We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lakeside Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Newby Bridge Hotel(Newby Bridge)
$81
$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Swan Hotel & Spa(Newby Bridge)
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$266
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakes End Guest House(Newby Bridge)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,413)
Filter reviews
1,413 results
Traveler rating
922
343
96
30
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
922
343
96
30
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake viewjohn ruskinafternoon teamain restaurantan aquariumfine diningtraditional hotellake districtper headnothing is too much troublesandwichesstunning locationspecial occasionlovely hotelhotel facilitiestop classsteam train
Filter
Updating list...
983 - 988 of 1,413 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We just walked in for a bite and had an overall great experience. My starter (cheese souffles) was the best I've ever had. The mean course was fine (but I would have preferred another couple of the souffles!). Very nice kids menu, kids can create their own meal, selecting different ingredients! Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Andreatwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a family room, which was great as it had a separate room for our five year old son. The room was clean although we did find a night time pull up nappy on the top shelf of the wardrobe, so unsure if the cleaner looks everywhere to clean! The plumbing in the bathroom wasn’t great, with very low pressure water from the sink taps, poor flushing toilet and blocked plug hole in the bath. However, someone came very quickly and sorted the plug hole.

Unfortunately we didn’t get a view of the lake – just a wall, painted different colours.

The breakfast was very good – nice food and good service.

We did eat in the Brasserie one night. The hotel describes it as an informal setting, however, we didn’t find this. It was a very formal atmosphere with waiters serving food wearing white gloves (something we would associate with fine dining!). Moreover, you are presented with a ‘bar menu’ (this is on their website), with a selection of meals that aren’t really bar menu prices – for example, Fish and Chips at £21, and Sirloin steak at £28. The food was ok, but not fantastic.

The pool was a good size and was not busy. The water was very cold though.

Most of the staff were very friendly.

The hotel is in a good location with a great view over the lake.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestYorkshireFamily9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is one of my favourite and unique independent hotels, perfectly placed in the Lake District. I have been several times and it has always been very good. The food and restaurant services fantastic, the main restaurant second to none. Everyone always happy to talk and help you. The views across the lakes are just lovely and it provides a perfect base to travel from - if you don't want to use your car the ferry terminal to go up the lake to the other towns is just a short walk away.
(the travel date is wrong as I have been several times).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelvUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have visited the lakeside many times both overnight and for lunch and it never fails to impress.
The setting is fantastic, the service was excellent and the food beautifully prepared. It is always one of the highlights of our visits to take lunch in the conservatory, their home made tartar sauce is fantastic , I wouldnt hesitate to take friends and family here as the staff always deliver.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesJules00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I'm not one for making a fuss but I feel the need to make a complaint about the level of service over lunch. We waited over an hour for sandwiches two bowls of soup and a bowl of chips to arrive. When it did and after complaining to staff twice we were totally left feeling ripped off and hungry. Avoid avoid and avoid buy some duck food instead, it's cheaper and better value for money. One last point, the hotel was good enough to wave our bill and if this had not been the case I would have been even more critical.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Paul341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews