We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very snowy, windy walk” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Place Fell

Place Fell
Attraction details
north east
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very snowy, windy walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Although we were there on what turned out to be a very snowy weekend we got there before it was too bad & decided to go up Place Fell anyway. The sun was shining & the snow on the peaks just added to the beauty.It was a lovely walk, although I would not like to have done when conditions were any worse. The walk along the lakeside on the return was very picturesque.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank love2travelNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“worth the climb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The weather was not the best, but we braved it anyway, and when we reached the high point it was all worth the effort, the clouds cleared and the sun shone through. Want to do it from Howtown next time we're there in April.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good hillwalk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

A relatively easy hill, easily accessible from Patterdale and giving good views of nearby mountains. A return walk along Ullswater from Sandwick is a good idea.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Memorable walk with friends and stunning views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We set off from Hause Hall Farm in the snow thinking that a short walk to execise our families was in order. After half an hour teh snow stopped as we started the climb up the side of High Dodd out of Boredale. The weather improved all of the way up until passing High Dodd we saw a group of Red Deer as we ascended the last part to the top of Place Fell. We finished off dropping down to Boredale Hause, which is the pass between Boredale and Patterdale, before returning to Hause Hall Farm along the Boredale and then Martindale valleys with great views all of the way.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hardytraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a good little walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

A great day out, not too challenging with superb views over Ullswater from the top must be done and excellent for an easier walking day. You can also continue the round by taking in Beda Fell another classic Wainwright top.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tobycutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Place Fell also viewed

Penrith, Eden District
Glenridding, Lake District
 
Lake District, Cumbria
Patterdale, Lake District
 

Been to Place Fell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing