We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“patterdale weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Patterdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Patterdale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patterdale
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“patterdale weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

have stayed at this hotel on several occasions as usual the service, room and everything about the hotel was excellent I shall be visiting this hotel and probably the hotel in keswik in the near future..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graham d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    282
    62
    15
    12
See reviews for
98
561
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We visited the public bar for a drink while staying in Patterdale doing the coast to coast and the atmosphere was none existent and the prices were also sky high, we returned after one drink to where we were staying to finish off the night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I really think other hotels need to set their standards against this.The value is unbelievable! It's the 3rd time we have been here and looking forward to going again.
The rooms are basic but comfortable. It is the food in the restaurant and the friendliness of the staff that set it apart from other hotels. The menus in the evening are incredible, choice and quality excellent. All the staff go out of their way to make our stay as relaxing as possible.
There has been some necessary redecoration going on over the last couple of years which has spruced up most of the hotel, just needs corridors and stairwells to finish it off

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Weekend away from 25th January 2013 for 3 nights. Second visit to this lovely hotel, upgraded this time to a Lakeland room, although rooms are basic they are better than the rated 2 star grading. Meals are fantastic with a wide choice of food. The staff make this hotel a friendly & homely experience & cannot do enough for you. Will definitley return again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a lakeland for views from the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have just returned from a five night break at this excellent ,which got on a special offer being members of being members of the choice reward scheme.I dont know of any other hotel in the lake district that can match this hotel for a wonderful relaxing stay or and Ideal base for the serious walkers.
Food was wonderful and staff so helful hard working and polite nothing is too much trouble.

We had booked a double room but then on arrival decided we would prefer a twin room the
young lady Sophie on reception changed us over with no problem.

Our son and his wife and two grandchildren joined us which was a lovely chance to enjoy walking together relaxing together, and because we were snowed in on the wednesday gave us chance for a day to play in the snow all together which we wouldn't have done at home.

There was a quiz on the wednesday ( which we came second and won a bottle of wine )

The food was good with lots of choices each evening and generous portion sizes too. The chil;dren could either choose from the adult menu or have something from the childrens menu

Room Tip: worth upgrading to a lakeview room but the patterdale rooms are done to a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolandRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel is by far the best value in the lake district.
Superb location,excellent food and friendly staff make this a perfect getaway for couples and families. I have been to this hotel on numerous occasions with my family and Jonathon the hotel manager always makes us feel welcome and goes out of his way to make your stay just perfect.
Well done to everyone at the hotel..... Thanks Stewart and Joanne

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I've stayed here several times and always received a warm welcome. The Ritz it isn't but it offers good value, no frills accommodation and plentiful food. This time we dined in the evening twice and the menu changes daily with several choices. A walkers hotel with a good pub opposite too and a nice stroll to Glenridding if you want a different drinking venue. Will be back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the5minuteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patterdale
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glenridding Hotel
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
5.7 mi away
Another Place, The Lake
Another Place, The Lake
#1 of 2 in Watermillock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Patterdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Patterdale Hotel

Property: The Patterdale Hotel
Address: | Ullswater near Penrith, Patterdale CA11 ONN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patterdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Patterdale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patterdale Hotel sits on the main Penrith to Windermere route. Lying at the head of Ullswater, England's most beautiful lake, the village is in a fabulous central position for exploring the Lake District. The hotel is a popular base for both walking and activity holidays as well as more peaceful, relaxing break. Surrounding areas offer some of the world's most scenic walks and trails, and Keswick, Ambleside and Penrith are all within 15 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Patterdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Patterdale
Patterdale The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing