We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic retreat for couples”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lorton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Broomlands Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Lorton B&B and Inns
Llanymynech, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic retreat for couples”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just returned from Broomlands after spending 3 nights there. Hosts Bernard & Alison were very welcoming, and attentive to our comforts, offering service beyond what would normally be expected for a B&B. The breakfasts and the room were of an extremely high standard, in a stunning house set in a beautiful location. Alison frequently provided trays of tea, coffee and cakes throughout the day and evening, nothing ever seemed to be to much trouble. Breakfast was sumptuous and featured quality local produce excellently cooked by Bernard and wonderfully served by Alison. Having stayed in many B&B's over the years, Broomlands offers a service that is second to none and is highly recommended particularly for those who are looking for a quality break in a secluded and peaceful environment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
36
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

last minute booking. V. helpful phone call and we were so glad we found Broomlands. Stunning rooms/breakfast.Immaculately clean. fantastic shower. Pity no bath tub for a soak after long walk nothing too much trouble. most comfortable bed we have sleep on in our travels.very comfortable and relaxing. still warm shortbread for afternoon tea, and a fire in the evening with a glass of wine. Perfect. We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

What an amazing place to stay! We were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary & wanted to stay somewhere special. We were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived (Thursday) to the end of our stay (Sunday) we were well looked after and made to feel most welcome.
We stayed in The Yellow Room which was beautiful, spacious and had great views.
The whole house was immaculate. There was a variety of rooms to relax in or you can sit in the large garden while having tea & homemade cakes! The days started with Alison laying out a sumptuous choice of food followed by one of Bernard's hearty breakfasts.
Lorton was a lovely quiet village and very picturesque scenery all round.
We were guided by our hosts to have a meal at the Kirkstile Inn which was a charming old place to eat with delicious food. Well worth a visit.
Our last night we booked in to eat at Broomlands and Bernard cooked a delicious meal for us. It was an enjoyable night and we shall remember it with fond memories!
Our only disappointment was that we had to go home!!!! Can't wait to return!
Thank you Bernard & Alison.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed overnight at Broomlands last week - the service, attention to detail and views were all outstanding and we cannot recommend the experience highly enough.

The hosts were both extremely intuitive to our needs during our stay and their house is both sumptuous and relaxing. Our room was fabulous in every way with a luxurious bathroom, inclusive of a walk-in shower.

For those looking for a bed and breakfast with a touch of class, Broomlands is for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrapston, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Simply put this was an outstanding B & B and one we would highly recommend to all our family and friends.
We stayed for a long weekend from Friday to Sunday for a friends wedding in the village (Lorton). All the hotels on the wedding info were booked out so we did a google search and came across this b&b, and boy are we glad we did!
We chose the yellow room for our stay, which was luxurious with a great bathroom and double bath a separate shower and plenty of room, with a sofa for reading and relaxing in the room too. It had great views of the surrounding hills.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and didn't want to leave! It was very peaceful and just perfect for a short break.
The hosts have great attention to detail. The house was exceptionally clean and homely throughout with great touches and details everywhere. Such a gorgeous home and gardens.
On our arrival on Friday afternoon we were given gorgeous home baked cakes and tea in the lovely garden room where we sat and unwound very peacefully.
The hosts (as many of the other reviews back up) were attentive but also gave you your privacy and weren't intrusive at all. They were most helpful when we couldn't get a taxi to and from the wedding the short distance and offered to chauffeur us there and back!
I hope we get the opportunity to visit again for another long weekend at some point in the future as it was simply perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Comfortable, quiet, loads of space to relax, both inside and outside. Immacuate throughout. The hosts are friendly and helpful; there when needed, without being intrusive. You'll want to stay there forever.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I wouldn't normally come onto TA to write a positive review, however I feel compelled to.
My partner and I used Broomlands as our home for the bank holiday weekend whilst I was here to do some cycling and walking. We look for a while for something that wasn't just a 'standard' bed and breakfast, until we came accross Alison and Bernard's place.
We stumbled upon the website and it was just what we were looking for. After a very helpful and easy phone call we were booked in.
Upon arrival, the hosts were very understanding that we'd been travelling a while and immediately offered us refreshments before showing us to our fabulous room. We chose the cream room for our stay - it was perfect.
Throughout the whole stay the food, wine and company were nothing but exquisite. From start to finish we were made to feel like it was our home away from home and Bernard and Alison went out of their way constantly to make us comfortable.
I will definitely be returning here if I need accommodation in the area again, without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Broomlands Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broomlands Bed & Breakfast

Property: Broomlands Bed & Breakfast
Address: High Lorton, Lorton CA13 9UL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Lorton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lorton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Broomlands Country House, set in the vale of Lorton within the Lake District National Park. An outstanding location, stylishly tranquil, friendly and something a little different, our ethos is simple, whatever your reason or for however long you are staying, our home is your home from the moment you arrive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Broomlands Bed & Breakfast Lorton, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing