We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my favourite place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
n.ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“my favourite place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2008

just returned from another wonderful break at lakeside.can not find fault with this place. so welcoming ,friendly, courteous staff the only downside was going to another hotel in the cotswolds after our stay in the lakes which just didnt compare. cant wait for our next short break to the lakeside which is definitely worth the trip across in the ferry from northern ireland.

  • Liked — setting and staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jekerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    306
    84
    24
    20
See reviews for
279
649
9
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
132 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2008

A trip to Windermere is always such a relaxing treat, but this hotel makes it special. The accomodation is pristine and beautiful with outstanding lake views. The food is devine with breakfast being an event - as close to fine dining breakfast as you can get. The service is superb from the moment you arrive you are greeted with professional yet warm welcomes and this friendliness continues from all staff. The leisure centre too is wonderful with steam room, sauna, pool and towels galore, This hotel cant do enough for guests and the location is fabulous. Quirky odd touches like duck feeding each morning add to the charm. As do the scented geraniums in the conservatory.
Fresh flowers adorn public areas and the Wedgwood china is pristine.
A fabulous hotel that I recommend for lovers of food and comfort and relaxation.

  • Liked — quality food and accomodation
  • Disliked — the stay was too short
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MissDollyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2008

We recently stayed for just one night but found everything about the hotel to be first rate. From the minute we arrived the staff were very attentive and this carried on throughout our stay. I would say that this was probably the best service I've ever had. We had dinner in the bistro and this was great value and excellant food. I've read comments about the size of the rooms being an issue but our room ( deluxe double) was more than spacious. The only downside was the lunch which was limited in choice and was over priced - but this was a small point in what otherwise was an excellent hotel

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank newc1_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2008

We try and get a weekend away at the Lakeside twice a year, This has got to be the nicest Hotel In the Lakes. The Service, food, rooms and hospitality can not be beaten.
Both Restaurants can not be Faulted and Breakfast choice is Fantastic. If you can try and book the Suites they are truly Luxurious!!! I can not reccomend this Hotel enough!!! The best of the best!!! Any Questions please contact me!!

  • Liked — the suites
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank helya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2008

My husband and I spent a night at the Lakeside the day after our wedding. We wanted to get away for a night to celebrate and the hotel made that possible. The room was small but very tasteful. The bathroom had obviously been re-fitted recently, and was very smart. We ate in the main restaurant for evening meal and breakfast, both were delicious and service was very good. We also used the swimming pool and jacuzzi on the saturday afternoon, which was lovely. Towels were provided, and the whole leisure centre was very clean.

We will definately return to the hotel again and will hopefully get better weather next time!

  • Liked — Restaurant
  • Disliked — Rooms slightly on small side
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlemrsorganised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. From the moment you arrive the staff are warm and friendly. The lounge areas are welcoming and beautifully furnished with comfy sofas and open fires. There is also a small pub - which is lovely and cosy with wood panelling. The large conservatory area over looking the lake is perfect for afternoon tea and is kept beautifully warm. Our room was a family suite (rm 73) and had a lake view. This was a bedroom and a sitting room with a pull- down double bed which the housekeeping staff put up and down every day. The maids did an excellent job too - folding clothes and keeping everywhere tidy (even putting in bookmarks!). We ate in the Ruskin Brasserie, which was excellent but didn't try the fine-dining restaurant as we chose to try some local gastropubs. The breakfast was excellent and was served until 11am. The pool and spa areas are new and gleaming. The pool is large and warm with a great shallow bit for younger kids and a jacuzzi alongside. There is also a steam room and sauna. There is an Aveda spa and a gym area too. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone as the staff are some of the best I have encountered anywhere and the hotel is very welcoming.

  • Liked — Staff, atmosphere and location
  • Disliked — Everything was good
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2008

We've been coming to The Lakeside for years, mainly for business, sometimes for family breaks and always for rest and relaxation. It's a great hotel with slightly variable standards - we've had some meals in the 'fine dining' restaurant that deserve a Michelin star and some that are about as good as you'd expect for the price.

Occasionally the food in the brasserie isn't quite what you'd expect from the menu and it's irritating to have to be granted an exception from the 3-course menu if you are not feeling so hungry. The wine list in the brasserie is also a bit limited, but you can ask for the list from the main restaurant if you want.

But those are relatively minor issues. The location is always fantastic, whatever the weather. We'd recommend rooms with a view of the lake; though we've stayed happily enough in others, including a football pitch sized family room. Sitting outside by the lake in the summer, sipping chilled white wine and drinking in the scenery, is one of life's best pleasures.

What's really lovely about this hotel though are the staff. One example: there's free wifi in (most of) the bedrooms. This worked fine but I had a problem sending email. I needed some technical information to make this work; despite not knowing what I was talking about the receptionist made it her job to find out and, sure enough, on our return there was a note under our door with the details I needed.

Then there is the Spice Room - a wonderful, easily overlooked private dining area near the brasserie. It's just been completely refurbished in the most fabulous, stylish way. One of the waitresses made it her job to turn on the extravagant lights for us, clearly proud of what the owner of the hotel had achieved.

The swimming pool is a big 25 metres - great for exercise - and features slate walls with lake scenes that dreamily mist up with the condensation from the pool. The accompanying spa facilities are - like much of the hotel - stylish and professional.

All in all you do feel that the Lakeside is a place that is really cared for and where the staff really care for the clients. It's not cheap - and the hotel does encourage you to spend your money! - but I challenge anyone to leave this hotel without feeling completely refreshed and invigorated.

  • Liked — lakeside location and swimming pool
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank z00nie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
20.8 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Property: Lakeside Hotel
Address: Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newby Bridge
#1 Family Hotel in Newby Bridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking nothing but the Lake.....Just a stones throw away from Lake Windermere, 4 star luxury hotel with 17m pool and the only Aveda Destination Spa in the England. Choice of 2 restaurants, 2 rosette Lakeview and John Ruskins Brasserie offering a range of dining experiences. Superfast fibre optic WIFI is available FREE in all bedrooms and meeting rooms at Lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Newby Bridge, Lake District
Lakeside Newby Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing