We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crookabeck Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 12 Patterdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just returned from a short-break in the Lakes made all the more perfect by our stay at Crookabeck B&B. The location, accommodation and Adam and Charlene all combine to make your stay absolutely wonderful. This is more than a B&B. Your own private accommodation makes such a difference, allowing you to chill and relax. The rural surroundings were superb and what an excellent start to the day, quickly followed by a tremendous breakfast - made to order. The walk to the shop and local pubs is just a short distance, although take a torch if venturing out in the dark. Definitely intend to go back and would recommend this without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 100 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

This place was perfect - we arrived very tired having walked over from Thirlmere. I loved the fact you were well off any tarred roads to get there (just remember your head torch at night as it's very dark getting back from the pub!). Adam and Charlene were very welcoming and have clearly put a lot of effort into making this a very comfortable place. And yes what a treat to have so much space - just wished we had a bit more time to lounge!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Our stay at Crookabeck B&B was supper. Charlene & Adam are very friendly and helpful. This B&B is far more than a B&B. It's a Cottage with breakfast service. A separate spacious bedroom, nice badroom and avery cosy living with kitchen corner make that this B&B feels like home. The view out of the windows is great. This is a great place to stay. When you find such great accommodation as this, one like to keep it a secret. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willy040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I'm almost reluctant to review this B and B - it's so good I'd like to keep it a secret! However, Charlene and Adam deserve credit for this delightful haven. For me, the very best thing about it was the extra room. It was so lovely to have our own sitting room to relax in after a day's walking, rather than being cramped in a standard B and B room.
The location is ideal, allowing us to go on walks straight from the door. It was very peaceful. The view out onto the fields and woods was lovely.
Breakfasts were delicious. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. The decor was attractive and modern. Everything was spotless.
This is definitely the best B and B experience I have ever had.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonniebraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Beautifully laid out "mini cottage" with bedroom, bathroom and living room all to yourself. Extremely welcoming - even took walking boots to put by their aga - and lovely breakfast the next morning. Would be a lovely place to stay for several days if in the area for longer.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank SarahH182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I think the best way to describe Crookabeck would be to call it a 5 star apartment rental where they happen to bring you a wonderful breakfast every morning. You will be the only guests because there is only accomodation for 1 set of travellers. You get a wonderful bedroom with superb beds. It even caters for families with an additional single bed and in our case an additional mattress on the floor! Adam and Charlene who live right next door are very welcoming and ready to cater for your every need. The surroundings are breathtaking and although it's a cliche there truly is fantastic walking right from your door. We collected 16 wainwright summits in 1 week-end! It is also ideally situated for coast to coast walkers though I cannot imagine being happy to leave here after 1 night. One of the best features is that you have your own lounge and dining area with full HD television. They also provide tea/ coffee as you would expect but also with a wonderful array of biscuits replenished each day. All in all the best b&b I've stayed in. Stay here: you won't regret it: but you might want to keep it quiet otherwise you might struggle to make a booking in future! Yes it really is that good!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank langmeadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Firstly I should point out (as many have already) that this is not your typical B&B. It is better described as a very quaint, perfectly positioned, retreat that manages to capture all of the old used farm feel without loosing any of the comfort and luxury you want when away from home. it is tucked away at the end of an old farm track surrounded by woodland, fields and nature walks in a small picturesque village.

We stayed here as a couple last September (2011) and were immediately surprised (in a good way) at the accommodation we had stumbled onto. The owners were immediately available to welcome us, show us arround and inform us on were to go for food and a drink. The converted barn like building consisted of a large living/kitchen area, shower room and large bedroom with a large queen/king size bed, which is hands down the most comfortable bed I (and my girlfriend) have ever slept in and a single also. The quality of the furnishings and bedding is incredibly high as is the overall finish and attention to detail of the property in general.

Although the property is attached to the main farm house occupied by the owners, the guest accommodation feels completely separate with a separate entrance allowing for a very relaxed stay. Breakfast is set up in the dinning/kitchen area inside the guest accommodation. the options are plentiful and if like myself you enjoy a big fried breakfast you will not be disappointed as it is delicious and you don't even need to get ready as you will always be the only guests.

The immediate surrounding area of Patterdale consists of nature walks and not much else but a number of attractions and small villages can be found around the the Ulswater for things to do in the day. At night the only two places that are accessible within reasonable walking distance are the small hotel and a pub called the White Lion Inn. We decided on the Inn (about ten minutes walk). This gets quite busy between 7 and 9 but has an amazing atmosphere and a few nice little romantic snugs to have a drink and food, which is very nice here. I would advise bringing a torch if you go in winter and plan on going to the Inn or hotel at night as it gets very dark and you have to cross bridges over little streams and old farm tracks. We were lucky enough to be supplied one by Adam and Charlene which was nice.

Overall all I cant say enough for the place and the Hosts. Everything about the place is welcoming yet not over imposing with fantastic accommodation, food and hospitality in a wonderful little gem in the lakes. Very Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luthor-corporation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patterdale
0.4 mi away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
1,007 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,731 reviews
10.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Brotherswater Inn
Brotherswater Inn
#1 of 12 in Patterdale
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Water View
Old Water View
#4 of 12 in Patterdale
252 reviews
7.1 mi away
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
#1 of 7 in Pooley Bridge
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crookabeck Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crookabeck Bed & Breakfast

Address: Crookabeck, Patterdale CA11 0NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Patterdale
Price Range: $112 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious farm bed and breakfast that is located in the heart of the Lake district in Patterdale. This is a newly refurbished building that is very unique in character. Enjoy stunning views from your bedroom and private living/dining room. Access to 'Coast to Coast' walk, other easy and harder walks, 5 minute walk to pub. Perfect for a romantic weekend getaway or sleeping sound if you are doing the 'Coast to Coast.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crookabeck Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing