We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dining room seating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Patterdale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patterdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

disturbed to see table reserved, and empty for some time, both mornings and evenings for one customer . What was so special about this man ? but very good food and service as usual , although one member of staff told us a load of rubbish about why we had cold water in our bath he did finally gve us another room

Room Tip: aviod 230 no hot water in bath despite staff man saying it is
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,009)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

598 - 604 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just back from our 9th time at Patterdale Hotel.
Reception always ready to help.
As usual our bedroom was clean and comfortable and quiet.
The dining room was always clean and the service was very good. A good buffet breakfast was always presented well. There is always a good choice for evening meal; four or five first and main courses to choose from followed by a choice of four deserts or cheese and biscuits. Coffee was served in the two lounges.
We stayed for five nights, Sunday to Friday. There was a quiz on Tuesday night and entertainment on Thursday night.
Overall The Patterdale is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margc749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed for 1 night to prolong our planned stay in the lake district in March. For the money paid it was excellent value. Room and bathroom were very clean and had usual TV, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities and toiletries, although room was fairly basic but bed was comfortable. Meal was fine for what we paid and it was nice to see the hotel lounges being used by so many guests. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Good location for walking and wouldn't hesitate to return for another short stay. Hotel was full and from other reviews, it is obviously very popular with many returning guests.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

A 5 night break in the lakes at a great price in a good hotel.Food and service were very good.We stayed from 17th to 22nd March 2013 and had just one problem - the ground floor rooms are noisy(we had room 4) if the people in the room above are heavy footed ( I think we had the cast of Riverdance! ). Other than that the staff were all polite efficient and corteous.
We'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Went for a weekend with the girlfriend . Great location for walking. Rooms clean and today . Food was ok, but very rushed service . Had to hang on to my plate at points !!. To this the meal service was not what I expect in the Lake District , I want to relax when I'm here walking (I go lakes 9 times a year). Overall good value for money. Would I stay again ? Yes at a push as great location to climb the fells

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank waggy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed at the Patterdale Hotel from 10th March to 15 March 2013. This is an ideal sort of hotel to stay when on a walking holiday in the Lake District. It doesn't cater for those who are looking for luxury but is ideal for those who enjoy the walks in the area. The rooms are clean all with on suite facilities, TV, tea making, hairdryer and plenty of storage for clothes. The restaurant can not be faulted and is way above its hotel 2 star rating. Full buffet style English breakfast along with side orders (kippers, poached eggs etc.). As for the evening 3 course meal this is very good with a choice of starters, main and deserts (enjoyed every meal during our stay). We were a group of 16 walkers - served together on one long table and the service was very good. This is our fourth visit to The Patterdale and won't be the last.

Room Tip: The best rooms (view wise)are known as lakeland rooms as they look towards Ullswater (£2.00 per pers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerickE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Had a two night weekend break at the Patterdale Hotel. This Hotel offers excellent value for the price you pay for B&B and 3 course evening meal. Rooms are pleasant clean and comfortable. We had a front facing room, not a brilliant view as we were situated at the end of the block near the side car park, and apart from the frontal view the rooms are the same as the cheaper rooms.
The restaurant staff are brilliant, nothing is too much trouble, service was just right (in our opinion).
The food was very good, with ample variation and choice, and the restaurant is very pleasant.
The only thing I could suggest to improve this hotel would be to have marked car park spaces as the hotel was full the days we stayed. We had a drive out one of the days and also one of the evenings, and due to cars being parked with far too much space taken between, we struggled to find a parking space. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anonytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patterdale
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,752 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Glenridding Hotel
The Glenridding Hotel
#2 of 2 in Glenridding
450 reviews
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
6.3 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,627 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Patterdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Patterdale Hotel

Address: | Ullswater near Penrith, Patterdale CA11 ONN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patterdale
Price Range: $94 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Patterdale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patterdale Hotel sits on the main Penrith to Windermere route. Lying at the head of Ullswater, England's most beautiful lake, the village is in a fabulous central position for exploring the Lake District. The hotel is a popular base for both walking and activity holidays as well as more peaceful, relaxing break. Surrounding areas offer some of the world's most scenic walks and trails, and Keswick, Ambleside and Penrith are all within 15 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Patterdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Patterdale
Patterdale The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing