We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again....”
Review of Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
On the sofa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Back again....”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Apparently there is nowhere else to go in the world. My wife books the place time and time again. I want to go to buntlin's in skegness and dance with fat women in white shoes. But NO we have to go there ,the lakeside . Mr Derek Phillips CEO of the lakeside runs the place like Buckingham palace and it is wonderful to be there.
The last time breakfast was disappointing ,so this time I took my own small tin of beans , breakfast 10/ 10
We just love being there
The place is fabulous , well done Mr Phillps

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaughtyOnthesofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    318
    90
    29
    20
See reviews for
295
684
10
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We visit the Lakeside Hotel regularly for lunch, coffee or afternoon tea, all of which are delightful. But we recently went to experience a spa day. Which I would say all in all was a delightful day out apart from the Gym.
The equipment there is very dated, temperamental and squeaky. It lets you down for a four star Hotel you have a two star gym.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Lakeside many times and found it to be a wonderful place. However, we had a poor experience earlier this year, when the service was way below previous standards. Despite that, we decided to pay yet another visit. I'm so pleased to report that everything about our stay was simply AMAZING. The measure of a good business is how they put things right when things have gone wrong and they most certainly have. We've stayed in many top hotels around the world and I've got to say that this is the most relaxing place we've ever stayed at. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The food is very, very good(we ate at a very famous restaurant earlier this year, not a million miles from Newby Bridge and I know which I'd prefer!) and the Lake view terrace room was excellent, including one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in. If you are looking for somewhere to recharge the batteries, I can't think of anywhere else I'd rather be. If you are coming to the Lake District, then this is a must. Would give it 6 out of 5 if I could!

Room Tip: Over the last 12 or 13 years we've been going to the Lakeside, we've stayed in every style o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Lakeside Haotel is the perfect place to relax and unwind. The hotel combines luxury and calm. Its location on Windermere, literally yards from the water and proximity to the departure point of the lake cruise, means you are in tranquility and yet, able to enjoy a cruise and be in the relative bustle of Bowness.

The accomodation is excellent and the food delightful. The hotel has an excellent spa including a decent sized swimming pool. The staff were very attentive - car parked for us and bags taken to the room.

We stayed two nights and we all said "when will be coming back?"

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view - it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGW_Photos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Obvious lake side location ( the quite bit of windermere not the ultra commercial part ). The lake cruise departs a few yards away from the hotel. Very clean, good sized lake view room, great spa facilities, excellent helpful staff. Free parking. The restaurant serves a reasonable breakfast. So overall... definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: lake view of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raza R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We spend a lot of time in the ln the Lake District and have stayed in many of its hotels including the renowned Sharrow Bay. My opinion is that the Lakeside is better in every respect other than the view, and its a lot less expensive.

Room Tip: We had a lake view room, but in reality i find that we spend very little time actually looking out o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clive_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We booked the Lakeside View Suite. £366.00 for two nights. Staff very attentive on arrival, luggage taken to our suite, car parked for us, which i believe is normal practice, but as it was pouring with rain this was very welcome!! The suite was lovely, very clean, the bed was sooo comfortable, (we have a water bed so getting a bed to match its comfort is usually hard to find!) The hotel was pretty quiet when we visited, which in my book is a bonus. The area is beautiful, and the views are stunning, even on cold, windy, rainy days. I have to say though, we were a little disappointed with the dining. Only there for two nights, night one the brasserie was closed to the guests as there was a private function, leaving the fine dining restaurant, which having traveled, we wanted something less formal, so opted for the Ruskins bar meal. I was shocked at the price of £21.00 for fish and chips. I chose braised beef with vegetables and at £24.00 was quite disappointed as my meal was barely warm. £4.50 for a pot of coffee and £7.25 for a glass of wine left me feeling a little deflated. Looking forward to breakfast, although small amounts was lovely. But i must point out for two boiled eggs and their version of "soldiers" (chip stick thin) at £19.95 is a little excessive!! My husband was expecting a golden chicken to lay the eggs for him!! Fortunately our breakfast was included, but for anyone just buying a breakfast it must have come as a shock to them. Overall, the Hotel we couldn't fault, we loved it. Pricewise for food and drinks, they have the monopoly as there are only other 4* star establishments close by. We traveled to a pub about ten miles away, which was recommended by a local, on our second night, the food was piping hot, very generous in proportions and half the price!! Sorry Lakeside Hotel. I would recommend it though as the Hotel and staff are lovely.

Room Tip: Definitely book a lakeside view. We had the Lakeside Suite, large bay window, perfect views even in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newby Bridge
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.1 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,879 reviews
1.0 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
505 reviews
4.2 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Hotel

Property: Lakeside Hotel
Address: Lake Windermere, Newby Bridge LA12 8AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Newby Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newby Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking nothing but the Lake.....Just a stones throw away from Lake Windermere, 4 star luxury hotel with 17m pool and the only Aveda Destination Spa in the England. Choice of 2 restaurants, 2 rosette Lakeview and John Ruskins Brasserie offering a range of dining experiences. Superfast fibre optic WIFI is available FREE in all bedrooms and meeting rooms at Lakeside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Newby Bridge, Lake District
Lakeside Newby Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing