We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Birthday Treat!!”
Review of Swan Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here in April.
My boyfriend booked it as a surprise for my birthday (brownie points!!).
We visited on a sunday and had the Movies Package which meant we got to enjoy the room and watch a film. We also had a massage in the Spa and dinner in the restaurant.
The room was gorgeous. Really pretty. The bathroom was very swanky and all was clean and neat. He'd booked the movies pack as we'd had a big weekend celebrating my birthday so was really nice to just chill out in some luxury. A good selection of films available and we really enjoyed it.
Has a great massage in the Spa, the only thing i would say about it is that it was quite short. I'd glanced at my watch when taking it off and when putting it back on again. Was only 20mins of actual treatment. And the massages we paid for were billed as 30. I understand the need to have a consultation period and to allow the client to get dressed etc (i am a therapist mysefl!) but normally this is extra time on the session - eg 40mins total time spent, 30 of it treatment, 10 for consult and dressing etc. The girl was great though and i enjoyed the massage - just wish it had been longer!
We then used the pool and sauna etc. Some great facilities however the changing rooms were quite grubby and messy and the floor in there was soaking wet. I know the health facilities are open to the public so assume that this is just because it gets a lot of through traffic each day.
The food - My god! Amzing! Absolutely amazing. We had the Chateau Briand.... incredible. Worth the price. And the staff were just lovely. The same with breakfast too. I really enjoyed it and the staff were great, really helpful and attentive.

All in all i loved my Birthday treat. The hotel and grounds are amazing and the staff were all great.
Thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morgankathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

912 - 918 of 1,414 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here for the night in July and was immediately impressed with the decor (modern touches but sympathetic with the age of the building). The staff were pleasant and the room & bathroom were spacious and modern with kettle, TV, hairdryer etc.

Breakfast was cooked to order and also offered croissants, cereals and fruit. We ate dinner in the pub and very much enjoyed our meal. I particularly liked the outdoor seating along the water, which was perfect in the beautiful weather we had. We also liked sitting in the numerous living rooms for a quiet drink in the evening.

The pool area was pleasant, with a jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. We didn't use the gym.

We went on a walk around Gummer's How which was suggested by the hotel in their daily newsletter delivered to the rooms. This was a lovely walk which offered fantastic views over lake Windermere - highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

we have just got back from a trip to the swan at newby bridge and when i saw the price of the fillet steak i was a bit put of.but please dont be put of by the price it was the best steak i have ever eaten.great staff and great pub hotel will be going again real soon excellent! thankjs the swan top marks

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 697warren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at The Swan Hotel and Spa for just one night. We turned up on one of the loveliest days of the year, checked in swiftly and then headed downstairs to pick up some drinks and head outside to sip them by the river before having dinner, watching the swans and kayaks drift down the river in the evening sun. Beautiful!

The hotel staff were excellent - check-in was quick and informative, and service throughout our stay was excellent. We were impressed with the room and felt it offered good value for money - spacious, clean and tidy. For £100 a night including breakfast we were very pleasantly surprised at how lovely the hotel was.

The food was one of the highlights of our stay - the restaurant was large but didn't feel crowded, and the menu was extensive, offering a range of food. Breakfast too was really good with a range of hot options and a cold buffet.

We would certainly consider The Swan for a longer stay if we return to the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kreeves1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel overall is great; can't be faulted for anything, service, location, comfort and most especially the FOOD.
There is ample seating inside and masses of outside seating also available. A very varied menu, with choices for everyone and children are well looked after by the ample choices for the indecisive kids (like mine). Various menus available and all very well priced.
Hotel accommodates mostly everyone and any sized party, couples, families and larger parties.
A great place to stay, better place to eat and a fab base for touring the lakes.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Arrived at the hotel beautiful location sun shining ideal. Booked a suite £280 per night for a standard room with a 3 foot annex with a extra tv and settee nothing more apart from 2 lights not working which totalled 4 bulbs out in our "suite". Staff at reception not really bothered asked for a bottle of wine to be delivered to our room the response was well its not my job but could sort it for you, hence 15 minutes later and two phone calls from reception a warm bottle of white wine appeared a call to reception told us no ice in the whole hotel and no wine coolers, great. Dinner, placed looking at a fireplace asked for another table but it was reserved for locals not residents, my husband ordered lamb which we were told was served pink came very well done, I had the chicken salad, almost ice cold chicken lots of water in the bottom of the salad it was approx £12.95 to be honest it was horrid not edible. Spoke to two managers who offered us money back which is not why we went away its not about the money it's about the standard of service you receive. The level of service is not 4 star. We clarified the food as a Bernie Inn all that was missing was a knickerbocker glory, the excuse we got was that there was a wedding on but surely in June/July/August there will be weddings, but still be able to take care of your other residents. Positive breakfast in the room fab, negative check out reception staff from night before totally ignored us making us feel very uncomfortable. Other positive really helpful guy at the bar great sense of humour and very very pleasant credit to the hotel. Shame really fab place but staff/service let it down

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LVGirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We happened to pick a week of glorious weather in the whole of the UK to stay at the Swan Hotel - so this review may be slightly tinted with sunshine - but is true nonetheless.

My husband, 1 year old son and I booked Room 18 for our stay - also known as the Potter Suite, one of the 2 family suites in the hotel (Beatrix being the other one). Worth booking a couple of months in advance.

2 rooms with a shared bathroom - it was perfect for our needs. Our son's room consisted of 2 single beds, plus a large floor space so we could put up his cot bed - and still have room for a play area on the floor. There was no separate hallway/external door into his room either - all access from the main bedroom, so both better in terms of safety and a reduction in noise from passing foot traffic. The suite was river facing, which sounds great and it is a good view - however it also meant that noise from the road (the way into the hotel car park passes right under the window), plus the outside bar tables can be clearly heard until late into the evening.

Other good features in the room for families with young kids included; free milk (roughly a 160ml-200ml portion a night per child if ordered for bedtime), a couple of toys provided in the room, air conditioning units, and a fridge - which was vital for us, as we had to bring my son's food along for the 5 days we stayed.

The hotel itself also has very good family features such as a playroom with books, lego and blocks where you can happily sit and watch your toddler play on the floor, while you sit on the comfy sofas with a drink, and the fact the Swan Inn pub serves food all day means that you can partake of an early dinner to suit with your child's mealtime.

The food was good in the Swan Inn - marred only by our last night, when my husband's steak and my pork belly were served quite late and were burned/overcooked. We complained and were duly refunded the cost of the meal (which we didn't eat). When commented to the reception staff later on that evening, the strange comment "sorry, we are very busy tonight" was given. A bit of a pet peeve, when that is given as an acceptable excuse.

Other than that though - we couldn't really fault our stay and had a lovely time.

There were lots of things to do in the area as well - we visited the villages of Cartmel and Hawkshead, HoleHird gardens, Fell Foot park, walked up Gummer's How (bit of a trek with a baby on a sling on your back, but doable) and could have stayed for longer and seen much more.

Would go back.

Room Tip: Family suites (Potter and Beatrix) are a good find. It is difficult to find hotels with 2 separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ai8401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,359 reviews
8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Newby Bridge
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
11.9 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,435 reviews
1.2 mi away
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa

Address: Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge LA12 8NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range: $161 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the picturesque River Leven at the southern tip of Lake Windermere, this 17th-century coaching inn is full of character and charm, but also offers well-equipped rooms, first-class leisure facilities and a fabulous ESPA spa. Enjoy the cosy, traditional lounges with roaring log fires, sample a unique local ale and enjoy a first-class dinner from the extensive hotel menu. The chef makes a point of finding the very best natural ingredients from local sources. If you're planning on a family trip, you'll find that The Swan has excellent facilities for children. Whether it's books and toys available in the library, a special restaurant menu or the complimentary milk and cookies served up at bedtime, younger guests are well looked after. Of course, there are many opportunities for them to play too - both in the hotel's 14 acres and the beautiful surrounding countryside. Whatever the reason for your trip, business or pleasure, you can be sure of the warmest of welcomes and will have the perfect base for exploring the wonderful beauty of the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith and Agoda so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel Newby Bridge
Swan Hotel & Spa Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing