We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newby Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Garden Suite at Fiddler Hall Barn
Ranked #4 of 4 Newby Bridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Have just spent a two day short weekend break at The Garden Suite.
The 5 star luxury accommodation encompasses everything that is missing from other B&B's.
The spacious, well furnished room provides a comfy king size bed, sitting area with sofa and wall mounted TV and large bathroom with bath and walk in shower. Also includes a well stocked Butlers pantry and complementary bottle of wine.
The attentiveness of Pam and Geoff is exemplary, the moment we arrived being offered tea in the garden to the 'turn down' service in the evening including chocolate on the pillow.
The setting is a secluded hideaway that offers a relaxing appreciation of what the Lakes has to offer.
If you are seeking relaxed luxury and a base to explore South Lakes then this is the place.
A fantastic experience and superb hosts, ( including Pip the border collie)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for The Garden Suite at Fiddler Hall Barn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 68 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

There aren't enough superlatives to describe this fabulous B&B. The view to the fells beyond the garden that Pam and Geoff have lovingly created from scratch is jaw-droppingly beautiful.
The suite itself is immaculate: comfy king-size bed, a big, squishy sofa facing the 32" wall mounted LCD satelite TV, DVD/CD player, iPod dock and free wifi. There's a butler's pantry with fridge containing complimentary wine, beer, water and fresh milk to go with your tea & coffee making supplies as well as some nibbles. On arrival there were fresh flowers, fruit and a decanter of sherry to welcome us, swiftly followed by coffee and homemade cake served on our own terrace.
The bathroom is up a couple of steps and has a terrifc walk-in shower and a large bath with robes and slippers provided and Molton Brown toiletries.
You can choose to have breakfast in your suite or outside on your terrace - and what a breakfast! Beautifully presented in white china on a snowy-white tablecloth you can choose from cooked breakfasts, cereals and a wonderful fresh fruit platter.
Pam and Geoff are such a lovely couple - they've based the whole ethos of this B&B on having things as they themselves like to find them when selecting their own holiday accommodation. Their attention to detail is amazing - they even do a nightly 5-star hotel type 'Turn Down' service (curtains closed, chocs on the pillows etc.)! It's well located for touring the southern Lakes and is within a short drive of a good selection of dining options from the Swan Inn at Newby Bridge and the Mason's Arms at Cartmel Fells to the fine dining of L'Enclume and Rogan & Co. at Cartmel.
We had a fabulous stay and next time we're visiting the area we'll be returning. Can't recommend it too highly!

Room Tip: There's only one - it's fabulous!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taxidiotissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My huband and I have just enjoyed a night at this luxury B&B courtesy of our daughter who bought us a voucher as a Christmas present.Everything about it was perfect, from the welcome and hospitality we received from Geoff and Pam, the stunning garden where we sat enjoying our fantastic breakfast looking over to the fells and the luxurious accomodation furnished to the highest of standards. We have been in many B&Bs over the years and can honestly say this one stands out as the best one we have ever stayed in. It is also so handy for exploring Windermere and the other lakes and beautiful villages like Cartmel. We need to return to check out more attractions so we will have to stay for more nights next time.We will definitely be booking a second stay at the Garden Suite.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The owners were kind, attentive and natural hosts and that makes all the difference. The room itself is spacious, divided into a sleeping area and an eating/sitting space- this overlooks the well- tended and tranquil garden. The bathroom has a bath and a wet room enclosure with a rain head shower. There was most certainly a wish list compiled of everything a good and hospitable b & b should be and I think that every box has been ticked. If you want comfort, privacy and to be within striking distance of all the South Lakes has to offer, look no further than the Garden Suite.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RVarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night special offer stay. Amazing value for money. I agree with all the other reviews. It is a special place. The weather was good so able to dine outside which was a bonus. Pam & Geoff are attentive hosts and their dog, Pip is gorgeous. We loved the sheep too! We do not often return to B&Bs but will be hoping to book a stay next year. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sash01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

It is difficult to describe how good this place really is! I have stayed in many top hotels around the world and none offer the privacy and intimacy of the Garden Suite. If you are looking for a quiet weekend away, you will not find a better location. It's like a 5 star bed and breakfast on steroids! Pam and Geoff are just the most perfect of hosts! Thank you and we will be back next year!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

What a delightful experience. We only stayed for one night, but will definitely be back and have already recommended the Garden Suites to our friends and family. Pam and Geoff can't do enough to help you and have thought of everything. Great views, a luxurious room and all the extras like homemade cake and buscuits with tea and coffee on arrival, my wife and I could not fault the experience. Such a treat to sit out in the beautiful garden and have breakfast. Thanks very much Pam and Geoff!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pheonix555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
1.8 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,317 reviews
1.4 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
514 reviews
4.7 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Whitewater Hotel & Leisure Club
1.4 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa
Swan Hotel & Spa
#4 of 5 in Newby Bridge
1,336 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Knoll
The Knoll
#1 of 2 in Lakeside
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garden Suite at Fiddler Hall Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden Suite at Fiddler Hall Barn

Address: Suite Fiddler Fiddler Hall Barn The Garden Back Lane | Staveley-In-Cartmel, Newby Bridge LA12 8NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Newby Bridge
Price Range: $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garden Suite at Fiddler Hall Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Newby Bridge, South Lakes, we offer luxurious self catering accommodation and beautiful surroundings in the Lake District. We are perfectly situated for all the South Lakes attractions, close to Lake Windermere, and the popular tourist spots are close without the usual Lake District congestion. We're also a perfect location for Cartmel Races! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Garden Suite At Fiddler Hall Barn Newby Bridge, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing