We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hill Crest Country Guest House
Ranked #1 of 4 Newby Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blyth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Birthday Treat”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife received 2 nights at Hillcrest as a 50th birthday present from her brother & sister and what a gift! Hillcrest is a beautiful home from home, Jane is a wonderful host, everything was immaculate and we had a wonderful visit to the Lakes. We will be reccomending Hillcrest to friends & family and hope to return again soon.
Tony & Tracey, Northumberland.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
93
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cannock
2 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a five night break at Hill Crest. It was just like staying in the home of a good friend. Jane is a warm and friendly host - happy to provide advice on places to visit, good local restaurants... and the flowers in the lovely garden. Our cosy room was beautifully decorated with every amenity. Breakfasts were a joy with a wide choice and cooked exactly how we wanted. And where else do you get freshly baked scones and a pot of tea when you arrive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

For our first visit to the Lakes my husband and I chose the Hill Crest on the back of the fab reviews. We were not disappointed!
Jane even swapped our mattress on the second night, as we had not slept well, as at home we sleep on very soft mattresses .....that is impressive service! Fantastic accommodation, food and service!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayneandHana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at the Hill Crest for 2 nights in April and have to say that I can not wait to come back. Not only is the B&B in a fantastic location but the B&B itself is absolutely lovely. I have already recommended it to family members for when they plan to go to the lakes.
Attention to detail was amazing and everything seem to have been thought of, from the bed linen, towels and even the toiletries.
We stayed in the four poster bedroom and am so glad we did, the bed was comfy to say the least. My fiance said that it was the best 2 nights sleeps he has had in an extremely long time! The bathroom was immaculate and again the attention to detail can not be faulted.
Breakfast in the mornings were lovely i only wished I had scrambled eggs on both of the mornings as they were the best I have ever had! I opted for the pastries on the first morning but after discovering Jayne's amazing scrambled eggs on the second morning i wish I had this on both days.
My Fiance had the full english breakfast both mornings and I have to say there was not a crumb left on his plate.
Both Jayne and her lovely assistant (sorry i did not get your name) were so delightful and could not do enough for us. Lots of advice and recommendations which was great for us as this was our first time to the Lakes. From the second we walked through the door of the Hill Crest Jayne gave us great information and even gave us lots of books and maps to help us on our travels.

This stay really was a fantastic one and as i mentioned earlier, I can not wait to come back some time soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We arrived at around 14.00 having travelled up from Hampshire. Jayne welcomed us with an afternoon tea and homemade scones. We stayed at the top of the house in the family room which is ideal for two adults with children as their sleeping area is separate from the main bedroom with a cupboard and shower room in between. Everything was spotless with some excellent touches and thoughtful details. Breakfast had everything on offer including a fabulous full English and the service was very good. We have stayed at many hotels and would like to say how impressed we were with everything during our stay. To top it all off Jayne made a birthday cake that was suitable for my wife who suffers from more than one food allergy. If you are thinking of staying in the Lake district look no further Andy, Kath and the girls.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy42_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed for two nights at Hill Crest for a family wedding held at Lakeside Hotel. The B&B was lovely, very clean and newly decorated. Linens were cotton and towels fluffy, there were even white cotton dressing gowns and slippers. En suite bathroom was very modern with a hot water that did not run out and underfloor heating. Breakfast was more like a good hotel than a B&B, individually cooked main dishes such as eggs benedict (delicious), kippers, smoked haddock as well as the more traditional english breakfast. All ingredients were excellent, freshly sliced fruit salad with grapes, strawberries, pineapple, kiwi, and lots more. Jane was lovely, very friendly and helpful, you got the feeling she enjoyed making everything so nice for you. We would definitely recommend this B&B it was fantastic, great value for money and we will stay there again when we are in the area.

Room Tip: We were returning late each night as we had a family wedding to attend, we were put in the blue room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lathem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

stayed for two nights ,first time ever in the lakes. excellent facilities,food and views from rooms were just fabulous.tproprieter was so welcoming and an excellent host. there was plenty of information readily available for planning days out ect. would definitely re book for any other stays in the lakes!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 539suer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
2.2 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,285 reviews
1.2 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
500 reviews
6.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
8.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Crest Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Crest Country Guest House

Property: Hill Crest Country Guest House
Address: Brow Edge Road, Newby Bridge LA12 8QP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hill Crest Country Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful Lakeland Guest House is situated at the Southern tip of Lake Windermere, and is renowned for quality accommodation, excellent food and service, warm hospitality and amazing views of the Lakeland fells. Winner of 'Guest accommodation award 2014' with Cumbria Tourism. We are in an ideal location for exploring and visiting many attractions in our area; the Haverthwaite and Lakeside steam Railway, Steam boats on Lake Windermere, The Aquarium, Fell Foot Park, Holker Hall. The Wild Animal Park, Grizedale Forest, the Motor Museum and many more, also gentle walks can be taken from our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hill Crest Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill Crest Country Guest House Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing