We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We loved it!”
other travelers have booked this property
Eller How House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Eller How House
Sitting room A selection of books and games available in the sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
Eller How House
Sitting room
A selection of books and games available in the sitting room
the sitting room
the dining area from the kitchen
The spacious entrance hall
a corner of the first floor bedroom with a view to the balcony
first floor bedroom
first floor bedroom
ensuite with roll top bath
ground floor twin bedroom ( zip-link beds)
ground floor double bedroom
The view from the first floor balcony
the driveway past the lake
courtyard seating area
one of the woodland walks
the balcony to the master bedroom
courtyard parking to the side of the house
Eller How House across the ice during a recent snowy Christmas
Eller How House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Newby Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MLBCougar
Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“We loved it!”
Reviewed January 2, 2017 for a stay in June 2016

This was our first time in England. We loved staying at the Eller How House while we visited the Lake District. The owners were very hospitable and friendly. The home was very beautiful and we loved going on little hikes around the property. The location is very convenient. We stayed 4 days and wished we could have stayed longer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlyBee13
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay - highly recommended”
Reviewed September 25, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed at Eller How from 19-23 Sept. The house was gorgeous, very spacious, spotlessly clean and well equipped for a large group. There were 5 adults, 1 toddler and 2 dogs in our party. The rooms were large and all ensuite which is hard to find! We stayed in the master bedroom upstairs which had a gorgeous balcony overlooking the garden.
Helen, the owner, was available to answer any queries, even helping me out with some gardening queries for my own garden. She is a delightful, attentive host, without intruding on our family time.
Only two tiny things which would've been helpful to know in advance - first was no mobile phone reception at all for O2 for quite some distance around the property, not something which can be rectified but better to know in advance. The second thing was that there is no shower in the master ensuite so we had to use the 2 shower rooms downstairs. If a shower head was available, just the rubber one that attaches to the taps for hair washing etc, that would've been very useful.
We hope to return soon and will definitely recommend Eller How to friends and family!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fire in the livingroom
Liked least: Lack of showerhead in master ensuite
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 27, 2016
Thank you for taking time to write a review and we are glad that you all enjoyed your stay.
We do usually check that you have a mobile signal when when first meet you and I am sorry that we were not aware of the lack of O2 signal as it used to be available. There is a jug for hair washing....a bit old fashioned I realise, but we had to remove the shower attachments after a disastrous 'accident' which resulted in an insurance claim! There are two powerful showers downstairs and as we usually have families or groups of friends staying this does suffice.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa l
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay in a little piece of history”
Reviewed July 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Eller how house is simply beautiful! We were a party of 6 adults & 2 dogs staying for a week in July. The house is so spacious which was important for the six of us. Spotlessly clean & very well equipped, furniture, bedding & furnishings were all very comfortable and good quality. Lovingly restored & situated in wonderful grounds, we all thoroughly enjoyed our
holiday. On arrival we were greeted with a home made cake - thank you Helen - what a nice touch! Ideally situated to explore the southern lakes & some local good pubs to enjoy. A couple of points worth noting are - be careful when approaching the property which is situated off a very fast dual carriageway. Also the parking courtyard whilst large when you're in there is very tight to actually get through. We managed both VERY carefully, & certainly did not detract from this heavenly property.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 27, 2016
Thank you for taking time to write a review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Eller How House.
We do advise our guests of the tight turn into the courtyard before they arrive and can offer alternative parking if needed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
horsewild...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fabulous house with the best hosts, perfection.”
Reviewed June 11, 2016 for a stay in January 2014

Eller How House is a calm and tranquil retreat in the Lakes, hosted with perfection by it's owners who are a very cool couple. They are on hand should you need them but give you all the space you require as they live next door. Not intrusive one bit. Their love of this wonderful building is apparent in the quality furniture and linens, it's restored to an excellent standard. I stayed with my Mother over New Year and we had a wonderful stay with our two dogs. The local walking is a joy and Eller How House really feels live a private retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 27, 2016
Thank you for taking time to write a review. You will always be most welcome to stay at Eller How.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
653clared
Swineshead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ Birthday treat”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Had the most amazing time at Eller How House..the photos just don't do this beautiful house any justice...Helen and John are the most hospitable hosts with a delicious cake to welcome us. We will most definitely be booking again.....Thank you so much

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 27, 2016
Thank you Clare for submitting a review.We do hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Idyllic house and grounds”
Reviewed May 18, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

I have just returned from a family weekend break at Eller How. The house is beautiful - very well equipped with large kitchen/diner and wonderful comfortable lounge overlooking the lovely gardens. It is well situated for exploring the Lake District and for a peaceful relaxing Holiday. Helen and John, the owners, make you very welcome and are on hand if you need anything. I would highly recommend this lovely house and grounds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 27, 2016
We hope that you will be able to stay at Eller How in the future Margaret. Thank you for writing a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieBrew
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful, spacious and very unusual”
Reviewed May 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

From the moment we saw Eller How House on the internet, we were intrigued with the house and it did not disappoint. The delicious Victoria sponge cake and fresh flowers greeting us were a lovely surprise.

Directions to the property are excellent. The house is very spacious and just perfect for our family celebration, with all rooms en suite and space for a cot too. A highchair and stair gate are provided on request.

The house is in a very quiet location down a long drive, although do take care entering the courtyard parking if your vehicle is wider than normal. Views of the garden from the upstairs lounge are really lovely. The kitchen is very well equipped with plenty of crockery and cutlery. Each bedroom has plenty of room, particularly the huge master upstairs. Showers are excellent.

There was absolutely nothing we needed that was not provided. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and space
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you all enjoyed your stay and that the birthday is one that will be remembered!
The courtyard entrance was made for older, narrower vehicles but do ask as we have alternative parking for anyone worried about driving through!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing