We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful holiday cottage.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Lorton, Cockermouth, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dave S
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful holiday cottage.”
Reviewed July 30, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We shared the cottage as a family of 6 adults and two dogs. The cottage is fantastic as a family home and base. It's easy to get to Keswick and other areas. Plenty of room in the cottage, the small bedroom which is stated as only suitable for children will be ok for two adults as long as your friendly and adaptable!! The owners are really wonderful people and will help with any matters arising. I was able to leave my mirror dinghy and Canadian canoe in the parking area and we could still get 3 cars in. The trout lakes are worth a go and supper is quite easy to catch (you will have to pay for the fish). Can't fault this place as a family holiday venue but make sure you take some insect repellant as it will be needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the friendliness of the owners
Liked least: Flying things which bite
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 19, 2015
Good evening
Thank you for your review following your stay at Scales Cottage. We are delighted that you enjoyed this fantastic cottage and its location and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greencall
sitting room
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming, Friendly, Picturesque, Well Situated”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I hired the cottage to spend a week with our young children (5 & 9), my husband and his parents. We had such a lovely time.

My children were fascinated by the farm, the animals and the fishing lake and the farmers and their families couldn't have made us feel more welcome. They showed us around the milking parlour, answered a million questions and even protected the kids from the inevitable outcome when you stand below the wrong end of a cow!! All with good humour and lots of patience. My son developed an obsession with fishing which I was happy to encourage because the view from the fishing ponds is just lovely.

The cottage itself is very nice, clean, very well equipped and finished to a high standard. It really does have all the amenities of a home rather than a rental cottage.

It is ideally located for loads and loads of great days out with kids. We "Went Ape" at Grizedale, had a lovely walk around Buttermere, searched for the Gruffalo at Whinlatter, were gently educated in conservation at The Lake District Wildlife Park and surprised ourselves with how great the Pencil Museum is!

We finished nearly every day with a stroll down to the fishing ponds, half an hour catch with the best farm dogs ever and a happy evening around the kitchen table with a glass of wine and a bottle of whisky.

I'm so glad I chose Scales Cottage for our yearly visit back to England, I was not disappointed and would highly recommend it to other families

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendliness, Welcome, High Standard of Cottage, Beautiful Countryside
Liked least: Stupidly forgot wellies, which really are necessary on a working dairy farm
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to inform Lakes Cottage Holidays of your feedback after your stay at Scales Cottage, High Lorton.

Thank you for recommending Scales Cottage to others!

Lakes Cottage Holidays are delighted to hear you had a lovely time at the cottage and found it to be well equipped and furnished to a good standard during your stay.

We are also pleased to learn you took advantage of the location of Scales Cottage and visited many local attractions.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Scales Cottage in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chellie W
Rawcliffe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Out standing and will be returning”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I would like to start by saying please ignore any negative comments surrounding this cottage .

We hired the cottage for a full week for four adults and three dogs. When we arrived we were met by the owner who warmly welcomed us and our bouncing dogs after a long drive to the lakes . When entering the cottage it was warm , spotlessly clean with plenty of space for all and furniture of a high standard which ensured comfort and rest.

On morning two like all city girls I got lost and found myself on the wrong path with dairy cows on the move. I was found by the farm owner who gave me a lift right back to the cottage to ensure myself and my dogs were not stampeded by the cows. Within my lift I was assured that it happened to many people and I was not made to feel stupid at all.

During our stay we cooked many meals within the kitchen after walking all day . The fridge and freezer was large which ensured we could stock up . The kitchen was well equipped with pots and pans of all sizes , plates bowls and all the cooking utensils you could possibly need or want (we even found a vegetable steamer and a meat grill ) . The kitchen had a fully working wood burner which was lovely to have burning whilst eating a meal around the kitchen table of an evening after a long day walking .

The bedrooms were light and airy and the beds were so comfortable , along with the peace and quite of the countryside and the lovely beds I have not slept so well in years .

The bathroom had a outstanding power shower and with four of us there , there was always hot water and the bath was deep to relax aching feet after a long day.

There has been many comments on here about dogs and rules . I feel that the rules were very fair and are the same you apply in your own home , dogs are not allowed to sit on the furniture or be in bedrooms . The dogs are allowed in any other part of the cottage . There is a great court yard with fencing all around which allowed all of our dogs to wonder freely in and out. The farmers working on the farm were very friendly towards the dogs always stopping to say hello and give them a quick pat.

I would say if you were looking to stay in the Lake District within a relaxing and friendly environment that's dog friendly than this is a place for you . We will be returning to this cottage and cannot wait to go back !!! Thank you to the farm owners for such an enjoyable stay .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2014
Thank you for your review

I will pass on your comments to the owner of Scales Cottage, I am sure they will be as pleased as we are to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay an in fact intend to return again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave F
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fantastic,comfy cottage”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Traveled with friends six of us in total,weather was against us but did not spoil the hols.the cottage was warm well equipped cosy and big.fly fishing was enjoyable yes there was fish in the lakes ,the owners were friendly and helpful,third bedroom was small but comfy ,all in all very nice place to stay,would I return you bet.thanks for a good holiday i

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of Scales Cottage.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at this property and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
Tel 017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Yorks
Reviewed November 17, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback of your stay at Scales Cottage.

We are delighted you were warm during your stay and found the property to be well-equipped.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to Scales Cottage or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Drinkston...
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good, BUT”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We feel cheated because we had no warning about the restrictions on this "pet friendly" rental. We selected the cottage for its "dog friendliness" and were happy to pay a premium of £20 each for the two dogs. Astonishingly, when we arrived we discovered rules that the dogs were not allowed upstairs, which includes the lounge, or in the downstairs bedroom, thus limiting the dog's run to the kitchen, hall and small, crowded laundry room. Luckily, unlike friends, our dogs don't sleep in the bedrooms - what would we have done if they do normally sleep in the bedroom? This restricted our use of the lounge - thank goodness for a pack of cards around the kitchen table because there was no TV in the kitchen! In addition we were required to leave the cottage with no evidence that dogs had been there, so why the £20 surcharge?
ALSO, in our view this cottage does not and cannot sleep 6 - two doubles and one single bed!!!
However, well appointed, warm, spacious cottage which had been sympathetically and well renovated, but because mobile phone reception is very poor, internet access/wifi would have certainly improved our enjoyment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Warmth and authentic restoration
Liked least: Dog restrictions
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2013
Thank you for your review on Scales Cottage

We are please to hear that you found this property warm, spacious and well appointed. This property is owner managed and we will ensure that your comments are passed to them for their information.

We hope that these issues did not detract too much from your stay and we hope to welcome you back to one of our properties in the future.

Kind Regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
01768774060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastergate
Reviewed September 30, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Scales Cottage.

We are delighted to read you found the property is well maintained and well-equipped for your needs including the laundry facilities at the cottage.

We hope to welcome you back to Scales Cottage or another Lakes Cottage Holidays property in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;