main corridor so in the morning the door outside our room made a lot of noise as guests and staff made their way through. And also, the room was a little chilly in the evening.

The rooms do lack a bit of character but good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Always a warm and heartfelt welcome received at this Hotel. The location is perfect, with wonderful walks right outside the door. Park the car and no need to use it again till you have to leave. I recommend paying the extra to have a Lakeland view, well worth it for the wonderful view down the valley. The Breakfast is good and plentiful, and the dinner has a menu that gives everyone a good choice. The hotel keeps on getting better, the management constantly improve on all fronts from the food to the decoration. To sit on the front lawn in the afternoon after a walk, long or short is heaven. Thanks to all the staff and management who make this place so special. Go try, I'm sure you'll love it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manchesterLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Once again it delivered exactly what it said on the tin. Food; ample, delicious and perfectly timed for a holiday in the Lakes. If you were picky you could say the décor was a little tired in places but that gave it the added ambiance of a Victorian retreat. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful.
Location made you want to write a sonnet about daffodils.
Will be back next year for my 61st birthday

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charpimanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed at the Patterdale hotel with a group of friends on a walking weekend. Friendly check in. Reception staff always very helpful. Nice room, clean, comfortable and looked as if it had recently been renovated. Some public areas (main lounge, hallways and landings mainly) decor a little tired but looks as if new decorations are ongoing. Paid extra for a front room with a super view. Bar staff and restaurant staff all well organised, friendly and efficient service. Food fantastic, good varied choice, well cooked and presented. Best packed lunches ever in a hotel, excellent value. Hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeDeeHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patterdale
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,586 reviews
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
344 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
10.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Patterdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Patterdale Hotel

Property: The Patterdale Hotel
Address: | Ullswater near Penrith, Patterdale CA11 ONN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patterdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Patterdale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patterdale Hotel sits on the main Penrith to Windermere route. Lying at the head of Ullswater, England's most beautiful lake, the village is in a fabulous central position for exploring the Lake District. The hotel is a popular base for both walking and activity holidays as well as more peaceful, relaxing break. Surrounding areas offer some of the world's most scenic walks and trails, and Keswick, Ambleside and Penrith are all within 15 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Patterdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Patterdale
Patterdale The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing