We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About Right”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had chosen the Whitewater Hotel through a Groupon promotion. This included access to the Spa and a meal on the first evening. My wife is the Spa user and she felt it was good but one or two things were not working. One being the Swim Suit Spinner. The meal on the first evening was first class. Imaginative and well executed.

We stayed 2 nights. Breakfast on the first morning was typical buffet and good. The second morning was cooked to order. It was well executed but unexpected. We were told that they switched around but suspected that there must have been a lot of waste on the first morning. There did not appear to be many residents.

Whilst not outstanding we would go back. We felt it should be a 3* plus rather than 4*. The evening meal was 4*. The Spa itself 3*. The Spa exterior needed a bit of a facelift.

The Staff were attentive but tended to answer everything with 'No problem'; even to the point of responding to a minor quibble with the evening meal with 'No problem'.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have one overlooking the river. Ours looked out to the rear and the car park which al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (978)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

680 - 686 of 978 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

We picked up a decent deal for an overnight stay with use of the spa facilities and two treatments. On arrival at the hotel the receptionist couldn't have been more helpful. Although our room wasn't ready (we were early), she told us to make our way over to the spa and offered to keep our bags. We spent the afternoon n the spa, great pool, steam room and sauna and each had a facial and a back massage. The girls in the spa were great, friendly and professional and we were left feeling totally relaxed. Our hotel room was extremely spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. A little dated maybe but superb facilties, nice bathroom, bathrobes and slippers provided, lovely river view too. Nice complimentary tea and coffee too. Dinner in the restuarant was good. Delicious food, well presented. The restuarant staff were friendly and professional. After a good night's sleep, breakfast was very good. Hot and cold buffet with everything you could want. Overall a very good hotel with great spa facilities. We would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesleyCann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLawrence1, General Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

We have been putting a lot of work into getting the spa and what we offer there right, and I am glad that you found it to be relaxing and of a good standard. I know the staff in the spa will be very encouraged by your comments. Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel and a good review, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed fromFriday to Saturday after attending the Holker Hall Festival. It was a little difficult to find but once you have found it you will always know where it is. AN ABSOLUTELY GREAT HOTEL. The food was fantastic, the room so spacious and light , beds exceedingly comfortable. The bathroom was superb with a walk-in shower and a bath, the bathroom linen, contrary to what I often find, was spotlessly clean and soft.
The spa was beautiful, just enough to make your stay a little more relaxing. Right on the river there was a terrace, next to the bar where I sat sipping a good red wine, whose price was reasonable. The staff were young, friendly and accommodating. Private parking was available.
I can't speak more highly of this hotel, we had a great stay and will certainly return for a longer stay. My only criticism was that the wifi was not very strong in the bedroom.
PS TheY also have apartments that are pet friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bootsie1855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLawrence1, General Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for your comments, and a positive review, which is always very encouraging to get. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and were comfortable and well looked after. I do take your point that the WiFi is a bit variable in some parts of the hotel, which is due to the thick stone walls we have. We hope to see you again soon.

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

A very welcoming hotel in the south Lakes. Beautiful peaceful riverside setting, great helpful staff, and comfortable bedroom. Excellent dinner and breakfast in main dining room, but casual restaurant expensive for bar food. The nearby Motor Museum is excellent and worth a visit, with very good restaurant next door.

Room Tip: Try for one overlooking the river. Beautiful views and wildlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186534James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend at the hotel with our 3 young childre. We found the hotel staff to be very helpful at all times. Upon checking in and getting to our room it was noticed that the bathroom had flooded. The staff were quick to move us to another room and helped move the lugage so we could concentrate on our boys.

We ate in the resturant the first night and the food was amazing! The waiting staff were great at looking after us and even made "childrens Cocktails" so they felt that they were having a special treat.

The 2nd night we ate in the Dolly bar and again the food was amazing with plenty to eat.

The facilities were great and we enjoyed the swimming pool and all that was on to offer.

We will be going back next month without the children to experience it from an adults only side of things and we can not wait.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmalk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLawrence1, General Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

The flooded bathroom was a bit of a disaster, but I am glad we recovered well, and that you and the children enjoyed your break. Thank you for your kind comments, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

arrived on Thursday 30th may for a 2 night stay. hotel is in a lovely setting. we were greeted by a friendly member of staff at reception and given our key. our room was on the 3rd floor at the end of the corridor. I was so happy with it from the moment I walked in. very comfy and clean room. the balcony was lovely to sit on and the views were amazing.
on the first night we had our evening meal in the restaurant. we sat in the lounge to order and then shown to our table. lovely table looking outside. the waiters were very helpful and welcoming. the meal itself was fantastic. such a nice treat, very well presented and tasted lovely. I didn't have a complaint for a single thing in each of the 3 courses nor did my other half.
breakfast is a help yourself buffet style. a wide range of things all fresh and tasty. staff were around at all times to help and get drinks and toast. you could also order your eggs or something from the menu. there really was lots of choice. staff again were friendly and helpful.
we ate in the dolly blue bar on our second night. a lot different from the restaurant, relaxed atmosphere but very clean and comfy. staff lovely to talk to. the meal was nice.
while staying at the hotel we used the leisure facilities. the gym, pool, hot tub, sauna and steam room. all was well equipped and clean. the pool area was lovely to sit at and relax.
we also had a back massage and a 3 Fango Mud Rasul in the cascades spa which is part of the hotel. the treatments were lovely and great value. staff friendly and very helpful. it was lovely and modern, which added to the relaxation. I really enjoyed my whole stay at the hotel and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebecca w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very nice hotel, friendly staff (esp. Ryan), good location for breaks in the Lake District. Good sized and appointed bedrooms. Restaurant and bars very good, food of very good quality. Pleasant setting by a river. Handy for Lakes Windermere and Coniston.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
1.1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
561 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,362 reviews
4.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.7 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
475 reviews
7.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: Lakeland Village Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range: $118 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Property With A One Rosette Fine Dining Restaurant And The Dolly Blue Bar And Grill Restaurant. Sitting On The Bank Of The River Leven, This Property Offers Stunning Views And The Perfect Base To Explore The Area. Close By Are The Lakes Aquarium, Haverthwaite Steam Railway, Lakeland Cruises, Beatrix Potter And The Lakeland Motor Museum Featuring The Donald Campbell Bluebird Museum. The Perfect Lakeland Venue! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitewater Hotel And Leisure Club
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing