We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old Cottage B&B with Perfect Hosts”
Review of Crookey Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Patterdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crookey Cottage
Ranked #7 of 12 Patterdale B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Spent only one night last month at Crookey Cottage whilst doing the Coast to Coast. Unique quirky very old cottage dating back to 1700 but en-suite bedroom was well modernised and comfortable. Without a doubt Eddie & Hazel are the perfect hosts - very welcoming and friendly - lovely couple! They made us a three course evening meal which was scrummy with complimentary wine which was very generous. Breakfast was equally scrummy with locally sourced produce and home-made preserves and fresh fruit and the packed lunch was most welcome after having negotiated the highest point on the walk! Have already recommended Crookey Cottage to friends and will definitely stay there again when next in Patterdale!

Room Tip: Best hosts ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 54 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

Lovely little cottage with very comfortable rooms. Great breakfast . Loved the fresh fruit and the packed lunch helped us over the hardest section of the C2C. Eddie took our luggage down the track which helped a lot. Thank you for that !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NorthDevonMaryH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A lovely old cottage dating from 1700 with some original furniture still in place but well modernised and comfortable. The star attraction here, though, is the young couple running the place – Eddie and Hazel. They couldn’t have been more helpful, friendly, welcoming, generous and accommodating. Eddie made us a pot of tea when we arrived and changed our pillows and duvet when we got back from our evening meal as my wife is allergic to feather and down. Breakfast was served to the welcome sound of a John Renbourn CD and I was amazed to see Eddie’s extensive vinyl collection – British folk and New Orleans jazz afficionados in particular are in for a treat with plenty more besides – feel free to play anything that takes your fancy. Fresh fruit with breakfast (berries and strawberries) was a nice touch and the packed lunches provided were very generous and very good – more than we needed to get up Helvellyn and back

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wgc131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were looked after so well by Eddie as Hazel was away. It is a beautiful old cottage. Eddie was so welcoming. The rooms are lovely and comfortable. The breakfast fantastic with lots of fresh fruit. You feel like you have stepped back in time but in a warm way. Eddie also has an interesting and comprehensive vinyl and music collection. I would go back to stay for a weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarolineWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in Crookey Cottage. The warm welcome of Hazel and Eddie, the nice breakfast, the good room with all the comfort and splendid view made our holiday unforgettable.
A place to return. Crookey Cottage is a perfect place to start mountain and lake walks close to the coast to coast path.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucien V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hazel and Eddie made us very welcome at Crookey Cottage. This was great choice for a B&B on the Coast to Coast. Our ensuite room was very comfortable and we loved the breakfast the next morning. We also enjoyed the old cottage which takes you back in time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B0yreiver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have just returned from 3 days of glorious February sunshine in the Lakes. Crookey Cottage was the perfect starting point for long dramatic walks and a lovely place to return to in the evening. Hazel and Eddie are working hard to give their B&B a touch of something different and individual, the cottage is welcoming and very comfortable but has something more: a very relaxed atmosphere and a friendliness that comes from the couple. You leave feeling that you have been very well cared for and have made new friends.

Room Tip: both rooms are lovely but only one has an en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rosrobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Patterdale hotels
0.4 mi away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
998 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Water View
Old Water View
#4 of 12 in Patterdale
252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crookabeck Bed & Breakfast
Crookabeck Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 12 in Patterdale
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Brotherswater Inn
Brotherswater Inn
#1 of 12 in Patterdale
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
YHA Patterdale
YHA Patterdale
#1 of 3 in Patterdale
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crookey Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crookey Cottage

Address: 1, Crookabeck, Patterdale CA11 0NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Patterdale
Price Range: $53 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil 17th-century farmhouse with private gardens, set on family run farm in Patterdale. Double en-suite room with artisan oak furnishings and power shower. Guest lounge with woodburning stove and views over fells. Aromatherapy massage available in dedicated treatment room. Locally sourced breakfast with eggs from the farm hens. Ideally placed for Ullswater attractions and ascents of Helvellyn and Place Fell. Ideal for coast to coast walkers, and romantic breaks. Parking at doorstep. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing