We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but Basic”
Review of YHA Patterdale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Patterdale
Certificate of Excellence
Selby
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice but Basic”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Hi
Stayed at this hostel in November having stayed at other YHA's in Langdale and in Wales.
This one is by far the most basic.
It is definitely NOT as bad as people make out on here. The staff are very friendly, the beds are really comfy. Rooms nice and warm There is a large common room upstairs, complete with large self catering kitchen with plenty of hobs and pots and pans. Breakfasts are great. EXCELLENT drying room to dry towels and boots.
Yes there is a few downsides - the rooms are dated and come complete with cobwebs, toilet areas are dated too (The toilets we're been upgraded as we stayed there and areas carpeted. It is also having an upgrade in 2012/2013).
However, as we spent 3 days out in the hills we only used the YHA to eat and sleep in. For what you pay in a YHA, it is more than adequate. Much better than camping.
Ideal location in Patterdale close to Helvellyn. Does the job fine.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YHA_Manager, Manager at YHA Patterdale, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
An absolutely fair review. The toilets were pretty poor but I'm glad to say that the works that were being carried out while you were there have brought them up to an excellent standard. I'm hoping that you'll come back and see them sometime. The carpeted reception area does provide a much warmer and homely feel too.

Cobwebs in country hostels are always a bit of an issue (those spiders are industrious to say the least) but I promise we'll do our best to keep on top of them better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    47
    22
    11
    3
See reviews for
28
24
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I’ve stayed here a few times and the staff are always friendly and helpful.
The self-catering facilities are good with lots of large pots and pans and multiple hobs to cook on, witch is useful if you’re with a larger group. Rooms are nice compared to other youth hostels I’ve been in. Nice communal lounge with a lovely view of the fells. Always look forward to going here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We've stayed in many YHA's and hadgreat time - but boy is this one letting the side down. Apart from the lovely chap on reception and excellent drying room...

the kitchen & staff were appauling. Seriously dirty cutlery, covered in food and no care at all when this was pointed out - the response, there some that are clean (which, on further inspection became clear was not the case... but was met with no care/concern at all.

and the bedroom I was in i had the dulcit tones of men using the urinals through the wall. nice.

seriously YHA, this is letting the side down. if its going to be done up, close it now rather than ruin your brand on this in the interim, or at the very least, sort out the kitchen staff.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank selenav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

The hostel was welcoming, staff were friendly and helpful. Whilst the hostel is dated and in need of its forthcoming investment, it remains clean and comfortable to stay in. However, the main issue we had was regarding meals. Although hot and tasty, an overall serving time of two and a half hours was excessive and meant we had little time to do anything else that evening. The greatest oddity of the stay was Pink Floyd's Brick in the Wall suddenly blasting through the hostel speakers at 10pm! The hostel is in a great location, and I'm sure that once it is refurbished, it will provide a standard similar to the excellent hostels at Borrowdale and Grasmere- we'll look forward to coming back to try it out again some time in the future!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy16411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Clean rooms, friendly helpful staff, great location with stunning mountain views and excellent food all combine to make this the number one choice for a Lake District break
A well stocked bar with comfotrable sofas to relax on after a day out doing what you most enjoy. Comfortable beds and quiet rooms ensure a good nights sleep in readyness for the day ahead. The Patterdale team provide the highest level of commitment in ensuring all guests enjoy their stay.

Room Tip: No tips - all rooms are comfortable, clean and tidy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Staff were friendly and were very helpful. The building could do with some refurbishment in the corridors and bathrooms. Beds were comfey.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Conveniently situated less than a mile from the head of Ullswater, the hostel has attractive communal areas on its upper floor reminiscent of a ski lodge. The staff were intelligent and helpful; local ale was on tap, and room we had was spacious and comfortable. And all for a basic £18.40 per night. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieDuCane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patterdale
0.3 mi away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
957 reviews
1.7 mi away
YHA Helvellyn
YHA Helvellyn
#2 of 3 in Glenridding
104 reviews
9.0 mi away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
7.9 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 24 in Ambleside
391 reviews
12.0 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Patterdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Patterdale

Property: YHA Patterdale
Address: Goldrill House, Patterdale CA11 0NW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Patterdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Patterdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — YHA Patterdale 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the style of a Swiss chalet in 1971 our hostel is an iconic view from the road through the Ullswater Valley. Ideally located on the edge of Patterdale village it is a perfect base for all this beautiful valley has to offer.Situated close to famous mountains such as Helvellyn and High Street, 20-minutes walk from the Ullswater Steamers and Glenridding Sailing Centre, and less than 10-minutes drive from Aira Force waterfalls Patterdale Youth Hostel is perfect for all kinds of activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your YHA Patterdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing