We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hill Crest Country Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Lakeside Hotel(Newby Bridge)
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$126
$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampsfell House Hotel(Grange-over-Sands)
$99
$96
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Newby Bridge Hotel(Newby Bridge)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Swan Hotel & Spa(Newby Bridge)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elton Guest House(Grange-over-Sands)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveler rating
169
5
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
169
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bsconesfamily roomhost janefour posterlake districtguest loungeon arrivalexcellent hostessher attentionsuperior king roombreakfast was excellentplenty of choice for breakfastrecommend placesbeautifully decorated and spotlessly cleantea traylooking forward to my next visit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 174 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Having read previous reviews we felt we had to stay at The Hill Crest B&B. What a wonderful place this is. Jane welcomes you on your arrival with warm, fresh baked scones and tea in the conservatory, which has amazing views. Our room, well it was more than we expected. Beautifully decorated, clean and cosy. It was great to be able to relax in the lounge area of our room, we stayed in the four poster bed room, bathroom was spotless having the finishing touches of hand and shower gel, body lotion and lovely soft fluffy white towels. The breakfast each morning had everything you could want and more, fresh fruit, cereal, fresh juice, toast, full English breakfast, tea, coffee. On the last day we had warm croissants too....... We found the guest lounge most welcoming and felt at ease to make a cup of tea at the end of our day and fetch it back down to sit and watch a bit of SKY TV. Jane was the perfect hostess, remembering our comment about enjoying a glass of wine and then leaving glasses in our room without us having to ask. She offered advice on places to visit and how to get there. You can honestly believe the reviews you read and would recommend this place to anybody wanting a bit of luxury for a few quiet days away. Loz & Kay Williams

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loz and Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

This was even better accomodation than the usual 4 star hotels we normally stay in. Landlady Jane is the perfect hostess, and was more than happy to assist in any way she could to make our stay even more enjoyable and relaxing, from providing wine glasses to giving directions to where to get the wine :o)
The 4 poster room was fantastic and very romantic with everything you could need to return to and relax in after a days sightseeing or walking. The decor was modern and done to a very high standard and everything was extremely clean.
I would challenge anybody to find fault with the breakfast that is served in the conservatory boasting fantastic views of the fells.
There are plenty of places to eat out within a short distance and Jane will happily reccomend somewhere if you can't make up your mind.
We are already planning our return visit.
Martin & Sarah Feb 2012

Room Tip: If you want a romantic break definately go for the 4 poster room you will not regret it.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinC1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Gorgeous little gem in peaceful location. Stayed here with my Husband and 3 year old son. Jane's attention to detail was impeccable and we were made to feel very welcome and comfortable. Stayed in the four-poster room which was beautiful, comfortable and immaculate. Breakfast served in the conservatory overlooking beautiful views was fantastic! If you like little cosy guest houses then this is the best you could ever find. Also if you fancy a good meal out in the evening, then the Anglers Arms in Haverthwaite is fab. Our hostess was always happy to help and advise on the local area and very patient with our 3yr old son - thank you Jane.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idreamofsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We have just returned from staying 3 nights at Hill Crest. This B & B is delightful,we stayed in a very comfortable room with a high standard of interior design, plus a stylish sitting room. Everywhere spotlessly clean, the bathroom sparkled and cleamed.
Excellent breakfast, a wide range of fruits plus cereals, a perfectly cooked 'english' and some tasty home cooked croissants.
Jane could not have done more, she is is very thoughtful and her little extra touches make the stay very special. Would recommend Hill Crest to family and friends and we look forward to a revisit.
CherylDawson Nov 8th 2011

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This B&B is modern, clean and extremely comfortable. Jane is a fantastic hostess and breakfast was delicious. This B&B beats any 5* hotel!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzieWardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews