We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”
Review of Overwater Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Overwater Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2009

Arrived at Overwater Hall on the first day of seven in the Lake District.
We had our dog with us.
Overwater is an amazing hotel and the staff are extremely nice and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel grounds are stunning. There is a board walk around the hotel which you can go on and acres of land to explore.
The food was of a very high quality and we were made to feel completely welcome at all times.
This hotel is properly dog friendly. Will definately visit again.
Raj

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raj052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 557 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights. We had a marvellous time. The staff were so friendly and helpful, the hotel is so quiet and peaceful and the food was to die for! The hotel is set in beautiful countryside only 8 miles from Keswick, it has 18 acres of woodland and fields around it and there are many good walks in the vicinity. The chef, Adrian, is brilliant and our only complaint was that we would have liked to have tried all the dishes on offer since they all sounded so tasty. We eat like kings and all the meals were excellent, with subtle combinations of tastes and textures. The room was very comfortable with a large divan and a luxury bathroom. The lounge was also very comfortable and it was good to escape from mobile phones, computers etc since there isn't any reception for mobiles and we didn't notice anybody using laptops etc. The staff were great and the owners, Angela, Adrian and Stephen were all extremely attentive to out needs. We had out little dog with us and the hotel allows dogs inside, apart from in the lounge so that was another bonus for her and us. There were plenty of other dogs around and they didn't appear to cause any problems. I wouldn't say that this hotel would be suitable for those people wanting a night life or for families but for those wanting a good rest with convivial company. It has the feel of a country estate from the 20's, which is exactly what it was. The catering is a cut above the usual country house, however. We will go back, without doubt.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pommiepreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Two night stay. Very welcoming, very considerate, very flexible,very tranquil. We eat in many restaurants in the UK and France but none have surpassed the fayre at Overwater Hall - every course of the two dinners and breakfasts was superb.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laddie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

A quiet and lovely hotel is a super location. Owners and staff are fantastically attentive. The hotlel looks lovely and is in 18 acres of its own grounds with a great boardwalk walk. Room was excellent. Breakfast also excellent. Evening meal is defiitely an event and most times works extremely well. For those on ful board it may be nice to have a little more vegetable and sald but that is being a little bit picky. Certainly an excellent choice for the Lakes and it is from the madding crowd.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Having stayed at Overwater Hall before we knew what to expect. It is a long journey from our home(4 hours by car) but it is that rarity a luxury hotel which will take dogs (indeed the house dogs Oscar and Bafta love to play with strange dogs!) The food is wonderful and the rooms lovely. We had one with a little sitting room although didnt spend much time in it. It should be emphasised that it is isolated so a car is vital. The gardens are beautiful and there is a Boardwalk laid out so dogs can run free but you dont have to get your feet wet or dirty.
Nothing is too much trouble and although children are welcome as the Hall is relatively small it is a good idea to keep them under control (as indeed the dogs should be!)
We will be going back again (in spite of the very awkward chef who seems to have developed his social skills courtesy of Gordan Ramsay!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Excellent friendly service. Stayed in one of the turret rooms - extremely comfortable and spacious with a superb bathroom.
The food was delicious and plentiful (breakfast would see you through the day !!) and there was a good choice of dishes in the evening.
Deeply disappointed that we are unable to visit this year (four family weddings made this impossible) but hope to stay again next year.
Cannot pay enough compliments

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southview1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

We are local and have only stayed on one occasion. For more than 20 years we have visited for evening meals and lunches (3 times in the last 2 weeks). If you want that special visit away in perfect peace where every thing is quietly taken care of, then Overwater Hall will tick all the boxes. Beautiful setting, Grand Mansion, Restuarant and service second to none, with owners passionate about what they do. Even if you want a light lunch give it a try and be warned you will want to be back to sample more of "Overwater" Located in lovely Lakeland I feel you will not better this piece of heaven in the U.K. Graham.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LONKMOORE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ireby
24.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
24.5 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
18.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,703 reviews
17 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overwater Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overwater Hall

Address: Overwater, Ireby CA7 1HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ireby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ireby
Price Range: $178 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Overwater Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Georgian English country house hotel, family owned and cared for. Set in 18 acres of formal gardens and woodland, and within a short drive of Keswick and the central lakes. Recently refurbished throughout, with modern en-suite bathrooms, free high speed wireless internet and sumptuous three star, two-rosette AA restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Overwater Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overwater Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing