We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Of The Best”
Review of Overwater Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Overwater Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Best Of The Best”
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We would not dream of staying anywhere else in the Lake District as this is the perfect place, we have stayed previously & are gradually working our way around each of the sumptuous bedrooms, all different, all exceptionally clean & comfortable & I am a real fuss pot!
The beds are are great, so comfortable & I always sleep well while there & there is no early morning noise to wake you up like in some of the bigger hotels, other than the red squirrel stealing the nuts from the feeder in the ginko tree if you are in room 2!
Nothing is left to chance everything is extremely well organised & Stephen, Adrian & Angela are exceptional hosts & their attention to detail & attitude filters down to the staff who are so helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Both the breakfast, where there is a huge selection (you must try the cumbrian cooked breakfast) & evening meal are excellent. Dining there is a real experience, 4 course evening meal with a wide selection of meats & fish, all having so much taste & flavour which I am sure would put many a top restaurant in London to shame, Adrian is really a very talented chef & his staff in the kitchen have obviously had a good teacher.
The experience that is Overwater Hall is wonderful, it is a magical place, & great value for money, & you can even take your dog along & save on the cost of kennels. I cannot wait to go again. The location is perfect, lovely garden with red squirrel & deer in the grounds & some lovely walks, so relaxing, I hope they don't ever retire!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue10F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    25
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
69
374
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Not the first time we've stayed here and it won't be the last. A superb hotel hidden away at Ireby a few miles on the west side of Keswick. Very comfortable rooms and beds and very very good staff makes this an excellent and comfortable break away from it all.
Lovely lounge and an intimate bar are great spots for chilling out. The restaurant is another lovely room and the food is absolutely superb, the Chef having now perfected a style which will be hard to beat by anybody. Delicate, wonderful textures with fresh ingredients and a delight to eat.
The hotel is unusual these days in that it's also dog friendly and seems to attract the most wonderfully well behaved ones - the guests are OK too...!
For us I think it is the partners.owners of the hotel that are outstanding. Very friendly and approachable, yet professional with an eye for detail and attentiveness that is rare today. The restaurant is organized in an unobtrusively well oiled manner that enhances the experience quietly in the background - a trick that is very difficult to achieve and rare.
Location is good with easy access to the northern lakes and after a day of sightseeing or shopping it's such a relief to return here and relax.
Highly recommended in every way.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bosartis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

lovely hot evening sat in garden for pre dinner canopues,and nibbles. 10 of us for dinner great menu,plenty of local produce,good staff.very friendly.could not fault anything,,except an odd dog in the rooms..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1rusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

My husband. dog and I went for a last minute weekend as we wanted to take advantage of the rare British summer and we found this place on the internet; it also came with a very good review from Trip Advisor and with very good reason.

From the outset they were incredibly helpful (phone calls on the way up to ensure we wanted any dinner or extra beds), being met in the car park and managing to get us in to dinner on time (they stop dinner at 8.30pm and we turned up then still in shorts and a t shirt (there is a dress poilcy which really sets the tone)

The setting is wonderful and for anyone travelling with dogs it couldnt be better; there is a beautiful walk around the grounds where we saw dear, rabbits and sheep (dog was a little too interested in them so we didnt see them for long!) and everywhere you look you can see the rolling hills and countryside that make the lake district so wonderful.

As we were walking the following day they very helpfully lent us a map and a walking guide and when we returned there was a large drink served in the garden, a bucket of water for the dog and something to clean the peat bog off of her.

We ate in the restaurant both nights and mornings and there wasnt a thing we could fault. The service was tremendous without being overbearing, the food was wonderful with a great choice of local produce which partly changed each evening so we never felt we were eating "second choice" the next night. Breakfast was one of the nicest I have had in a restaurant (and we have had a fair few!) and again cooked impeccably.

We were in room 8 (one of their cheaper rooms I think?) but it was very large, had a lovely view (although a little overlooked but not really an issue) and the bathroom was very spacious. It was also next to fire exit so we didnt have to trapse the dog through the hotel to get her out for a walk.

The location is stunning though beware of some sat navs, as we followed the good old fashioned sign and ours said we were going the worng way! If you want to walk about and not see or hear other people or the modern world then stay here. If you want an array of pubs, restaurants and mobile service then I would stay closer to one of the towns nearby such as Keswick. We never wanted for anything here and were very sad to leave.

Absolutely wonderful romantic getaway that I would also love to take the family back to as well. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatWarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

An awesome getaway for the city-dwellers. Lake district is a beautiful place and staying at Overwater Hall makes the trip a perfect one.
The staffs were already expecting us at the door when we arrived. We were showed immediately to our rooms, no administrative check-in procedures or waiting. We were also brought to see a few rooms and given the choice to decide which room we like! All rooms are furnished in their unique ways and splendid. Food served at the restaurant was excellent - very delicious and satisfying.
Service was also personalised and great. On our second night, we went back to the hotel late after watching a play at the Theatre by the Lake and the restaurant was already closed. We were planning to settle for some biscuits in our room and to our surprise, the phone rang and we were asked if we would like some omelettes from the kitchen. Thanks for filling our stomach with warm yummy omelettes on a cold hungry and late night!
We were totally embraced in serenity here. It was quiet, peaceful and every morning we wake up to the sounds of nature. The hotel also has a trail to explore the forest/ garden where we caught a glimpse of the red squirrels.
Overall, the hotel gave us an unforgettable and lovely experience - will strongly recommend anyone to stay here. You won't regret it! :)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepwalker12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stopped at Overwater Hall for the first time for a weekend break as a belated celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary. The phrase "hidden gem" somes this place up, and unlike many hotels we have stopped at in the Lakes, it exceeded expectations on all counts. The owners have obviously invested a lot of TLC in this place and the food is of the very highest quality. This is definitely one place we will be planning to return to.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warringtonclaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2010

I chose this hotel as a surprise birthday present as it appeared to fit the bill, and it did so in every way. To arrive back after a full days walking in the mountains to this hotel with its deep baths, thick towels and robes and then wander down to sit in soft sofas with our dogs welcome to join us made us think we had stepped back in time. However it also comes with all modern conveniences as well. The food is modern, generous and really well cooked and presented. It hits the spot every time. A superb chef using great local ingredients.
If you are looking for an hotel away from the crowds then this hits the spot. For some this may be too far away from the action of the central lakes, but for us this was all part of the attraction.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oaklandvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ireby
24.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
2.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
469 reviews
23.0 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
983 reviews
9.9 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overwater Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overwater Hall

Property: Overwater Hall
Address: Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Overwater Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Georgian English country house hotel, family owned and cared for. Set in 18 acres of formal gardens and woodland, and within a short drive of Keswick and the central lakes. Recently refurbished throughout, with modern en-suite bathrooms, free high speed wireless internet and sumptuous three star, two-rosette AA restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Overwater Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overwater Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing