We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Patterdale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patterdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel clearly ticks all the boxes for quite a few guests and there appear to be many repeat visitors. We stayed for two nights dinner bed and breakfast and found it excellent value for money. The hotel is in a great location with walks for all abilities in the vicinity. The staff are friendly and hard working so the service is excellent. The food as well, while not exceptional, is of a perfectly acceptable standard. We did find that although the furnishings in our room had been updated, the bathroom had not. It looked as though it needed it although it was functional enough. Also, the chairs and settees in the coffee lounge were getting a bit past it and in need of renewal. Finally, surely the end of October is far too early to have the Christmas decorations up.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

654 - 660 of 998 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We booked a 3 night DBB package & would definitely recommend this as a place to stay. The food really was excellent & far exceeded our expectations. Accommodation is good, we had a lake view room on the 1st floor. Friendly helpful staff who are more than happy to share their thoughts on walks, places to visit etc. Our only grumble is the disorganised parking, painted bays may help as some drivers take too much space. That aside we had a lovely time and will be returning on our next visit to the lakes.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jumick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 night DBB stay, this was our second visit and just as enjoyable. Excellent setting and some of the best walking right on the doorstep. The staff are first class with a professional and very friendly approach. The breakfast is on a self service basis which caters for all tastes, the evening menu has around 5 choices with a vegetarian option, i had turkey and stuffing with roast potatoes and cranberry, wonderful. The corridors and carpets are maybe a little bit dated but this somehow adds to the atmosphere. Our room was spotlessly clean with a lovely view over the valley. Many guests return on a regular basis which speaks for itself. We wished we could have stayed longer and will certainly be back. Its as a hotel should be, great setting, great food, great staff. great value.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front, great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Patterdale Hotel is set in a superb location, offset from the banks of Ullswater..This spacious
Hotel offers the very best in hospitality,quality food,Excellent service.Making a totally enjoyable experience in the Lake district at affordable prices.Will look forward to our return visits.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just returned from a one-night DB & B getaway, very impressed with the pleasantness of the experience in every respect, and with the sheer value-for-money.

Stays of 2+ consecutive nights and on DB&B terms are very much encouraged. Expected not a lot of the dinner included, but this proved to be excellent, and served by a clearly enthusiastic and hardworking team of staff.

Such a big hotel in a tiny Lakeland village is a bit incongruous, but the location is surrounded by incomparable mountain scenery. Our room (no.1, on ground floor) was of compact size, but most pleasantly equipped.

Main dining room is spacious; the views magnificent.

Very minor niggles - much room for improvement with the taste of breakfast coffee plus choice of cold, 'continental' breakfast items lmited, by lack of cheeses or cold meats or pots of fruit yoghurt (plenty plain, though)

Very well-done, that hotel !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just back from staying at this excellent hotel with very comfortable clean warm rooms.The friendly staff are very obliging and the food is first class. Of course the scenery is superb also. Although the hotel is favoured by walkers of all ages families are also welcomed. Not to be missed by lovers of the countryside and deliciously served food.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights from October 8th and come here regularly. For value for money and beautiful scenery this hotel is unrivalled. The staff are always friendly and hard working and always the same faces which proves they are a happy bunch and the management have got things right. The average age of people staying here is around 60, but a fit 60 as most of the clients can be found clambering up the multitude of hills surrounding this hotel during the day. Don't come here if you want a rave, but if you like walking and beautiful scenery and nearby (within 15 miles) are the interesting towns of Ambleside , Grasmere or Penrith then this may be the place for you.

Room Tip: For £10 extra per person per stay opt for Lakeland view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetNewsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patterdale
0.9 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,725 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,220 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
10.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Patterdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Patterdale Hotel

Address: | Ullswater near Penrith, Patterdale CA11 ONN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Patterdale
Price Range: $92 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Patterdale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patterdale Hotel sits on the main Penrith to Windermere route. Lying at the head of Ullswater, England's most beautiful lake, the village is in a fabulous central position for exploring the Lake District. The hotel is a popular base for both walking and activity holidays as well as more peaceful, relaxing break. Surrounding areas offer some of the world's most scenic walks and trails, and Keswick, Ambleside and Penrith are all within 15 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Patterdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Patterdale
Patterdale The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing