We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful place to see in the New Year”
other travelers have booked this property
Front of Low Mill Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Low Mill Cottage
Enjoy relaxing in the lovely patio garden Lounge with slate flooring, wood-burner and french doors opening onto patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Front of Low Mill Cottage
Enjoy relaxing in the lovely patio garden
Lounge with slate flooring, wood-burner and french doors opening onto patio
Woodburner makes it a very warm cosy cottage
Dining area in the comfortable lounge
Well equipped kitchen
Front of Low Mill Cottage
Low Mill Cottage
Spacious bedroom with King size bed
Lovely sunny double bedroom
Single bedroom
Luxury bathroom
Luxury Bathroom
Enjoy meals al-fresco
Delightful sunny patio garden
High Dam in Autumn
High Dam a delightful walk from the cottage door
View of Grasmere from Helm Crag
High Dam beautiful walk from the cottage door
View from Gummers Howe Lake Windermere towards Lakeside
Delightful double bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Newby Bridge, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laura D
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to see in the New Year”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed at Low Mill Cottage over the New Year 2013-2014. It is in a beautiful location, not too isolated but surrounded by beautiful countryside. Cottage is lovely and clean with plenty of room for 4-5 adults. Log fire is a particular novelty, and very welcome during a winter stay, although central heating was very easy to use. Well-equipped kitchen to prepare meals. Lots of fun games and puzzles for the rainy days. Many places nearby to visit, we particularly enjoyed a meal at the nearby Swan Hotel in Newby Bridge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort of the cottage
Liked least: No hairdryer available
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 9, 2014
Thank you for your very positive lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your New Year break at
Low Mill Cottage. The Swan hotel is a favourite of ours also. We hope to welcome you back another time.

Kathryn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canadiang...
UK
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great cottage in the countryside!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in November 2013. We booked it last minute as it was a perfect location for exploring the Lakes, and more so it was dog friendly. It accommodated us (4 adults) and our two Labradors easily. The cottage was of a good standard and very clean. The living accommodation was cosy especially with the log burning fire in the lounge. The cottage is well located near Newby Bridge (near the lovely Swan Hotel) and the 4* Lakeside Hotel. We spent plenty of time in the outdoors and enjoyed the walks to High Dam around the corner from the cottage. Overall a great weekend in a lovely cottage.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2013
Thank you for reviewing the cottage and all your positive comments.
We hope to welcome you back soon. Kathryn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare C
Abbotts Ann, Andover, Hants
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We had a lovely mini break at Low Mill Cottage. The interior decoration was very lovely- I could have moved in!
The bedrooms were well designed and all the beds were very comfortable. The only downside was that the microwave did not work- apart from that though- a very lovely cottage. Would recommend this cottage to family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Liked the whole package and the fact that the owners allowed dogs
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Low Mill Cottage. Yes we agree that the beds are certainly very comfy!!
The microwave wasn't faulty it was the switch on the wall which has now been replaced. If guests have a problem when staying we do encourage them to ring and let us know so we can sort it whilst you are there.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRatcliff...
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quaint and cosy - Couldn't of asked for more!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I was very close to giving up my search to find the perfect cottage that met my self-confessed high standards and expectations after weeks of trawling through letting sites and having no luck... Until I came across this little beauty!
Finding it the day before we wanted to go away and for it to have everything I was looking for within a reasonable price range seemed to good to be true. It was not.

The cottage is immaculately clean and well kept. The decor is really nicely done, not too modern for a cottage however not dated either. Coming back from long walks and snuggling up in front of the authentic log fire with a glass of wine was nothing short of perfect.
We stayed for four nights, two of those we cooked in the charming kitchen which had everything we needed, and the other two we ate at The Swan Inn restaurant/pub which was a ten minute taxi ride away.

The starting point of the High Dam walk is just around the corner and something that I highly recommend doing. We did the walk on the first day we got there and managed to time it just as the sun was setting over the Dam - Stunning!!

Would stay here again in a heartbeat and have already recommended it to family & friends!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Log Fire
Liked least: The Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2013
Thank you so much for all your positive feedback. The cottage is situated in a lovely quiet area, and High Dam and The Swan Hotel are two of our favorite places to visit also.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StellaW52...
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Home from Home”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We had a wonderful few days in the lakes and this cottage is right at the bottom of lake Windermere in beautiful countryside. It has everything you need for a home from home and I would recommend it to everyone

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: No Wifi - meant more family time
Liked least: cold floors in the morning
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We hope that you also enjoyed the rest of your holiday in the UK.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewed May 7, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How comfortable and cosy the cottage is.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our cottage, and for all your lovely comments. We would love to welcome you back.
Kathryn Redford
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 16, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely log fire
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to review the cottage. We have many guests returning to Low Mill, and we hope that you will stay with us again. Kathryn Redford
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing