We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for Helvellen and a big breakfast to get you up there”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Patterdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deepdale Hall Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 12 Patterdale B&B and Inns
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ideal for Helvellen and a big breakfast to get you up there”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Wonderful hosts, and plenty of animals to keep you entertained - not that that is what they are there for!! The room was ideal for the 3 of us, good shower and comfortable beds. Tea tray even had more than enough milk jiggers, better than a big hotel.
Breakfast was excellent, and if you dont want a full english, they offer pancakes, bacon butties, yoghurt, toast, juice, a good range of cereals or porridge, and ample amounts of hot tea and coffee - just the job.
Loads of parking spaces as well.
Thanks Chris and family!!

Room Tip: They have two rooms, one triple and one double, the views are fabulous from the triple, and I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kst01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We have been staying at Deepdale Hall since 2003 and even after all this time, it's so good I am a little reluctant to share!
Deepdale lies in it's own valley near the village of Patterdale, at the foot of the Kirkstone pass between Ullswater and the smaller lake of Brotherswater. It is a traditional working sheep farm and the perfect base for visiting the Lakes... near enough to all the places you want to go and yet away from the worst of the crowds, and if you visit out of main season you will never have to drive in slow, single file behind a tour bus or a bunch of cyclists and will wonder what all the fuss is about!
Walkers can spend a whole week rambling, scrambling and climbing without ever having to get in the car if they want to, especially when fuelled by one of Chris Brown's legendary full English breakfasts, or his utterly amazing porridge if you fancy something different.
Patterdale is ten minutes walk away and has plenty of places to eat, and the Post Office is a great place to stop off for sandwiches, souvenirs and other supplies on your way out in the morning. You can even get an update on the local wildlife and weather from the info board there.
The B&B at Deepdale is very high spec but loses nothing of the traditional farmhouse feel with carpets made from wool from Deepdale's own flock, beamed ceilings, a roaring fire in the sitting room and wide windowsills in the bedrooms that are just perfect to sit on while you take in the incredible view up the fell. Even bad weather is beautiful at Deepdale when the May blossom is out and the mist is hanging over the fells and the soft rain is falling......
Ok, so bad weather on holiday is bad weather, but I can think of worst places to be when it's raining, so if all else fails, take your pick from the mind boggling selection of coffee, tea, hot chocolate, herb teas and strange frothy coffee-thingys on the "hospitality tray", crack open the biscuits and enjoy doing absolutely nothing! The rain will soon pass and you will never want to leave.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thelapwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I have lost count of how many times we have stayed at Deepdale Hall Farm - and we have already booked two long weekends for 2012!

Full of rustic charm, a peaceful atmosphere, and crackling logs on an open fire in the colder months - you really can't beat Deepdale Hall.....

The location is perfect as a base for walking - we always start from the farm, and have enjoyed numerous walks along the HighStreet, Striding Edge, and Ullswater - to name a few.

If you would like to enjoy an evening stroll, the local pubs in Glenridding are within walking distance - either by road/footpath, or lakeland paths, but a little further afield is our personal favourite - The Queens Head at Troutbeck - which has an excellent menu, service, and again is full of character and charm.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Great breakfast, with local ingredients, lots of choice. Pretty bedrooms and welcoming hosts.
No toast machine - always a complete plus!
Very happy to dry mountains of wet walking clothes.
Thoughtful extras such as corkscrew and glasses in the bedroom, plus comfortable guest lounge.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BreakawayScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paw Paw, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Just what we were looking for. Deepdale Hall is a working farm in a lovely setting that has two rooms in the main house and a two bedroom self-catering unit in a converted barn. The farm has over 700 sheep, a few cows, and chickens to lay fresh eggs for your breakfast. The house dates back ro 1670 and has a nice sitting room with a fire place. This sitting room also is where breakfast is served. The breakfasts are great: eggs, toast, sausage, hash brown potatoes, cereals, porridge, fruit, jams and yogurt.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay Essex
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

So glad, I was able to do this review, with have stayed here twice to date. Chris and his family are really great hosts, the breakfast is one of the best we have ever had and all in such heavenly surroundings. recently on tv too, with Richard Wilson.

book it you wont regret it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickCannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patterdale
0.0 mi away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
957 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,643 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Crookabeck Bed & Breakfast
Crookabeck Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 12 in Patterdale
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Patterdale
YHA Patterdale
#1 of 3 in Patterdale
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brotherswater Inn
Brotherswater Inn
#1 of 12 in Patterdale
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deepdale Hall Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deepdale Hall Bed and Breakfast

Property: Deepdale Hall Bed and Breakfast
Address: Patterdale, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Patterdale
Hotel Class:4 star — Deepdale Hall Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing