We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thought it would be better”
Review of The Swan Inn

The Swan Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Rowlands Gill, England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Thought it would be better”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We visited for lunch one day, and early evening another day. Both were bar meals, and the menu was the same both days. It is a nice place, and seemed clean and welcoming. It was expensive, and the food was well presented but basic.

Vegetarian choice was extremely limited and unimaginitve. Although my other half seemed to enjoy his meat burger. Perhaps the restaurant menu is better than the bar menu.

Dogs are welcome in the bar area, so it's good to be able to get out of the rain for a while.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    193
    80
    52
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“don't bother”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stopped here for nice lunch at an idyllic spot. Beautiful setting..... the rest goes downhill. wine glass was dirty with lipstick so asked for a clean one, instead of serving fresh glass of wine in clean glass the bar person just tipped wine from dirty glass into another one! not what you expect from 4*. Ordered cheese sandwich with tomato chilli relish, 1/2 an hour later still waiting, 3pm so not a busy time and no others waiting only about 6 people in the place..discovered they had forgotten the order..apologies made and in about 3 minutes sandwich arrived. Wish we hadn't bothered, not worthy of £7.95 price tag! Bland and tasteless relish basic sandwich. Raised our disappointment and refund given.Will not be returning for food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mum2jk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Our experiences of the Swan Inn were brilliant. The food was incredible, and had a selection that I had great trouble deciding on. We unfortunately weren't able to taste the puddings as we had gone too crazy on the rest of the menu but I'm sure having seen them whiz past our table that they would have been just as good! Service was great and would love to go back there again soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Panda1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Scrumptious”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Date of Visit: 14th Aug 12.
Visited the Swan Inn with my family for an early evening meal. The restaurant was rather quiet at this time, however did fill within the hour. The surroundings were very simple, however nipping clean. The service staff were very attententive & we did'nt feel rushed throughout the meal. The foods choices on the menu were ample and the flavours at each course were delicious!
Would I return = Definitely Yes.
Would I recommend this to others = Yes.

Helpful?
Thank pj1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“eating out in the swan”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have stayed in our caravan throughout the last three years and everytime we have eaten out in the Swan we have been disappointed. The service is poor and the bar is often dirty with food left on tables. We had a cheese board with only one cheese on the board with popadoms. The last time my wife had to send her coffee back on 4 ocassions. The prices are over inflated with a small glass of wine costing over five pounds.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank partiLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swan Inn also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Newby Bridge, Lake District
 
Backbarrow, Lake District
Newby Bridge, Lake District
 

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing