We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Patterdale Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$183
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn on the Lake(Glenridding)
$202
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$181
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$106
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
$128
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Oak Bank Hotel(Grasmere)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grasmere Hotel(Grasmere)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,026)
Filter reviews
1,026 results
Traveler rating
605
317
73
16
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
605
317
73
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschoice hotelshalf boardevening meallake districtlakeland viewkirkstone passwalking grouppooley bridgebuffet breakfastwhite lionpacked lunchullswater steamergreat weekendrestaurant staffwalking holidaykippersfriendly hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
680 - 685 of 1,026 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I have been visiting the Patterdale Hotel for many years and have just returned from my 4th visit this year! Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the food is excellent. Lovely setting and a good number of walks available from the hotel so no need to move your car.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel clearly ticks all the boxes for quite a few guests and there appear to be many repeat visitors. We stayed for two nights dinner bed and breakfast and found it excellent value for money. The hotel is in a great location with walks for all abilities in the vicinity. The staff are friendly and hard working so the service is excellent. The food as well, while not exceptional, is of a perfectly acceptable standard. We did find that although the furnishings in our room had been updated, the bathroom had not. It looked as though it needed it although it was functional enough. Also, the chairs and settees in the coffee lounge were getting a bit past it and in need of renewal. Finally, surely the end of October is far too early to have the Christmas decorations up.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We booked a 3 night DBB package & would definitely recommend this as a place to stay. The food really was excellent & far exceeded our expectations. Accommodation is good, we had a lake view room on the 1st floor. Friendly helpful staff who are more than happy to share their thoughts on walks, places to visit etc. Our only grumble is the disorganised parking, painted bays may help as some drivers take too much space. That aside we had a lovely time and will be returning on our next visit to the lakes.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jumick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 night DBB stay, this was our second visit and just as enjoyable. Excellent setting and some of the best walking right on the doorstep. The staff are first class with a professional and very friendly approach. The breakfast is on a self service basis which caters for all tastes, the evening menu has around 5 choices with a vegetarian option, i had turkey and stuffing with roast potatoes and cranberry, wonderful. The corridors and carpets are maybe a little bit dated but this somehow adds to the atmosphere. Our room was spotlessly clean with a lovely view over the valley. Many guests return on a regular basis which speaks for itself. We wished we could have stayed longer and will certainly be back. Its as a hotel should be, great setting, great food, great staff. great value.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front, great views
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Patterdale Hotel is set in a superb location, offset from the banks of Ullswater..This spacious
Hotel offers the very best in hospitality,quality food,Excellent service.Making a totally enjoyable experience in the Lake district at affordable prices.Will look forward to our return visits.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews