We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday may 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Patterdale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patterdale
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Holiday may 2013”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed at the patterdale hotel last week from the time we checked in until we checked out a week later every thing was perfect, the staff were great,food superb,hotel spotless,great value for money,we will be back soon.

Room Tip: Have one with Lakeland view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    298
    70
    15
    14
See reviews for
100
600
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

this was the second time my wife and i have spent at the patterdale and we were not dissappointed. The food was the same good quality and staff were great nothing was any trouble, the entertainment on thursday 9th may was a young lady singer whom had a lovely voice.. Look forward to staying again ... John from Stanley

Room Tip: choose a lakeland room it's worth it for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolly098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

just returned from another great weekend at The Patterdale, again it was perfect . Food again superb, staff great but I would also like to give a special mention to the team that keep the place clean and tidy they work really hard and the place is spotless a boutique hotel it is not but it is certainly 5* in cleanliness.

Room Tip: some prefer front rooms but to be honest for the price they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dollywagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upholland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed at the Patterdale hotel and it gets better everytime. The staff were brilliant and the food fantastic. The entertainment on Saturday the 4th May was brilliant. Plenty of challenging walks to do are close by. A very friendly hotel with great value for money.

Sheila from Upholland

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilaUpholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just returned from our weekend at the Patterdale, this is the 5th time we have been and we are going again in september. we always stay in a lakeland room these over look the front of the hotel with fantastic view of the country side. it speaks volumes for the hotel when we want to keep going back, the food is outstanding with breakfast self service and evening meal a first class choice of starter main meal and sweet. It has a nice bar with pleasant staff. The hotel is in easy reach of surounding nice places to visit.

Room Tip: Always ask for a lakeland room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianthornension
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Another excellent stay. Several new staff - all very pleasant ...and helpful.
Some rooms are ready for redecorating.
No swimming pool or fitness centre!
Excellent breakfasts and plenty of choice for evening meal. Generally meat is locally sourced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjsmhs14phc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had been at the nearby YHA for our annual hill walk and lunch had been booked for us all at the Patterdale Hotel.
We were all delighted with the quality of service, food both quality and quantity, the ambience everything.
Thank you everyone. I'm delighted to say that about 30 of us, as a group, have been booked to stay for another get-together next year

Room Tip: We only had Sunday lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaserMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patterdale
0.8 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
5.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
10.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
9.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Patterdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Patterdale Hotel

Property: The Patterdale Hotel
Address: | Ullswater near Penrith, Patterdale CA11 ONN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patterdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Patterdale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patterdale Hotel sits on the main Penrith to Windermere route. Lying at the head of Ullswater, England's most beautiful lake, the village is in a fabulous central position for exploring the Lake District. The hotel is a popular base for both walking and activity holidays as well as more peaceful, relaxing break. Surrounding areas offer some of the world's most scenic walks and trails, and Keswick, Ambleside and Penrith are all within 15 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Patterdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Patterdale
Patterdale The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing