We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 3 night stay”
Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Bucks
1 review
“Great 3 night stay”
Reviewed May 27, 2007

We stayed for 3 nights from the 9th to the 12th May 2007 and really enjoyed it. As per previous posts, the staff are excellent and nothing is too much trouble, which is particularly great when you have a 7 month old.

The food is superb, great cooked breakfast menu and we had dinner in the main restaurant one evening with baby sleeping in his pram, which could have been a major incident but passed off peacefully and again the staff were very accommodating.

The pool and spa are also first class.

We stayed in a standard double room which was fine (garden view), slightly small, although the corridor and landings are looking a bit dated, but everything considered the Lakeside is worth paying a bit more for.

  • Liked — Great staff, food, pool, location.
  • Disliked — Other guests smoking in non smoking hotel. Receptionist full of cold.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coach_Hugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    314
    89
    29
    19
See reviews for
288
678
10
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2007

Stayed for a long weekend, 12-15 May.
Great location, provided you want to be away from it all. Excellent views over lake and access to the lake cruises.
Nice room, lovely comfy beds.
The hotel itself is spotless but the overiding memory is the service from the staff ~ which can only be described as better than excellent.
A little pricey but worth it in my view.
Ate there 1 of the nights in Ruskins Brasserie ~ again very good.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telford
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2007

we stayed for 4 nights with 3 children and 1 mother.You can not fault this hotel for food, rooms, lakeside position or service.You get what you pay for as it is not cheap.every one loved our stay from age 9 to 77.

  • Liked — plenty of space and mothers view.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2007

Just spent a weekend at the Lakeside with my girlfriend as her birthday treat. The weekend including meals (ate both nights in the hotels 2 restautants) didn't come cheap but the experience was excellent. Even without the lake view room, we were in the "Country House" part of the hotel, room was a fine size with 4 poster bed.

  • Liked — The Lakeside setting obviously is the main attraction
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrGrumpy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2007

We arrived at the Hotel for our 1st wedding anniversary, we had booked a 3 night package which included Breakfast. On Arrival we were informed we had been upgraded and the room was extremely comfortable with a standard size Four Poster Bed. The room was equiped with TV (No Movies or Sat Channels), Tea & Coffee Making Facilities, hairdryer and the usual furnishings. No Mini Bar was a disappointment. The bathroom was excellent with big fluffy towels and bath robes. A powerful shower over the bath and some nice toiletries supplied. The Conservatory area has beautiful views across the lake and gardens and is very relaxing with waitress service. There is also a piano player. There is a lounge area with a roaring open fire and a nice bar area as well. We had booked for massages and facials in the Spa area, this was excellent and very relaxing, there is a fair sized pool with Jacuzzi, steam Room and Sauna. The changing rooms were very comfortable with power showers and Fluffy towels. We ate in the John Ruskin Brasserie on the 1st Evening and although the food was excellent; it was extremely warm and uncomfortable, I had arranged for my wife to recieve her eternity ring at dessert, however this simple task was beyond the staff and it was dumped on the tabel during the starter, we asked for our coffee's and liquors in the Bar to cool down and were forgotten - not what I would have expected. We ate in the lakeview restaurant on the second evening, the food here was Excellent (Gordon Ramsey Watch out...) but again the service just wasn't quite there - we were again forgotten for our coffee's etc... Overrall the hotel is beautiful and in a fabulous location - easy access to the pleasure cruises on the lake. The staff tried hard, but some of them looked busy fools. I would recommend it and would return. I have received a reply from the hotel regarding my comments and have assured me they have put corrective actions in place, however there was no apology for the eternity ring mix up which could have spoiled a great weekend.

  • Liked — The Views are Awaesome
  • Disliked — It was so Warm everywhere...
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st helens
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2007

My husband booked a Lakeside Room at the hotel for us and our 4 year old son as a mother's day treat.

I cannot speak highly enough about the staff and the way we were treated when we arrived at the hotel. Fresh Orange Juice on arrival as well as a full tour of the hotel and it's facilities by the guy who greeted us on our arrival. This together with our luggage being delivered to our room and our car being parked for us made it feel more like a 5* than a 4.

We had a spacious room which overlooked the lake and to add to the feeling of space our son's bed was made up early evening so as not to use up any extra space during the day.

The facilities ie pool, steam room and spa add to making you feel really relaxed as well as the bath robes which are provided and are in the guest rooms to make it easy for you to change in the comfort of your own room, slip a robe on. The guy who showed us around pointed out the best route to the pool from our room so that we didn't have to walk through public areas. Excellent!

The spa has a number of fantastic options available to make your stay even more memorable but it is a popuar place so I would advise to book in advance at least a couple of weeks to avoid any disappointment.

At lunch time and in the evening there is a pianist who was fantastic, not only highly talented but who will also take requests.

It is a fantastic hotel not a spider in sight never mind in the eggs! Breakfast was a delight really high quality stuff. I simply cannot praise this hotel enough and I can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — the sevice, the great views from the lakeside rooms
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paula47a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2007

My wife & I booked a 2 night weekend break at the Lakeside Hotel mid March. The hotel and service was first class. From the moment we walked through the front door they gave us what seemed like special treatment.

The location is lovely and the staff's attitude is well above average, as they always make eye contact and say hello.

We only ate at the hotel for breakfast so cant comment on their lunches and dinners, but the breakfast on both occasions was excellent. The service was both quick and efficient.

We'd highly recommend this hotel for a romantic break.

Stephen

  • Liked — The staff's manner
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
379 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,853 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,072 reviews
7.3 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Property: Lakeside Hotel
Address: Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking nothing but the Lake.....Just a stones throw away from Lake Windermere, 4 star luxury hotel with 17m pool and the only Aveda Destination Spa in the England. Choice of 2 restaurants, 2 rosette Lakeview and John Ruskins Brasserie offering a range of dining experiences. Superfast fibre optic WIFI is available FREE in all bedrooms and meeting rooms at Lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Newby Bridge, Lake District
Lakeside Newby Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing