We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just too expensive”
Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
North East
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“just too expensive”
Reviewed October 27, 2009

we too, were in room 56. which offers the most amazing views, the decor IS dated and the bathroom could use some TLC ( and instructions on how to operate the jacuzzi) but the ambience of the hotel was breathtaking. A great lad took us around the hotel, showing us where everything was, we were early and our room was not quite ready. We had coffee in the consrevatory while we waited for firends who where collecting us by boat. 2 coffees cost £8. I checked out the lunch-time menu, sandwiches £13. Thirteen pounds! For a sandwich. I am still in shock. Thank goodness we were here as guests of my husbands company. £13 - for a sandwich!
We ate in the fine dining restaurant, it was quite simply the best food I have ever tasted, Graham the waiter was great, not in the least stuffy. The hotel needs to get him training the rather prim waitresses at breakfast in Ruskins.
The temperature controller of the Hotel also needs to address the oppressive heat, especially at breakfast time, I almost passed out in the middle of my eggs benedict.
I had been disappointed to find my morning cuppa in bed had to rely on UHT milk. When paying these sort of prices ( did I mention 13 quid for a sarni??) the least one expects is fresh milk. We stayed 1 night. The total spend was over 600 pounds ( we did drink champagne) - and that was without a sandwich. The bed was sublime.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaznTrevNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    315
    88
    29
    20
See reviews for
289
678
10
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, UK
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

The Lakeside achieves that rarely achieved mix of personal service, excellent food, beautiful setting, lovely rooms, great pool and an atmosphere that makes you feel completely relaxed from the minute you arrive. The staff here are excellent, with the right balance of great personal service with a friendly, informal approach. Our room was beautiful, with a small patio area and a path direct to the lake shore. The pool area and spa is excellent, and only a few steps from our room. Lovely public areas with real fires to sit and read the papers or enjoy a nightcap. My birthday dinner in the main restaurant was excellent, breakfast was lovely and the brasserie dinner on the second night very good. Very sorry to leave - could have stayed for the week.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CEH60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2009

We stayed for three nights on one of their special three nights for the price of two. The location is wonderful and the staff are very friendly and attentive but we were disappointed with our room and also the over priced brasserie. We stayed in room 56, which costs over £400 per night for two for bed and breakfast. The room needs completely refurbishing.The view was wonderful but the carpets grubby and the windows dirty. The bathroom wasn't up to standard . Many of the tiles on the floor weren't grouted , some were cracked and the jacussi bath needs replacing. The breakfast was very good but the evening dining options are limited, essentially it's the same menu in the dining room and the brasserie. The brasserie is slightly less expensive, but isn't worth the £33 per person for two courses and coffee. We felt it was a four star menu for 5 star prices .One night we ate at the Swan pub/Hotel at nearby Newby Bridge, which is far better value. The Hotel has much charm and the staff are very good, but at these prices it needs to offer really excellent accomodation and food in order to deliver better value for money.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val63London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Had a fantastic weekend. The staff are so attentive & nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are beautifully kept & decorated. Food is super. The location 1st class - away from the hussle & bussle but accessable by boat if you don't want to drive.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor5Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluellaa51
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2009

My husband booked this hotel for our wedding anniversary, from the moment we arrived we felt like we were royalty. The service was impeccable, nothing was too much trouble for the staff, the cuisine was second to none, from the breakfast to dinner in the restaurant. We had treatments in the Spa which were brilliant and unhurried and there was a swimming pool but we didn't try this. The views from our bedroom windows were to die for, especially the mist on the lake first thing in the morning. As an added bonus the weather was blue skies and sunny!!

My husband did say that he would have liked a reference in the hotel room ie flowers, chocolates etc to the fact that it was a wedding anniversary celebration as this was mentioned at the time of booking.

Other than that Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluellama51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

We stayed at the Lakeside for a birthday weekend in September. On arrival, we were "bumped" to a better class of suite than the one we had booked (thank you!) which was a lovely room but unfortunately overlooked the garden and the lake. Note to self - remember to keep curtains closed when having coffee in the morning! The only quibble with the room apart from the fact people could see in from outside was the amount of spiders trolling about both inside and immediately outside - not large ones, I hasten to add, but you could have a problem if you were a serious arachnaphobic. I know it's tricky to manage that near a lake, but maybe cleaning the windows outside more often would help?
Service was good, and the staff very friendly and helpful. Food at both restaurants was good but not excellent for the price. A small service point - if you decant wine for a customer, do it at the table - I'm still not convinced we got the right one back - but didn't want to spoil my birthday dinner by complaining and as my husband didn't comment and was paying, it seemed churlish to do so.
The real key is the location - right next to the Windermere ferries and with a lovely view over Gummers How. If you want a great vantage point to explore the lake, it's a winner.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsiaphileLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

The hotel failed to provide us with the accommodation we had asked for, this despite our having booked several weeks in advance, and reconfirmed prior to arrival, both times specifying our exact requirements. A straightforward request, one would have thought. But no, we were assigned the wrong room and then kept waiting in the wrong room while the member of staff disappeared to try and correct the mistake. We were then advised by 'phone that the 'wrong' room would be reconfigured to the 'right' room. Cue, eventually, the arrival of the maid to push and pull the furniture, strip the bed and dump the excess linen in the corner. The result? Two exhaused, frustrated guests left with a hotchpotch of a room that looked far worse than when we had walked in half an hour previously. No apology, no offer of alternative accommodation, no invitation to wait in the lounge while the room was prepared. No initiative in the minds of the hotel staff! I ventured to discuss the matter later with front desk and was met with incomprehension, and worse, indifference. Our expectations were well and truly dashed and we were glad to get away. But the bill made us wince. The charges are comparable to London. Unfortunately the service is not.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audreytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,853 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Property: Lakeside Hotel
Address: Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newby Bridge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newby Bridge
#1 Family Hotel in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking nothing but the Lake.....Just a stones throw away from Lake Windermere, 4 star luxury hotel with 17m pool and the only Aveda Destination Spa in the England. Choice of 2 restaurants, 2 rosette Lakeview and John Ruskins Brasserie offering a range of dining experiences. Superfast fibre optic WIFI is available FREE in all bedrooms and meeting rooms at Lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Newby Bridge, Lake District
Lakeside Newby Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing