We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (746)
Filter reviews
746 results
Traveler rating
342
243
89
42
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
342
243
89
42
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dog friendly hotel four poster bed bar area evening meal cream tea bridal suite buffet style night break games room garden room busy road open fire lake district both nights steam room family room short stay
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 746 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

turned up on a Thursday,was there for 2 nights, it all started so well,

Checked into the room it was dated but looked OK,

The Bar was nice and cosy, the chap that was on was very help full, gave us loads of information he was from Ulverston,

We had the evening meal that was excellent, then it went down hill from there, when we got to the pudding we has ice cream where we found a pies of plastic with a sharp point, it was part of the container, this was handed in but never liked to make a fuss,the waiter then spoke to the chef , the waiter applogised,

Went out all Friday came to the evening and we sat by the log fire,

On Thursday night the bar tender said do I want to add the drinks to a open tab which we did,

Friday night I orders drinks and asked the girl to add it to the room thinking it would be the same as Thursday night, they could see we were sitting by the log fire,

I orders some food and waited ages for it after about 45 minutes I asked about the food, it was brought to us but it was luke warm,

Again I'm not a complainer, I went to pay the bill and was told to go to the reception thinking that's not what I did last night so went to reception to pay,

Paid the bill and was told that my food had gone to the room, I explained that I was in the bar all night and the girls behind the bar had seen me as I was ordering drinks still, she apologised,

I spoke to the girl behind the bar and she said I was told it was for room service, I explained she could see me so was not happy,

Pro's-

Room was Ok,

Con's-

Do not get room 20_21_22 as the fire door slams all hours of the day and night, nobody has consideration for your sleep,

When you order food ensure you chase it up and send it back if it was to cold,

went into the spar , the pool was dirty along with the jacuzzi and it smelt stale,

Stayed: November 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mac2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We spent 2nts here and it was brilliant from the moment we arrived the staff were lovely very helpful and friendly the rooms were very good and well presented the breakfast was great and it was lovely to relax by the log fire in the lounge with a drink.will definitely return here

Stayed: November 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank degsy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Lovely to welcome you and read your wonderful comments about your stay. We love 5 star ratings and are so pleased to have earned yours. All of the staff will keep up the good work and look forward to welcoming you back again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have just left the hotel and were blown away. We paid £59 for a midweek double room it’s was superb value for money, clean, friendly staff, comfy bed and great little pool and jacuzzi, steam room. We will be returning. Thank you

Stayed: November 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JenCCwbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for stopping in! We pride ourselves on being one of the best value hotels in the area and we're pleased to read you agree! We love that you will return too. Until then take care :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked at short notice, gave extra time to allow room to be ready, most staff have a could not care approach apart from Darren in the bar, he was very helpful. Would not stay there again even if they paid me to dirty rooms and dirty toilets

Stayed: November 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Traveler43477303123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We're very disappointed to read this review. Our reception team member went out of her way to make things right, offering different rooms even sprucing up the bathroom a bit after our cleaning team had gone home. After we did this, no other complaint was made and they seemed perfectly happy with the room, which obviously wasn't the case. We're sorry you did not enjoy your stay even though staff did their very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited for two nights (Mon-Wed) booked at quite short notice - we were welcomed warmly and told all of the necessary details as well as important information about where we can eat with our dog (she came with us).

The room, we were in the Rotunda, was fantastic and a really beautiful suite away from the main building. Albeit the hotel is a little dated, the staff and experience are on the whole all positive. We ate in the pub attached to the hotel and found the food to be great quality. Breakfast is FANTASTIC with the best locally sourced sausages I've had in a long time.

The pool and spa aren't as smart as hoped but for the location and service we would stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Chris_Howard_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Newby Bridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for visiting and taking the time to post your lovely review. We sure love 5 star rating too, so thank you! We are pleased you enjoyed your accommodation and food as well, not to mention that you were able to bring your dog along (we love dogs here!). Thanks for your comments about the pool area, very much appreciated. We are pleased you would visit again and sure hope you do! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews