We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could have been fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just returned from two days at the Whitewater, and we did have a lovely time.
The hotel is large and looks amazing, the views from the rooms at the back were breath taking!

Upon arrival a very nice receptionist greeted us and check in went smoothly. However she was on her own and with the phone constantly ringing and no other reception staff around she did seem over worked!

The rooms were large and clean but the furnit

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room to get a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (960)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

699 - 705 of 960 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

Have a time share on the grounds of this hotel and enjoy the same leisure center and restaurants a the hotel visitors. We have been going for years and my in laws have had their time share for nearly thirty years. It is a lovely place to visit and we go back every year. The hotel has made lots of improvements over the years and it is always clean, the staff friendly and accommodating and the food lovely. I will say that we have complained for years about the temps true of the pool, it is certainly not suitable for children...just too cold!!! The dolly blue bar offers a quiz night but for the past year and a half every time we have been there or the in laws....which is seven times over the last 18months, the quiz has been cancelled so we do wonder if it is actually ever on! The furnishings of the rooms and time shares are nice, but dated...not as in they are used....it all looks brand new but like it was all purchased in 1990! They do cater to the old generations, which is sad because it is a lovely place. We are in our late twenties/ early thirties and have three young children, so as it is a nice break and a lovely area we do wish it had mo re to offer the families other than the steam train down the road(which is fabulous)! Have had treatments at the spa it is always incredible and very reasonably priced!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TamaraSBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Thought would write this review after reading some negative reviews about this hotel before we stay here. Well after just returning from a 2 night Groupon stay can not say anything negative about it. Reception staff were friendly and helpful, as were the restaurant staff, nothing to much trouble for them. Ate in the restaurant first night , 3 course meal which was superb couldnt fault it, 2nd night ate in the Dolly bar which served burgers, curry, lasagne etc again meal was nice.
Our room was nice size, very clean and plenty of tea and coffee. Had to turn the heating down as was too warm at times! Would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonEF52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

A hugely enjoyable three-day stay at this 4-star hotel. Wondferful location astride the torrents of the river Leven with picturesque views and walks.
Spacious comfortable bedrooms. Excellent leisure facilities.
Food of a very high standard. Main restaurant has good ambiance but food rather slow to arrive and pricing system seems somewhat illogical. Dolly's bar very good value and service excellent. Breakfasts super. Very good choidce and service couldn't be faulted.
Staff generally helpful andf polite.
Hotel easily accessible off the A590 but not much in the immediate vicinity other than walking. Nearest town with shops 6 miles away.

Room Tip: Views over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The hotel itself is nice - it has an odd mix of old and new and its lost some of its charm where the owners have tried too hard and filled it with odd furniture. The hotel was very empty - having stayed there and also been to other local hotels to eat, we realised it was down to the lack of customer service. The staff were ok but to make this hotel a real 4* they need to up their game. There was noone on reception when we arrived and we were ignored by a young member of staff twice! When the receptionist did come she smelt strongly of smoke which wasnt pleasant. Noone offered to help with our bags or showed us to our room.
The food was lovely and all home cooked which was a real positive. However, as an example of the extra touches that were missing, I asked for sweetner for my coffee but there was none. I asked every day and the only ones brought to me one breakfast were in a food covered tube and were 2 years out of date!!
I booked two spa treatments and was quoted a price with a discount which when I went to the spa they refused to honour. I had to complain to reception and rather than apologise, I was told they were doing me a favour as a I shouldn't have been told there was a discount for hotel guests (even though there was a big sign saying there was in the bedroom!).
To top it off, I left a toothbrush charger in the room. I asked the hotel to check for me and was pleased to return home from work today to the charger which had been delivered in the post. I was not so impressed with the demand for the £1.80 postage!! Come on!! Are things really so bad that you would demand £1.80, when we had spent a good deal with you!! Customer service was not what was expected and unfortunately let down this hotel which could be really lovely.
I

Room Tip: pay the upgrade for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griffo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We booked this on a Groupon voucher so it was great value.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, even on the phone before we got there.
We were staying as a group of 5 couples for a special birthday surprise. The staff made sure the guest of honour had a great time, they upgraded him, they kept our secret, directed him to our party, hid the cake and didnt mind us cracking the Champ's open.
The room was big enough for 10 of us all to have a little party in there before we went out and the room had a good sized balcony with a fabulous views of the river.

.Staff made sure we were always seated together when dining and the chef was fantastic, with a varied menu to suit all tastes, (best lamb I've ever had). Great choice at breakfast with very good quality products. Id go back just to experience the chefs delights again.
The staff at Whitewater are what made this January trip a complete success.

I can't coment on the grounds or the location as we stayed there in bad weather, and when we went out we took the car. We did visit a local zoo on the Saturday, with well kept animals and interavtive experiences.

One warning:
Don't let them book Geoffs taxis for you, they where a complete rip off. £100 for a 7mile trip there and back in a mini bus. I use mini buses a lot in my job and know this is very over priced, the local bobbies even commented on this. I have informed the hotel of this but I did feel the guy on that night took this as a personal attack when we informed him of this. This was our only negative, but I don't want others to be ripped off, it leaves a bad taste.

Room Tip: price a few taxis if you need them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traceyp1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed 18th jan. We were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist and have nothing but praise for the staff who were very helpful. There was a bit of a mix up with the booking but we were asked to wait in the bar/lounge area while it was sorted and we were lucky to be upgraded .
We thought the spa was in very good order and it was obvious it had been recently done out so surprised at some of the comments people have made. The treatments were very good.
The evening meal was lovely and again we were treated very well and service was very good.
The room we had was a family room which was well maintained a very nice bathroom and have nothing but praise. We are already planning a return visit.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Lorraine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
2.1 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,356 reviews
1.1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newby Bridge
544 reviews
4.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.8 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,179 reviews
11.8 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: Lakeland Village Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range: $112 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Property With A One Rosette Fine Dining Restaurant And The Dolly Blue Bar And Grill Restaurant. Sitting On The Bank Of The River Leven, This Property Offers Stunning Views And The Perfect Base To Explore The Area. Close By Are The Lakes Aquarium, Haverthwaite Steam Railway, Lakeland Cruises, Beatrix Potter And The Lakeland Motor Museum Featuring The Donald Campbell Bluebird Museum. The Perfect Lakeland Venue! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitewater Hotel And Leisure Club
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing