We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Midweek meltdown” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Midweek meltdown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

As a birthday treat for my woman friend (Womf) I check the internet for spar breaks in Cumbria and found “Midweek Meltdown” – Hotel & spa package

Only £120.00 per person per night!
Available Monday – Thursday Only
One nights accommodation
Breakfast and evening meal
Bottle of wine
Use of leisure facilities swimming pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi
Use of thermal suite includes Hamam steam bath, sauna, feature shower and outdoor Jacuzzi
Complimentary robes

Choice of one hour treatment in our luxury twin therapy room – choose one from the options below;
Full body hot stone massage therapy
Skin Intelligence Facial for men
Skin Specific facials
Deluxe Manicure or Pedicure

Choice of one hour treatment in our luxury twin therapy room – choose one from the options below;
Full body hot stone massage therapy
Skin Intelligence Facial for men
Skin Specific facials
Deluxe Manicure or Pedicure

which for £120 per person was value for money

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardGuzinski, Guest Relations Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Many thanks for the posted review and for giving us a 5 star rating. We really appreciate your comments and 100% vote!

We hope tyo see you here again and sincerepy hope we will repeat the fine services you enjoyed during your last visit.

Thanks again and Kindest Regards,

The team at the Whitewater Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    245
    114
    37
    32
See reviews for
129
473
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
blackpool
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the whitewater for an overnight stay. It is in a very nice setting. The rooms were clean and well equipped , maybe a little dated but we had a very comfortable stay. The bar food was excellent and the staff were very helpful,. Breakfast was a little dissapointing as it took a very long time for the toast and coffee to come. The quality of the breakfast was good. The leisure facilites are excellent, really enjoyed the swimming and sauna. Overall we Booked this hotel at a reduced rate and we thought it was good value for money. We will definitely go back again as we had a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the river/lakeside
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marmots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for a romantic break with the hubby, hotel was nice but finer details were missing we upgraded the room to a suite which over looked the river, sadly we were unable to use the balcony as the previous occupants had left loads of cigarette ash on the balcony and the cleaners had not cleaned it up, also there were cigarette but ends on the floor.
We were meant to have had robes and slippers in the room but these we're missing too !
We booked the mud retreat but the the spa staff were not even at there reception at our appointment time we had to wait 20 mins for someone to come see to us,they then showed us to the mud chamber which I have to say was a lot of fun ! But they were meant to come back to us to guide us where to go next they never came back.. We just ended up using the out door hot tub and that was it.
We also booked a deep tissue massage.. Very good, but boy you know you have had one the next day.
Apparently the owner was staying at the hotel so all the staff were on tender hooks, the hotel reception girl told us she was a right dragon,and really put the staff down.. Maybe that's why they were trying so hard.
Food in the restaurant was amazing the fillet steak was beautiful.
Happy hour every tea time was great too ;)
Very cheap and the locals come in so the atmosphere was fab.

Defiantly worth a visit..just maybe not when the dragon boss is there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJ1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardGuzinski, Manager at Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Many thanks for the posted review. I have noted your comments where improvements could be made and accept these constructive criticsms in a positive way as they identify shortcomings from our guests perspectives. I did find your comment about the boss rather amusing as did she, as your comments rather affirm that a stern hand is needed from time to time. The owner does not come over very often but when on site, of course want everything to be perfect as this is a reflection of what the guests should receive.

I was sorry to read the shortfalls you experienced during your stay but as I say above, we will address these. Your comments have been circulated to the relevant departments and remedial action will take place.

We hope to see you here again and hopefully you will notice the improvements we make based on the comments you have made. As a goodwill gesture if you book again we will offer you a free treatment in the Spa where you will see your comments have not been made in vain. JUst quote your TA pseudonym at the tiome of making a new reservation.

Thanks and Regards,

The team at the Whitewater Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We returned to the Whitewater Hotel after many years of absence. We were both impressed with the friendly efficient staff and very good evening meals .We would have prefered a freshly cook breakfast rather than the buffet which was provided.The wine list very good and was backed up by a good choice of beers, especially the locally produced Ulverston real ale. The room was very warm and we enjoyed our stay. Its a pity the weather was not good but the the hotel has no influence over that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royston1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We used the groupon deal and as it was just before Christmas and it was not too busy we were upgraded rooms for free. The meal at the restraunt was one of the best we have ever had. The facilities were excellent and the place was beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeandsam82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

You will not be disappointed if you stay here. I have stayed on many occassions and have always enjoyed the warm reception and the helpful staff.

The spa is excellent and both of us have enjoyed treatments here. The gym and pool areas are good and clean.

I've never had a bad meal in the restaurant, but have often left feeling that I couldn't eat another thing.

The scenery is great, as long as you are looking over the river rather than the car park, the rooms are excellent. and are furnished to a high standard.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sodemallOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very nice welcome from the reception and information was excellent. Pity the wi fi was either not working but when did it was slow and only was on for about 1 hour. I ordered a meal which was fine, but the plates for the english breakfast were stone cold, I did enquire and that is standard for them. Waste of time keeping the food hot, I thought. I also found that the shower water was luke warm but the bath and basin were red hot.
I wish to recommend the very young reception girl Hanna for an award. She was and is kind, helpful and looked after my requests excellent manner. The rest of the staff was also good.
10/10 recommened it to everyone

Room Tip: Nothing to complain about i asked some other guests and they had nothing to complian about either
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
2.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
9.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#20 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
8.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
8.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club

Property: Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Address: Lakeland Village Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8PX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newby Bridge
#3 Family Hotel in Newby Bridge
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 STAR PROPERTY WITH A ONE ROSETTE FINE DINING RESTAURANT AND THE DOLLY BLUE BAR AND GRILL RESTAURANT. SITTING ON THE BANK OF THE RIVER LEVEN, THIS PROPERTY OFFERS STUNNING VIEWS AND THE PERFECT BASE TO EXPLORE THE AREA. CLOSE BY ARE THE LAKES AQUARIUM, HAVERTHWAITE STEAM RAILWAY, LAKELAND CRUISES, BEATRIX POTTER AND THE LAKELAND MOTOR MUSEUM FEATURING THE DONALD CAMPBELL BLUEBIRD MUSEUM. THE PERFECT LAKELAND VENUE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitewater Hotel And Leisure Club
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing