We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS”
Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“FABULOUS”
Reviewed November 22, 2010

we found the hotel quite by accident, we book a short break for a honeymoon to recover from a busy few months. Last Minute.com, mystery hotel. exceeded all expectation, service, food, atmosphere fabulous, just what was needed, i was lucky enough to have a spar treatment....pure luxury, thanks Stephanie..fab. will be back for anniversary if not before.. thanks for the upgrade, excellent views of the lake....beautiful

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loucol2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    315
    88
    29
    19
See reviews for
288
678
10
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

More expensive than we'd normally pay, but as a treat, we weren't dissapointed, even the three dish main course we thought was a novel idea and really enjoyed it. Staff were very friendly and efficient. Great location, will go again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartDurham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

We returned to the Lakeside after 14 months careing for a relative. After reading some of the recent reviews we were concerened that standards had dropped, but we can honestly say they have not, they exceeded our expectations. The staff are so professional and friendly nothing is to much trouble, the food was excellent in both resturants, there was no evidence of slow service or cold plates. Our room was a premium room at the side of the hotel which was very good, very clean and very comfortable, yes it is not cheap but we believe you only get what you pay for and every penny was well worth it. We cannot wait to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeray83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Fantastic location, stunning view, great staff that are always helpful and knowledgeable. Great parking facility, best view of windermere lake, make sure you visit Gummers How. Looking back down from hat mountain is breathtaking.

Their restaurant is great, pork belly and cumberland sausage very good. Breakfast is fantastic too. There is a little cafe next to the steam train station, boat pier which serves really good cumberland sausage with chips, glass windows that one can watch the world goes by.

Rooms are very very very comfortable. It is like rooms in a house so you do hear the noise very clearly outside but it doesn't matter since it is not that noisy. Bed very comfortable, loved their white bathrooms which is always warm and really really clean and comfortable.

Beautiful pool, fantastic Spa...

Overall a flawless stay and had such a great experience at lakeside. Will surely return again and again and again!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kizzcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Enjoyed my one night stay in this Hotel. The location is fabulous....as the name suggests right on the lake side. The only possible negative thing, from my point of view, is that the meals, are rather delicate and "stacked", and priced at the high end of the market, however this is an AA rated **** hotel so that could be expected. The food quality is excellent, but if you are looking for Full English Breakfast you will be dissapointed. Bistro meals start from £17.00 for cumberland sausage and mash with desserts starting at £9.00. I did not try the main dining room as guests are expected to dress for Dinner.The dining room prices are much more expensive. All in all this hotel is what one would expect from a hotel of this class.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wooger13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We had been expecting something extra special but sadly we were disappointed. The bedrooms were adequate, nothing special, but we were impressed with the cleanliness of the bathroom and the quality of the toiletries provided,
We ate in the main restaurant and were disappointed with the slow service, tasteless soup, and the cold dishes it was served in. Our main course was also served on cold plates. We really expected more from a restaurant of this calibre, plus the coffee at the end of the meal was also lukewarm.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyGunslinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland UK
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Booked a last minute trip to the Lakeside and got a very good deal on a standard room .We were delighted with our stay, the location is stunning with beautiful views of Lake Windermere.
Our room overlooked the inner courtyard but was very comfortable and clean , the bed was very comfortable .
We ate in the brasserie once and yes it was pricey but the food was wonderfull with excellent service , we also ate at the Swan which was also a very enjoyable meal . We walked there , it took 20 minutes and came back in a taxi after dark at a cost of £3.The breakfasts were very good also.
The staff were extremely pleasant and the level of service was exellent , we were made to feel very special , nothing was too much trouble .
We used the spa and gym and the facilities were very good , I had a treatment which was so relaxing .
All in all a lovely relaxing break at a quality hotel (and we even got great weather) , we will definately return to this lovely place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwc389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,856 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Property: Lakeside Hotel
Address: Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newby Bridge
#1 Family Hotel in Newby Bridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking nothing but the Lake.....Just a stones throw away from Lake Windermere, 4 star luxury hotel with 17m pool and the only Aveda Destination Spa in the England. Choice of 2 restaurants, 2 rosette Lakeview and John Ruskins Brasserie offering a range of dining experiences. Superfast fibre optic WIFI is available FREE in all bedrooms and meeting rooms at Lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Newby Bridge, Lake District
Lakeside Newby Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing