We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (601)
Filter reviews
601 results
Traveler rating
559
29
9
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
559
29
9
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red squirrels turret room homemade shortbread lake district extensive grounds country house hotel course dinner this wonderful hotel dog friendly hotel afternoon tea petit fours nothing is too much trouble large bathroom regular visitors fresh milk highest standard little extras
Filter
Updating list...
542 - 547 of 601 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights. We had a marvellous time. The staff were so friendly and helpful, the hotel is so quiet and peaceful and the food was to die for! The hotel is set in beautiful countryside only 8 miles from Keswick, it has 18 acres of woodland and fields around it and there are many good walks in the vicinity. The chef, Adrian, is brilliant and our only complaint was that we would have liked to have tried all the dishes on offer since they all sounded so tasty. We eat like kings and all the meals were excellent, with subtle combinations of tastes and textures. The room was very comfortable with a large divan and a luxury bathroom. The lounge was also very comfortable and it was good to escape from mobile phones, computers etc since there isn't any reception for mobiles and we didn't notice anybody using laptops etc. The staff were great and the owners, Angela, Adrian and Stephen were all extremely attentive to out needs. We had out little dog with us and the hotel allows dogs inside, apart from in the lounge so that was another bonus for her and us. There were plenty of other dogs around and they didn't appear to cause any problems. I wouldn't say that this hotel would be suitable for those people wanting a night life or for families but for those wanting a good rest with convivial company. It has the feel of a country estate from the 20's, which is exactly what it was. The catering is a cut above the usual country house, however. We will go back, without doubt.

Date of stay: September 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pommiepreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Two night stay. Very welcoming, very considerate, very flexible,very tranquil. We eat in many restaurants in the UK and France but none have surpassed the fayre at Overwater Hall - every course of the two dinners and breakfasts was superb.

Date of stay: August 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laddie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

A quiet and lovely hotel is a super location. Owners and staff are fantastically attentive. The hotlel looks lovely and is in 18 acres of its own grounds with a great boardwalk walk. Room was excellent. Breakfast also excellent. Evening meal is defiitely an event and most times works extremely well. For those on ful board it may be nice to have a little more vegetable and sald but that is being a little bit picky. Certainly an excellent choice for the Lakes and it is from the madding crowd.

Date of stay: August 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

Having stayed at Overwater Hall before we knew what to expect. It is a long journey from our home(4 hours by car) but it is that rarity a luxury hotel which will take dogs (indeed the house dogs Oscar and Bafta love to play with strange dogs!) The food is wonderful and the rooms lovely. We had one with a little sitting room although didnt spend much time in it. It should be emphasised that it is isolated so a car is vital. The gardens are beautiful and there is a Boardwalk laid out so dogs can run free but you dont have to get your feet wet or dirty.
Nothing is too much trouble and although children are welcome as the Hall is relatively small it is a good idea to keep them under control (as indeed the dogs should be!)
We will be going back again (in spite of the very awkward chef who seems to have developed his social skills courtesy of Gordan Ramsay!!

Date of stay: July 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Excellent friendly service. Stayed in one of the turret rooms - extremely comfortable and spacious with a superb bathroom.
The food was delicious and plentiful (breakfast would see you through the day !!) and there was a good choice of dishes in the evening.
Deeply disappointed that we are unable to visit this year (four family weddings made this impossible) but hope to stay again next year.
Cannot pay enough compliments

Date of stay: April 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southview1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews